netkas.org forum
July 24, 2017, 03:47:17 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 74 75 [76]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro Firmware Upgrade Utility Released!  (Read 919509 times)
zephonic
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1125 on: February 21, 2017, 01:27:06 AM »

I guess I'm ready to do the firmware update, but one thing has given me pause. Someone on MacRumors mentioned that he knew of one PCIe-SATAIII Adapter that wouldn't work with the 5,1 firmware.

Since my system disk is a Samsung 850EVO (SATA) in an OWC Accelsior S PCIe adapter, I'm a little concerned this might affect me.

I did ask in that particular thread if he was talking about the Accelsior S, but he has not yet responded, so I figured I'd ask here as well.


My 4,1 is a 2.66GHZ Quad with 24GB 1333MHz RAM (also OWC) with a bunch 1TB drives and the aforementioned SSD system disk, running OSX 10.9.5

I have a W3680 waiting to be deployed, but rather safe than sorry, so double-checking I will still be able to boot from my SSD after the firmware update. Thanks.


edit:
It turned out to be the Sonnet Tempo SSD, so I went ahead and did the firmware update. Ran into the 5570 error, downloaded the EFI update and everything seems fine now. Gonna put in the W3680 tomorrow. Good things!

Thanks to the MacEFIRom, netkas and everybody else who contributed knowledge!


« Last Edit: February 21, 2017, 07:36:02 AM by zephonic » Logged
lancorp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1126 on: February 27, 2017, 01:58:12 AM »

OK, not sure why I can't update firmware.  I pulled out a Mac Pro 4,1 (still had 10.6.8 on it) and went through downloading the 5,1 EFI, then opening it to mount the image, then ran the 2009-2010 update utility.

Everything goes great.  Creates the RAMDISK, copies the files over, finally comes up with the dialog box to shut down and then instructions to hold the power button.  So I shut down, wait for the complete turn off, then turn back on, holding the button until the LED flashes.  I hear the tone, and see a grey screen with apple logo and progress bar, but I don't ever see the progress bar actually do anything.  After a bit, the Mac reboots and lo and behold, I'm still at 4,1 (according to system report).  Did it three times, each time doing the same thing.

My boot ROM is MP41.0081.B04. 

I've removed all the old hardware (RAID card, fiber channel card, drives) but left the video card, and popped a single SATA SSD in one of the bays, and installed a fresh El Capitan.  Copy over the files to the DOWNLOADS folder, mount the EFI image, run the upgrade utility, everything goes great.  Shutdown...power on, hold the button, wait for tone, but now I just get a normal boot.  The grey screen looks like the normal boot screen.  Again, still MacPro 4,1.

I figure I'll try updating to MP41.0081.B07, so I obtain that utility from Apples web site, run it and it says that the firmware cannot be upgraded and that it could be because I'm not booting from a drive with a GUID Partition.  Problem is, my partition IS GUID Partition Map (according to disk utility).

Could it be the SSD?  So I put in a single HDD, boot on my El Capitan installer, disk utility and erase the HDD making sure I have GUID Partition, reinstall El Capitan and try the whole thing again.  SAME ERROR, that the firmware cannot be upgraded and to make sure that my boot drive is GUID.

I figured I'd give the 2009-2010 utility another go with the HDD installed, but same thing...upon reboot after holding power button and getting tone, the Mac does a normal boot up and no firmware progress bar screen is seen.

What the HECK??? 

What else can i try, or does anyone know why I can't upgrade?  BTW, the CPU is original quad core 2.66, and video card is stock nvidia.

Ideas would be greatly appreciated.  I've spent (wasted) many hours getting this far and still have no joy. 

Thanks.
Logged
lancorp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1127 on: February 27, 2017, 04:03:08 AM »

OK, so I figured it out.  It seems that 10.6 was too old and El Capitan was too new.  I tried again with Mountain Lion and was able to install the B07 update, and then was able to install the 5,1 ROM.

Logged
killermime
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1128 on: March 05, 2017, 07:23:57 AM »

I thought someone may be able to answer a question for me. I ran the 2009 - 2010 Mac Pro firmware upgrade and it worked perfectly and it sees the system as a 5,1. One small issue. I have installed 1333 ram and still sees it at 1066 even after I had zapped the p-ram. My system is a single 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Nehalem. Should it see the 1333 ram or would i need the 6 Core tray for that? Any thoughts would help. Thank you !
Logged
owbp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #1129 on: March 05, 2017, 02:26:59 PM »

You need CPU that supports 1333MHz RAM, nothing else (doesn't matter if it's 6 or 4 core CPU).
Logged
lkytroll
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #1130 on: March 29, 2017, 07:21:37 PM »

I know I'm a noob, but I did the following:

Loaded Win10 under bootcamp
Updated the Win10 drivers for my video card.
Ran the GPU-Z utility

Here are the results.  What am I missing?  Looks like i have the correct firmware and UEFI?

Do I still need to flash the card with the gtx680mac.rom?


* image.png (52.04 KB, 418x510 - viewed 220 times.)
Logged
MindBender
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #1131 on: April 06, 2017, 09:07:06 AM »

Is anybody interested in a 12-core upgrade kit? It contains two Intel Xeon X5660 6-core CPUs and 32GiB 1333MHz Kingston DDR3 memory for Mac with temperature sensors.

This set has worked well for me, but now I have upgraded to two X5690 CPUs with 96GB RAM (which doesn't make any difference in performace).

I can sell through eBay upon request for security.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 253


« Reply #1132 on: April 06, 2017, 05:01:00 PM »

This set has worked well for me, but now I have upgraded to two X5690 CPUs with 96GB RAM (which doesn't make any difference in performace).

But it will do a lot of difference in heat and electricity bill. The best upgrade is dual X5675.
Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51



« Reply #1133 on: May 03, 2017, 06:38:56 PM »

Did the 5,1 upgrade to 5,1. No CPU or RAM upgrade yet in my 8 core early 2009 MP ).  I'm curious about which would be the " ideal "
12 core upgrade CPU set with regard to power consumption. My old Mac Pro 2,1 simply devoured electricity -when I got my 4,1 MP my monthly power bill dropped by at least 30%.

All suggestions welcome.

PS : I HAVE Googled this extensively but feel that I'll get a more definitive answer here.

PPS : After the 5,1 upgrade GeekBench gave me some good news


* 5,1 GeekBench 64bit report.jpg (135.61 KB, 852x738 - viewed 161 times.)
Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
Radeon R9 270X 2Gb EFI on DP to HDMI. DVI to DVI.
10.12.5 - 10.9.5 - 10.12.5 - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
Pages: 1 ... 74 75 [76]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!