netkas.org forum
November 18, 2017, 03:42:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 80
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro Firmware Upgrade Utility Released!  (Read 1067686 times)
fabriciom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2011, 01:54:52 PM »

Can anyone confirm you can go back to your 2009 EFI?

Yep, I've had no problems going back to the 2009 EFI. It reverts to my original MP41.0081.B07 firmware, just something you need to be aware of in case you have one of those special refurb Mac Pros with the MP41.0081.B08 firmware.

Hi, but it installs what ever was there before or it uses that specific firmware. The deal is I have a nonreferb system and would like to go back to exactly what I had or have now...

-Thanks
Logged
naughtyandrew
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2011, 02:10:11 PM »

Can anyone confirm you can go back to your 2009 EFI?

Yep, I've had no problems going back to the 2009 EFI. It reverts to my original MP41.0081.B07 firmware, just something you need to be aware of in case you have one of those special refurb Mac Pros with the MP41.0081.B08 firmware.

Hi, but it installs what ever was there before or it uses that specific firmware. The deal is I have a nonreferb system and would like to go back to exactly what I had or have now...

-Thanks

It looks like it's downloading MP41.0081.B07 directly from Apple and using that. MP41.0081.B08 was a special version used for some refurb systems which allegedly has some special features, but this upgrader won't be able to downgrade back to B08 as Apple never publicly released it. Check System Profiler to see which version your running, mine was running B07 originally so I've had no problems at all.
Logged
fabriciom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2011, 03:35:34 PM »

Can anyone confirm you can go back to your 2009 EFI?

Yep, I've had no problems going back to the 2009 EFI. It reverts to my original MP41.0081.B07 firmware, just something you need to be aware of in case you have one of those special refurb Mac Pros with the MP41.0081.B08 firmware.

Hi, but it installs what ever was there before or it uses that specific firmware. The deal is I have a nonreferb system and would like to go back to exactly what I had or have now...

-Thanks

It looks like it's downloading MP41.0081.B07 directly from Apple and using that. MP41.0081.B08 was a special version used for some refurb systems which allegedly has some special features, but this upgrader won't be able to downgrade back to B08 as Apple never publicly released it. Check System Profiler to see which version your running, mine was running B07 originally so I've had no problems at all.

Will do when I get home.
-Thanks

P.S. did you get the 'This software is not supported on your system.' alert box or the 'This computer does not need this update.'.?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 03:50:16 PM by fabriciom » Logged
beto2k7
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2011, 04:11:04 PM »

Don't mean to rain on your parade and I truly hope to be wrong but after examining the files it seems like it only modifies your Model Identifier. That's why the machine keeps behaving as a 2009 pro. Has anyone actually confirmed this with at least ram running at 1333MHz?? B1 stepped processors and ram being tested would be awesome
Logged
naughtyandrew
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2011, 05:07:03 PM »

Don't mean to rain on your parade and I truly hope to be wrong but after examining the files it seems like it only modifies your Model Identifier. That's why the machine keeps behaving as a 2009 pro. Has anyone actually confirmed this with at least ram running at 1333MHz?? B1 stepped processors and ram being tested would be awesome

It's definitely using the correct MacPro5,1 firmware. The md5 matches exactly with the MP51_007F_03B.fd file found on the Firmware Restoration CD 1.9.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 05:17:57 PM by naughtyandrew » Logged
DesertFOX
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2011, 05:22:43 PM »

Worked perfectly on my 2.66GHz 2009 Mac Pro 4,1, which is now on a 5,1 trip  Cheesy.

Thanks a lot !!!
Logged
fabriciom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2011, 06:44:32 PM »

Just checked and i have ver MP41.0081.B07.
Logged
DesertFOX
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2011, 06:50:53 PM »

After the upgrade, my MacPro4,1 shows "MacPro5,1" as Identifier and "MP51.007F.B03" as BootROM.
To me, this seems pretty much perfect.

...now lets find a cheap source for W3670s or W3680s ... ;-) ...
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 06:56:45 PM by DesertFOX » Logged
fabriciom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2011, 06:57:41 PM »

After the upgrade, my MacPro4,1 shows "MacPro5,1" as Identifier and "MP51.007F.B03" as BootROM.
To me, this seems pretty much perfect.

...now lets find a cheap source for W3670s or W3680s ... ;-) ...

did you get the 'This software is not supported on your system.' alert box or the 'This computer does not need this update.'.?
Logged
DesertFOX
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2011, 07:02:03 PM »

@fabriciom:

Nope, worked without any weird messages. Just perfectly.

I simply clicked "Upgrade to 2010 Firmware" and went through the normal EFI Upgrade procedure...

P.S. You're right though... Apple's 1.5 EFI Upgrade shows that it is not supported on my machine. Mmmh... I don't know... maybe it checks for some other things. Weird...
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 07:06:20 PM by DesertFOX » Logged
fabriciom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #25 on: May 10, 2011, 07:05:41 PM »

@fabriciom:

Nope, worked without any weird messages. Just perfectly.

I simply clicked "Upgrade to 2010 Firmware" and went through the normal EFI Upgrade procedure...

Do you have 1333 ram? did it recognize it?

-Thanks
Logged
DesertFOX
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #26 on: May 10, 2011, 07:09:13 PM »

I use 12GB of 1066MHz ECC DD3 RAM. It still shows up as 1066MHz, ... as expected.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2011, 07:10:09 PM »

Houston, we have a big "YES" on the Audio.

However, all of this "Won't Put B08 firmware back on '09" made me realize...I HAD B08 FIRMWARE !!! (as you can see in screenshots)

So, a question for the OP, how do I get it back on there if I need to get Applecare work done?

I do have the B08 firmware as a stand alone file...my work with the "other guy" who was working on this led to a software means of dumping that file.

I seem to recall that it is 4 Megs .


* Screen shot 2011-05-10 at 11.07.33 AM.jpg (61.34 KB, 671x484 - viewed 1176 times.)
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 07:12:37 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
DesertFOX
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #28 on: May 10, 2011, 07:26:02 PM »

I just found out: My original OS X Install DVDs don't work anymore now after the upgrade.

Oh what the hell... Lion is gonna be here soon anyway...
Logged
fabriciom
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #29 on: May 10, 2011, 07:32:56 PM »

OK Im gonna go for it. Im hopping my W5580 wont hose the system. I also have kingston 1333mhz ram so lets see what happens with that.



Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 80
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!