netkas.org forum
July 15, 2019, 10:00:14 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 79 80 [81]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro Firmware Upgrade Utility Released!  (Read 2076814 times)
AnimeFunTV
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


WWW
« Reply #1200 on: July 08, 2018, 08:43:01 PM »

I hope this forum isn't dead. lol

I need to downgrade my original 4,1 (that was upgraded to 5,1 via FW update tool) reason being need to warranty it out the system for an unrelated problem.

The only thing is it keeps failing to downgrade

Current FW is MP51.0087.B00 that was supplied with High Sierra FW update

I downloaded the patched version of the FW tool http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,852.msg31640.html#msg31640

I still kept getting a 5570 error.

I think I have an idea whats going on, I Believe I have to downgrade to MP51.007F.B03 and then to MP41.0081.B07?

or can it go MP51.0087.B00 right to MP41.0081.B07?



Okay so under OSX High Sierra, i downloaded both FW packaged from Apple 1.4 & 1.5 with the DMG mounted to the desktop the patched FW utility was able to create a ramdisk and said to shut down.

I did the whole flash procedure (hold power button till light flashes & deep beep) however something isn't right, the apple logo appears and the flash progress bar appears but it goes from 0% instantly 100% (I'm talking blink and you'll miss it) and nothing happens afterward. If I shut down and reboot, firmware is still MP51.0087.B00

Remember I'm trying to DOWNGRADE, yes, I'm using all the original OEM hardware CPU/GPU.

I don't know whats keeping it from flashing or at this point its even possible anymore.

I saved the contents of the ramdisk before I shut it down to attempt the flash

http://www.animefuntv.com/wp-content/uploads/RamDisk.zip

Perhaps someone could help shine some light on this.
Logged
owbp
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #1201 on: July 09, 2018, 11:24:50 AM »

Have you tried using official Apple Firmware Restoration CD?

https://support.apple.com/kb/DL976?locale=en_US
Logged
ammoune78
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #1202 on: October 07, 2018, 08:10:48 AM »

Hey guys,
I'm having problem to rollback the firmware of my Mac Pro 5.1 2010, from MP51.0089.B00 EFI to MP51.007F.B03. Is there a way to make it possible, and, if i choose the downgrade to 4.1 with the help of the firmware upgrade utility, it will not brick my Mac?
Thanks
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #1203 on: October 22, 2018, 03:02:57 PM »

I could not get the firmware updater tool to work. Error 5570 then Error 5530.

So I hacked the scripts within the tool and ran them directly. I now have a MacPro 2009 which reports Model Identifier: MacPro5,1

Root problem: you need to have BOTH the 2010 and 2009 EFI upgrader disk images available so this tool can prepare both the upgrade and downgrade paths. And the tool no longer seems to be capable of downloading them (or at least not for me and anyone else getting the 5530 error). Digging into the compiled .scpt file inside the tool, it's pretty clear what is wrong. But the script is run-only compiled and I can't fix it directly.

So I manually downloaded them and then had to hack the subsidiary shell scripts embedded in the Firmware Tool app and run them directly by hand.

Here's what I did:

0/ Reboot in recovery mode and disable SIP (Recovery mode, Terminal,  csrutil disable ). Reboot again.

1/ Download *both* EFI updater packages from Apple
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL989?locale=en_US
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1321?locale=en_US

2/ Use DiskUtility to convert each disk image to a new read/write image

3/ Mount the first image for the 2009 firmware. Rename the mounted disk to Mac Pro EFI Update 2009

4/ Mount the second image for the 2010 firmware. Rename the mounted disk to Mac Pro EFI Update 2010

5/ Run the netkas forum Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool.app
(it will fail, but it will create the RamDisk)

6/ Hack the ExtractAndPatchEFIFiles.sh script buried in my ~/Downloads/Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool.app/Contents/Resources/ directory with this new version:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

pushd /Volumes/RamDisk

# we mounted the EFI update disk image manually
# hdiutil attach -nobrowse EFI2010.dmg
pkgutil --expand '/Volumes/Mac Pro EFI Update 2010/MacProEFIUpdate.pkg' Expanded
cp Expanded/MacProEFIUpdate.pkg/Payload Payload
tar -xf Payload
mkdir MacProEFI2010-2009
mkdir MacProEFI2009-2010
cp 'System/Library/CoreServices/Firmware Updates/MacProEFIUpdate15/EFIUpdaterApp2.efi' MacProEFI2010-2009
cp 'System/Library/CoreServices/Firmware Updates/MacProEFIUpdate15/MP51_007F_03B_LOCKED.fd' MacProEFI2009-2010/MP41_0081_07B_LOCKED.fd
rm -R Applications
rm -R Expanded
rm -R System
rm Payload
hdiutil detach '/Volumes/Mac Pro EFI Update/'

# we mounted the EFI update disk image manually
# hdiutil attach -nobrowse EFI2009.dmg
pkgutil --expand '/Volumes/Mac Pro EFI Update 2009/MacProEFIUpdate.pkg' Expanded
cp Expanded/MacProEFIUpdate.pkg/Payload Payload
tar -xf Payload
cp 'Applications/Utilities/Mac Pro EFI Firmware Update.app/Contents/Resources/EfiUpdaterApp2.efi' MacProEFI2009-2010
cp 'Applications/Utilities/Mac Pro EFI Firmware Update.app/Contents/Resources/MP41_0081_07B_LOCKED.fd' MacProEFI2010-2009/MP51_007F_03B_LOCKED.fd
rm -R Applications
rm -R Expanded
rm -R System
rm Payload
hdiutil detach '/Volumes/Mac Pro EFI Update/'

popd

patch /Volumes/RamDisk/MacProEFI2009-2010/EfiUpdaterApp2.efi EfiUpdater2009.patch
patch /Volumes/RamDisk/MacProEFI2010-2009/EfiUpdaterApp2.efi EfiUpdater2010.patch

7/ Then run the script directly. Using terminal:

Code:
cd ~/Downloads/Mac\ Pro\ 2009-2010\ Firmware\ Tool.app/Contents/Resources/
./ExtractAndPatchEFIFile.sh
sudo UpgradeEFI2009-2010.sh

8/ Shutdown then power on and hold down the power button. Don't let it go. You'll hear the beep indicating EFI update, then it will reboot again. Keep the button down. In my case, the CD drive popped out. I waited a while, then pushed the CD drive back in. Eventually, I got bored and let the power button go. A little while later it rebooted again. Maybe even one more time.

9/ Login, check all is well with System Info.

10/ Reboot into Recovery mode again, enable SIP (Terminal, csrutil enable). Reboot


I'm pretty sure I captured all of that correctly. Hope this helps others.

(If anyone knows how to contact the original author of the update tool or can get the source, I'd happily fix it)


I was getting 5570 error code but finally was able to upgrade by upgrading 4,1 firmware to latest version and by then using above procedure.  System now reboots to white screen for Mavericks drive or to Apple and progress bar which does not move for High Sierra SSD.

Help!
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #1204 on: October 22, 2018, 06:16:32 PM »

Never mind.  Turned out to be a bad 16GB RAM module or slot.

All is good!
Logged
kelitupu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1205 on: January 03, 2019, 01:33:06 AM »

Hello all  -

Thanks in advance for starting this thread and developing the firmware tool to make things easier for people.

I've followed the instructions, but can't seem to get my early 2009 MacPro to update to 5,1. I'm running El Capitain 10.11.6

I came to this method by way of this article...

https://medium.com/@lefebvre/upgrading-the-cpu-in-a-2009-mac-pro-6d6bfd95951a

...and am using these steps below, to no avail....


Updating the Firmware
More research uncovered that it is actually possible to update the 2009 Mac Pro firmware to the one used by the 2010/2012 Mac Pros. This proved to be a little tricky, but easily doable using these steps:

Boot into safe mode and disable System Integrity Protection (SIP) on OS X 10.11 El Capitan by running this command in the Terminal:
csrutil disable
Boot back into your regular account.
Download the firmware update from Apple and open the DMG to mount it in the Finder.
Download the (unsupported by Apple) 3rd party Updater Tool to apply this firmware update.
Run the Updater Tool, which recognized the mounted DMG, rebooted and applied the firmware update.
Check that everything works and then boot info safe mode and enable SIP:
csrutil enable

....any idea why things might no be working or what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks again!

Gary

a screenshot of my current system report after trying this firmware update 3 or 4 times





* Screen Shot 2019-01-02 at 7.29.38 PM.png (117.98 KB, 762x530 - viewed 588 times.)
Logged
Wharfedaler
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #1206 on: February 25, 2019, 03:02:31 PM »

I hope I am in the correct forum for this question. To recap, i have a 4,1 that has gone all the way to 5,1, flashed to the 140.0.0.0.0 point, but I held off loading mojave. As my mac pro was only 6 core, I bought a tray with dual delidded 3.45 cpu's, with the advice that it came from a mojave running mac pro. I removed my 6 core tray and inserted the dual cpu 12core tray, but nothing no power up no lights nothing. So I removed the tray and cleaned the CPU's applying a good bead of arctic silver on both CPU's. Inserted and nothing, so tightened the screws slightly and did this 4 times each getting nothing. So my question is :  As the tray came from mojave and the owner said he heard the mojave firmware chime, does the firmware on the tray have to match the mac pro efi flashed firmware ie i have 140.0.0.0 but if he had mojave 14.3 does this flash the firmware to 143.0.0.0 - therefore leaving a mismatch.I am not even sure there is a firmware 143.0.0.0 but I have read the 14.2 and 14.3 mojave versions each have a firmware increase (I sincerely hope this is true) - OR have I a dead tray - in which case I have a pair of 3.45 delidded cpu's that are for selling on. One very strange thing the sellar told me was that he had two 8gb ram chips that he put in slot 1 and 5 to make the tray work (is this even possible?). Your help and advice would be appreciated
« Last Edit: February 25, 2019, 03:05:34 PM by Wharfedaler » Logged
epromer
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #1207 on: February 28, 2019, 01:45:20 AM »

The most recent Mac Pro BootROM is 140.0.0.0.0, from 10.14.2. Apple is testing 141.0.0.0.0, to be released probably with 10.14.4. There isn't a relation between the BootROM firmware version and macOS version, the two things are not related.

You probably have a dead tray, dead Xeons or incorrectly installed Xeons - firmware has nothing to do with your problem. Trays don't have BootROMs.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 01:48:30 AM by epromer » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 79 80 [81]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!