netkas.org forum
July 22, 2018, 12:10:58 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some test with "native drivers"  (Read 18861 times)
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 821



« on: June 11, 2011, 01:21:50 PM »

I was doing some tests with ati drivers in Lion, without injector.

Some results, will add more later

5000Controller: renaming ATY,ATY,Framebuffer to ATY,Hoolock didn't fix dvd player&co also didnt enable DP/mdp, testing on 5870 six.

osx sees dp outputs but doesnt output anything to it.

So, the issues isn't in FB name.
---
6870: stock 6000Controller

dvdplayer&co crashes, every port works except passive mdp->dvi and dvi->vga on lower dvi port

6000Controller with radeonframebuffer replaced with  Duckweed - same result as above

6000Controller hacked to make 6870 go 6970 routine - ATY,Gibba, only upper DVI works, dvdplayer crashes

6000Controller hacked to make 6870 go 6970 routine and ATY,Gibba changed to ATY,Duckweed - dvdplayer crashes, upper dvi works + active mdp adapters works

stock 6000Controller + aty_init - dvd player works, working ports config same as previous one, regression comparing to SL - passive mdp adapters stopped working.

6970:

stock 6000Controller + aty_init + Duckweed as FB - upper DVI works (dvi2vga doesnt) + passive mdp-dvi
« Last Edit: June 15, 2011, 09:57:00 PM by netkas » Logged
doof
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2011, 08:17:16 PM »

What about performance delta? When I use gibba on a 6870 performance drops >50%.
Logged
andystubbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 505



« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2011, 06:58:25 PM »

stock 6000Controller + aty_init + Duckweed as FB - upper DVI works (dvi2vga doesnt) + passive mdp-dvi

When I was messing around with my 6870's on my spare hack using a dvi2vga I had to use either Pithecia or Ipomoea to get it working (although I also had to provide a custom EDID to get the native resolution for the acer monitor).
Logged
TightByte
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2011, 05:31:04 PM »

6970:

stock 6000Controller + aty_init + Duckweed as FB - upper DVI works (dvi2vga doesnt) + passive mdp-dvi

I assure you I'm well aware of my newbie (i.e. idiot) status and I'm hoping for more clever people than myself to ask more clever question than what I'm capable of, but since nobody has yet, it falls to me to be the village idiot ... so by this post, am I to understand that you've managed to force a Duckweed framebuffer and when using the topmost DVI port, you're able to boot to a working desktop?  Is this on a Hack or a Mac?
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 821



« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2011, 08:35:05 AM »

working desktop, no acceleration.
Logged
Dakoman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2011, 07:16:28 PM »

Which port is the upper DVI? Is that the dual link or single link one? I ask as I have a 120hz monitor in my MacPro 3,1 and am interested in the 6870 if the dual-link works Smiley

EDIT:

Mac Pro 4,1 - 10.7.1 HIS IceQ X 6870 - Dual-link DVI working, QE/CI working, Starcraft working. Source (steam) games, DVD Player, and Geekbench crash at launch without the ATY_Init patch.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2011, 07:50:08 PM by Dakoman » Logged
optikshell
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26



« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2011, 07:51:31 PM »

Which port is the upper DVI? Is that the dual link or single link one? I ask as I have a 120hz monitor in my MacPro 3,1 and am interested in the 6870 if the dual-link works Smiley

EDIT:

Mac Pro 4,1 - 10.7.1 HIS IceQ X 6870 - Dual-link DVI working, QE/CI working, Starcraft working. Source (steam) games, DVD Player, and Geekbench crash at launch without the ATY_Init patch.

Is your IceQ 6870 the 2GB version? Have you tested it on your Mac Pro 3,1? If not, is everything working ok on the 4,1 with 10.7.1?
Logged

Mac Pro 2008 3,1 - 10.7.1

original: 8800GT
current: Sapphire Vapor-X 6870, working great.
crazybirdy
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1



« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2011, 07:17:51 AM »

I was doing some tests with ati drivers in Lion, without injector.

Hi netkas,

I have one problem of ATI4330m with Lion, need your advice, please.

In 10.6.8, everything work fine, front row, translucent bar menu, chess and DVD player working.
kext used from 10.6.8 native
ATI4600Controller.kext
ATIFramebuffer.kext
ATISupport.kext)
kext used from 10.6.7 native update from 10.6.3 retail
ATIRadeonX2000.kext
ATIRadeonX2000GA.plugin
ATIRadeonX2000GLDriver.bundle
ATIRadeonX2000VADriver.bundle

If I use ATIRadeonX2000*.* from 10.6.8, then chess and DVD player didn't work, only 10.6.7-update work fine.

In 10.7.2, everything work fine, front row, translucent bar menu,............ but chess and DVD player didn't work.
All kext used from 10.7.2 native (same as 10.7.0 & 10.7.1)
ATI4600Controller.kext
ATIFramebuffer.kext
ATISupport.kext
ATIRadeonX2000.kext
ATIRadeonX2000GA.plugin
ATIRadeonX2000GLDriver.bundle
ATIRadeonX2000VADriver.bundle

by using Peregrine with ATY_Init, and will use ATY,RadeonFrameBuffer instead.

I found that, it seems ATIRadeonX2000.kext and ATIRadeonX2000*.* cause the 3D issue, and chess and DVD player never work.   Embarrassed

Do you have any ideal of what's the root cause? and how to solve the problem? Huh
Need your advice, thanks a lot. Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!