netkas.org forum
December 16, 2018, 07:29:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Modify Xserve3,1 EFI to accept 6-core Westmeres  (Read 23433 times)
TheRacerMaster
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2015, 01:02:12 AM »

Ah, OK. Thanks.
Logged
jamall007
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30


« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2015, 03:41:46 PM »

Nice work RM! Have a look at https://trmm.net/Thunderstrike_31c3, "...we can conclusively say that Apple has added their own CRC32 boot-time check on the contents of the firmware volume and that is why changing a single byte in the ROM makes the system shutdown." He goes into detail about how to get around the boot check, it's pretty involved but definitely doable.
Logged
TheRacerMaster
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #17 on: March 11, 2015, 10:15:18 PM »

Looking at that link, it should be possible. The problem is acquiring a copy of the SMC firmware for the Xserve. AFAIK there weren't any SMC firmware updates released for it, which makes things more difficult.
Logged
TheRacerMaster
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #18 on: March 22, 2015, 05:52:32 PM »

Does anyone have any idea how we can get the SMC firmware for the Xserve?
Logged
Sebinouse
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2015, 11:51:37 AM »

Once again from EFI shell you may be able to read / dump / write SMC : more info HERE
Logged
Spanky Deluxe
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2015, 09:29:33 PM »

Did anyone ever make any progress with this?
Logged
jamall007
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30


« Reply #21 on: December 01, 2015, 04:53:19 PM »

Yes, one of my motherboards is off having its EEPROM chip replaced with a socket so I can start testing the various EFI builds I've come up with at a reasonable clip. Using my Raspberry Pi as a Bus Pirate was far too slow for trial and error. I'll report back with any progress...
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2015, 11:37:45 PM »

You should say "Hi" to the guy at MR trying to add EFI support for NVME, he is working with similar issues, could help each other greatly.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
hyram
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2016, 07:27:57 PM »

A while back I was looking into the MP1,1 and MP2,1 EFI's, but sidelined it due to life. Anyway, here's what I can tell you about the xs31_81_06b firmware and processor support:

With absolute certainty, the only processors supported will have a CPUID of 0x106A2, 0x106A4, and 0x106a5 as the FW (vol 4 & 6) includes microcode for these CPUIDs. I'm sure that there are others supported without microcode, but I'd have to disassemble the PEIcore code to be sure which ones, and I don't really have the time to do that.

I've attached a listing of everything I was able to ascertain about the xs31_81_06b firmware. I hope it helps.

hyram

* xs31_81_06b_formatted.zip (106.44 KB - downloaded 319 times.)
Logged
edgerider
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #24 on: December 04, 2018, 09:27:24 AM »

just to let you guys know that we have opened a post on MR to try to make the Xserve go to 2019 and build a new firmware with all the bells and wistle of the mac pro 5.1 while still remain true Xserve function...
all help is needed , like the Macpro, i think if we do the base work, apple will release an official firmware update.
here is the link!

no intention to hijack this post! @netkas, rominator, we absolutely need your help on this one!
Dosdude1 and Tsialex are already over there, so please I beg you guys to come and join the force!

https://forums.macrumors.com/conversations/xserve.989909/page-2#message-1143016
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #25 on: Today at 10:46:36 AM »

yeah, i'd love to but they tossed me out for correctly arguing that the nMP 6,1 was a turd with no upgrade path

i was right, the moron who drives around with Five Flats was 100% wrong, but i won't ever post there again

anyhow, did someone try my quick and dirty "flash it as 5,1" method?

i got the cable to connect boards together but not found time
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!