netkas.org forum
August 21, 2018, 02:03:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 38 39 [40] 41 42 ... 81
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro Firmware Upgrade Utility Released!  (Read 1522427 times)
VWJetta
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #585 on: July 31, 2013, 04:03:18 PM »

Are there some issues going on with this upgrade lately? I've done this several time in the past with absolutely no issue. This latest time, I'm trying on 2 separate Mac Pros and am getting the same issues on both. First, I had a lot of trouble getting the Mac from 4,1 to 5,1. It finally worked but I was getting "Error 5570" messages as well as a locked "blessed (something, something)" folder on the desktop. After the 5,1 took, the CPU upgrades would not work: constant Kernel panics. no boots, etc. I swapped the W3680 CPU back to the original W3520 and all is well again except that I cannot revert back to a 4,1. I'm getting 5570 errors again. When the Ram Disk did get created and asked me to reboot, it will bypass the firmware update and boot right back to the desktop even though the power light flashes and the Firmware tone chimes. Any help?
Logged
easy999
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #586 on: August 02, 2013, 02:39:34 PM »

Figured out why this was happening. You need to update your efi to 1.4 before the firmware  will work. I was having the same issue and realized i never had updated. as soon as I did I ran the  mac pro firmware upgrade and no problems Im at 5.1 now.
Logged
SudoAptGet
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #587 on: August 02, 2013, 04:26:34 PM »

Are there some issues going on with this upgrade lately? I've done this several time in the past with absolutely no issue. This latest time, I'm trying on 2 separate Mac Pros and am getting the same issues on both. First, I had a lot of trouble getting the Mac from 4,1 to 5,1. It finally worked but I was getting "Error 5570" messages as well as a locked "blessed (something, something)" folder on the desktop. After the 5,1 took, the CPU upgrades would not work: constant Kernel panics. no boots, etc. I swapped the W3680 CPU back to the original W3520 and all is well again except that I cannot revert back to a 4,1. I'm getting 5570 errors again. When the Ram Disk did get created and asked me to reboot, it will bypass the firmware update and boot right back to the desktop even though the power light flashes and the Firmware tone chimes. Any help?

I had the 5570 error, but it worked after retrying the Utility a couple of times.  I also did a PRAM reset before retrying.
Also, after swapping CPU's, you could try a PRAM reset at first boot.  It's probably a good thing to do after a major hardware change like this.
Logged
VWJetta
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #588 on: August 03, 2013, 12:23:39 PM »

I had the 5570 error, but it worked after retrying the Utility a couple of times.  I also did a PRAM reset before retrying.
Also, after swapping CPU's, you could try a PRAM reset at first boot.  It's probably a good thing to do after a major hardware change like this.
[/quote]

I tried PRAM resets, reseating the CPU, reseating the RAM, swapping hard drives and SSDS, everything I could think of. That's what lead me to finally try reverting back to a 4,1 since I feared the 5,1 update was somehow bad or corrupted. Like I said earlier, I've done this probably 20 other times without ever a single issue. This time I'm having identical issues on 2 separate Mac Pros with 2 separate CPUs. Something just seems off with the update but I cannot figure out what. when I thought the 5,1 update took, both computers would boot to the spinning gear Apple logo before a panic with black and white text running down the screen.
Logged
b0bthebuilder
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #589 on: August 11, 2013, 12:09:34 AM »

I have one of those refurb 2009 Mac Pro with B08 bios. Is it possible to downgrade to 1.07 then install this bios?
I remember a while ago, I tried and found out B08 bios is not supported.

Logged
b0bthebuilder
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #590 on: August 13, 2013, 03:33:30 AM »

After 2 years, I have to report success with the update with B08 Bios. I got a bunch of 5570 errors (when this first came out).
After reading the thread again, I decide on the small error messages. I decide I reboot then run.

No errors popped up after reboot so update ran flawlessless. boot bios is 2010 now.

Now to buy CPU.
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #591 on: August 14, 2013, 09:53:06 AM »

I Also had 5570 issue.
Repairing disk permission and then resetting pram did the trick.
Now i'm waiting for 2 x5677, the best 1366 quad core (3,46 ghz).
I bought 2 of them for 700 euros shipping included, great deal!

edit: just installed new cpus....geekbench of 20.400 using 32gb of 1333 ram! fantastic!
« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 09:13:50 PM by xelanaiznac » Logged
FreQuenC
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #592 on: August 16, 2013, 09:03:14 PM »

Just wanted to report that today I successfully upgraded a 2009 2.66Ghz 4,1 Quad Core-> 5,1, 3.46Ghz (W3690) 6-Core. I also bumped the ram up from 6GB/1066->12GB/1333Ghz.

Thank you and the forum.  Wink



* Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 2.58.20 PM.png (129.37 KB, 425x421 - viewed 486 times.)
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 09:10:32 PM by FreQuenC » Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #593 on: August 16, 2013, 11:36:02 PM »

Just wanted to report that today I successfully upgraded a 2009 2.66Ghz 4,1 Quad Core-> 5,1, 3.46Ghz (W3690) 6-Core. I also bumped the ram up from 6GB/1066->12GB/1333Ghz.

Thank you and the forum.  Wink



what about your benchmark? i think 15.800 or maybe 16.000
Logged
errorus
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #594 on: August 22, 2013, 10:04:26 AM »

Hi,
I reed the post published here a long time ago about 4.1 to 5.1 Mac Pro firmware upgrade. I did my homework and prepared to upgrade a 4.1 Mac Pro to 5.1
I would like to describe what I'm going to do and maybe someone should correct me if you find something bad idea or bad part. After the initial 15 pages of the original post the whole thing started to get an other direction and can not really find the informations so I googoled it, that is why I need a pro confirm on my steps if you can do this favour for me please.
First what I have here:
Mac Pro 4.1
Boot ROM MP41.0081.B07  
SMC: 1.39f5
CPU: 2x 2.26GHz Quad Xeon CPU  8 Core
Bought a 3mm hex screw driver:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/400333079000?var=670044913285&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
Have a regular thermal paste for CPU/VGA white colour from china.

So the plan is to follow the instruction here:
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_pro/faq/mac-pro-early-2009-nehalem-how-to-upgrade-processors.html
and here:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2800/upgrading-and-analyzing-apple-s-nehalem-mac-pro/10
and of course apply your firmware upgrade (any more description about this?):
http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,852.msg5004.html#msg5004

Taking out the old CPU and replacing with Intel Xeon X5650 as this CPU seems now the most cost/performance effective one. Any stepping restriction?
I will count the rotations of the screwdriver during the take out of the old CPU and planning to apply less rotation when installing the CPU with cap.
I would avoid the CPU modification, taking of the integrated heat spreader seems too brute force.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161088675676?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Taking out the memory and replacing with any kind of ddr3 8500e 10600e 12800e type memory with latency 9 or 10 according the forums but not sure.
guide from apple: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4433#3
Memory possibilities as I see the fastest module actually now the cheapest or equivalent with the 8500e:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-4GB-1Rx8-PC3-10600e-M391B5273CHO-DDR3-ECC-Unbuffered-Ram-Memory-/111128795606?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item19dfcad9d6

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4GB-RAM-Memory-for-HP-Compaq-Business-Z220-Convertible-Minitower-DDR3-12800-E-/190878185126?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item2c7139f6a6

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4GB-RAM-Memory-for-Apple-Xserve-Xeon-2-66GHz-Quad-Core-DDR3-DDR3-8500-E-/190878167891?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item2c7139b353

So far so good but the following issues can occurs I can not find any proper response nor information in the guides about them.

There is a Thermal sensor modification I would need to do because of the standard CPU with cap? None of the guides mention that.
Someone had issue with the original Snow Leopard install disck after upgrading to 5.1? I have the 10.6  2Z691-6428-A version and it worked on all 1.1,2.1,3.1 Macs.
DVD rom not closing ? it seems after a few restart or PROM reset all fixed, anything else I should know about this issue if happens?

I think that is all, if you have any comments please let me know so I can buy the proper parts and approach the whole upgrade in confidence.

Thanks,
Zoltan

« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 10:15:53 AM by errorus » Logged
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


« Reply #595 on: August 22, 2013, 04:32:03 PM »

Hi,
I reed the post published here a long time ago about 4.1 to 5.1 Mac Pro firmware upgrade. I did my homework and prepared to upgrade a 4.1 Mac Pro to 5.1
I would like to describe what I'm going to do and maybe someone should correct me if you find something bad idea or bad part. After the initial 15 pages of the original post the whole thing started to get an other direction and can not really find the informations so I googoled it, that is why I need a pro confirm on my steps if you can do this favour for me please.
First what I have here:
Mac Pro 4.1
Boot ROM MP41.0081.B07  
SMC: 1.39f5
CPU: 2x 2.26GHz Quad Xeon CPU  8 Core
Bought a 3mm hex screw driver:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/400333079000?var=670044913285&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
Have a regular thermal paste for CPU/VGA white colour from china.

So the plan is to follow the instruction here:
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_pro/faq/mac-pro-early-2009-nehalem-how-to-upgrade-processors.html
and here:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2800/upgrading-and-analyzing-apple-s-nehalem-mac-pro/10
and of course apply your firmware upgrade (any more description about this?):
http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,852.msg5004.html#msg5004

Taking out the old CPU and replacing with Intel Xeon X5650 as this CPU seems now the most cost/performance effective one. Any stepping restriction?
I will count the rotations of the screwdriver during the take out of the old CPU and planning to apply less rotation when installing the CPU with cap.
I would avoid the CPU modification, taking of the integrated heat spreader seems too brute force.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161088675676?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Taking out the memory and replacing with any kind of ddr3 8500e 10600e 12800e type memory with latency 9 or 10 according the forums but not sure.
guide from apple: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4433#3
Memory possibilities as I see the fastest module actually now the cheapest or equivalent with the 8500e:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-4GB-1Rx8-PC3-10600e-M391B5273CHO-DDR3-ECC-Unbuffered-Ram-Memory-/111128795606?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item19dfcad9d6

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4GB-RAM-Memory-for-HP-Compaq-Business-Z220-Convertible-Minitower-DDR3-12800-E-/190878185126?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item2c7139f6a6

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4GB-RAM-Memory-for-Apple-Xserve-Xeon-2-66GHz-Quad-Core-DDR3-DDR3-8500-E-/190878167891?pt=UK_Computing_ComputerComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item2c7139b353

So far so good but the following issues can occurs I can not find any proper response nor information in the guides about them.

There is a Thermal sensor modification I would need to do because of the standard CPU with cap? None of the guides mention that.
Someone had issue with the original Snow Leopard install disck after upgrading to 5.1? I have the 10.6  2Z691-6428-A version and it worked on all 1.1,2.1,3.1 Macs.
DVD rom not closing ? it seems after a few restart or PROM reset all fixed, anything else I should know about this issue if happens?

I think that is all, if you have any comments please let me know so I can buy the proper parts and approach the whole upgrade in confidence.

Thanks,
Zoltan



Read this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1609476

The poster upgraded his 4,1 to a 5,1 and put in W5590 CPUs.  The CPU installation guide is really very good because of the lidless stock CPUs on the DP 4,1.  I also upgraded my MacPro to use the W5590s, but had a much easier time of it because I have a real 5,1 that uses the standard lidded CPUs.

Lou
Logged
errorus
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #596 on: August 22, 2013, 10:16:18 PM »

Thanks,
this CPU what I thinking now:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SLBF3-INTEL-XEON-CPU-QC-X5570-8M-CACHE-2-93-GHZ-6-40-GT-S-QPI-506012-001-/321188284233?pt=UK_Computing_Servers&hash=item4ac8504749&autorefresh=true
Logged
errorus
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #597 on: August 24, 2013, 10:43:15 AM »

is it safe to play with different kind of ECC memories in a Mac pro? I mean 10600r 10600 10600f etc...?
Logged
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


« Reply #598 on: August 24, 2013, 07:57:41 PM »

^^^^For best results your RAM should be matched as to speed, Manufacturer and whether ECC or not.

Lou
Logged
errorus
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #599 on: August 24, 2013, 10:11:15 PM »

so what kind of memory works in Mac Pro 4.1, 5.1?
According Apple I need e modules
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 38 39 [40] 41 42 ... 81
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!