netkas.org forum
September 26, 2021, 01:56:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Native Wireless 802 ac Wifi in a Mac Pro via original Mini PCIE slot WORKING !!!  (Read 70308 times)
toleda
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2014, 11:08:33 PM »

BCM94352 5 GHz OK - Credit: Skvo
Post #249,
http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/104850-guide-airport-pcie-half-mini-v2-25.html#post772083
« Last Edit: February 28, 2014, 11:10:06 PM by toleda » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2014, 12:01:28 AM »

Great news !!!

To be clear, is it still necessary to do the install of your kexts as well as run this script or is it just this script needed?

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Robert Davies
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2014, 01:57:52 AM »


Just the script in my case.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #18 on: March 01, 2014, 04:04:00 AM »


Just the script in my case.

So AC working ?

Time for me to give this a shot.

Hopefully the antennae extenders get here soon.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Robert Davies
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #19 on: March 01, 2014, 12:25:46 PM »


Just the script in my case.

So AC working ?

Time for me to give this a shot.

Hopefully the antennae extenders get here soon.

AC? Not yet… My  err… AC Airport Extreme is still on its way from Apple  Wink

Whilst it is on its way I can confirm that 5ghz is working jolly nicely, even using the MP's internal antennas.

My Azurewave, like yours, is reporting exactly like the one on the Tony's thread, with lots of 5ghz channels higher in number than I've ever seen on a regular 5ghz card.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #20 on: March 01, 2014, 11:08:10 PM »

 I realize now that there is a reason not many are excited about putting "ac" into Mac Pros.

Nobody has AC base station/routers.

Here are all of the networks I can see from rMBP in living room.

Put ac card in it yesterday, wasn't as easy as I had hoped.

I literally have only "ac" network I can see, lots of people still on "G"

I am curious which of my neighbors has the "couch"

 Software Versions:
  CoreWLAN:   4.0 (400.45.1)
  CoreWLANKit:   3.0 (300.35)
  Menu Extra:   9.0 (900.34)
  System Information:   9.0 (900.Cool
  IO80211 Family:   6.0 (600.34)
  Diagnostics:   3.0 (300.37)
  AirPort Utility:   6.3.2 (632.3)
  Interfaces:
en0:
  Card Type:   AirPort Extreme  (0x14E4, 0x112)
  Firmware Version:   Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (6.30.223.154.45)
  MAC Address:   60:03:08:9e:33:98
  Locale:   RoW
  Country Code:   US
  Supported PHY Modes:   802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
  Supported Channels:   1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 144, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165
  Wake On Wireless:   Supported
  AirDrop:   Supported
  Status:   Connected
  Current Network Information:
Dpart 5GHz:
  PHY Mode:   802.11ac
  BSSID:   90:72:40:15:54:3f
  Channel:   149
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -51 dBm / -92 dBm
  Transmit Rate:   878
  MCS Index:   7
  Other Local Wi-Fi Networks:
our couch pulls out but we dont:
  PHY Mode:   802.11g
  BSSID:   c0:3f:0e:ec:4d:3b
  Channel:   8
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA/WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -72 dBm / -92 dBm
2WIRE028:
  PHY Mode:   802.11g
  BSSID:   60:c3:97:47:b8:c1
  Channel:   6
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA/WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -77 dBm / -92 dBm
2WIRE676:
  PHY Mode:   802.11g
  BSSID:   28:16:2e:1d:8a:19
  Channel:   1
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA/WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -69 dBm / -90 dBm
ATT848:
  PHY Mode:   802.11n
  BSSID:   e4:83:99:16:57:20
  Channel:   10
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA/WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -79 dBm / -92 dBm
Dpart:
  PHY Mode:   802.11n
  BSSID:   90:84:0d:ec:8f:c1
  Channel:   6
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -63 dBm / -92 dBm
Dpart:
  PHY Mode:   802.11n
  BSSID:   90:84:0d:f0:49:f9
  Channel:   6
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -47 dBm / -92 dBm
Dpart:
  PHY Mode:   802.11n
  BSSID:   90:72:40:15:54:3e
  Channel:   6
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -45 dBm / -92 dBm
Granny Net:
  PHY Mode:   802.11g
  BSSID:   00:0f:66:52:b7:c0
  Channel:   6
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -80 dBm / -92 dBm
KG-WIFI:
  PHY Mode:   802.11n
  BSSID:   dc:45:17:cd:b7:70
  Channel:   3
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA/WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -90 dBm / -86 dBm
SBG6580F5:
  PHY Mode:   802.11n
  BSSID:   1c:c6:3c:44:6e:5b
  Channel:   11
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -81 dBm / -92 dBm
michael1:
  PHY Mode:   802.11g
  BSSID:   00:24:56:2e:ad:b9
  Channel:   1
  Country Code:   US
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WEP
  Signal / Noise:   -73 dBm / -90 dBm
netgear:
  PHY Mode:   802.11g
  BSSID:   c0:3f:0e:04:8b:6e
  Channel:   1
  Network Type:   Infrastructure
  Security:   WPA/WPA2 Personal
  Signal / Noise:   -84 dBm / -90 dBm

Placed the 4352 in the 2009 and rebooted, No WFi

Installed Toleda's 4352 kext, got WiFi at ""N" (and crappy speeds)

Added the new "ac" patch and BINGO, got ac wireless.

Good job SKVO & Toleda


* Screen Shot 2014-03-01 at 8.18.08 PM.png (41.64 KB, 937x210 - viewed 1449 times.)
« Last Edit: March 02, 2014, 05:43:00 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Robert Davies
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #21 on: March 03, 2014, 02:33:58 AM »


Re: The err… Ahem! 'couch' access point, check out your neighbour with the most children and Bingo!  Grin
Logged
Squishy Tia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 108



« Reply #22 on: March 03, 2014, 03:40:13 AM »

We may not have AC routers, but an AC wireless card that's supported and working properly will pull better speeds (when configured correctly) than most N cards would when connecting to an N network. And if the N router is one of the few that has beamforming capability, which is a standard/requirement for AC, the AC card would really pull more speed in a stable manner than even an N card of the same manufacturer as the router.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #23 on: March 03, 2014, 04:17:13 AM »

Did another edit I found on a Hack site, now identifies as Airport Extreme instead of 3rd party wireless.

Sometimes seems a little sluggish but always reports connection speed above 500 so not sure it is the card.

Also just tried to put machine to sleep and twice in a row it woke up as soon as it went to sleep.

Will have to isolate if it is the card or something else.

Overall, the 94360 is a lot more trouble & $$$ up front but better supported and faster with less OS bother. (Exception being Windows, no drivers to be found except in latest Bootcamp. 4352 has drivers around.)

UPDATE: Including some more screens using WiFi Utilities analysis, not sure how to read them.

Nice seeing the 4360 called "Excellent" but that may have something to do with being 5 ft from the Airport. ;-)


* Screen Shot 2014-03-01 at 9.22.30 PM.png (47.48 KB, 537x321 - viewed 1354 times.)

* Screen Shot 2014-03-03 at 4.30.25 PM.png (104.5 KB, 1101x714 - viewed 1351 times.)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2014, 01:33:49 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Robert Davies
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #24 on: March 04, 2014, 03:37:41 PM »

My ac Airport Extreme arrived!

My Mac Pro has an AzureWave half pci-e mini card in place of the usual Airport card, it's a Broadcom 4352 card.

Following the hints and tips on this thread and the other Russian sources, I have hex edited the BCM4360 file in OS X Mavericks to enable 5ghz and got it to report as a 'genuine' Airport Extreme card - from 15ft away through two interior walls it reports a broadcast connection of 527Mb/s - Not bad, but not brilliant….

However, as reported elsewhere on t'internet, the connection speeds of my other 5ghz devices have taken a useful upwards hike since installing the ac Airport Extreme.

Was the AzureWave card worth it? As an interesting bit of hackery that taught me a bit more about my machine and Mavericks, yes. As a simple fit and forget solution? Errr… No.

The search goes on for a genuine mini pcie bcm 4360.

Interestingly, Apple usually try and spread the love with wireless cards between Broadcom and Atheros, but there appears to be no support for Atheros ac chipset solution in OSX - the QCA 9880 (which has a pci identifier of 168,003c) There's a Compex mini pci-e card kicking about with that chipset - WLE 900 - but it's unsupported, yet.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #25 on: March 05, 2014, 05:04:36 AM »

Hey, at least they finally figured out true ac speed for it.

I was peeved that I had bought 2 of them thinking I was getting a proven, solid card. Finding out that it was going to be a DOWNGRADE from my existing "N" cards was a let down.

The 4352 does require some hacks, but someone could put together a little package to do it all with a couple clicks.

It IS faster than previous plug in options for Mac Pro.

I have more bits and pieces coming from China, updates coming.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
kennyman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #26 on: March 06, 2014, 04:21:55 PM »

Hey, at least they finally figured out true ac speed for it.

I was peeved that I had bought 2 of them thinking I was getting a proven, solid card. Finding out that it was going to be a DOWNGRADE from my existing "N" cards was a let down.

The 4352 does require some hacks, but someone could put together a little package to do it all with a couple clicks.

It IS faster than previous plug in options for Mac Pro.

I have more bits and pieces coming from China, updates coming.

Thanks for the update - correct me if I am wrong, you get only 867 Mbps at 2.5/5GHz 802.11ac with that card, am I right?

No bluetooth yet from it, at least on the classic mac pro.

Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #27 on: March 06, 2014, 09:12:31 PM »

Yes, the 4352 is a 867 max card, like the one in MBA.

No Bluetooth yet, but looks easy enough to implement, I just don't use Bluetooth from MP much at all do I haven't bothered. When all the parts get here from China and I build #2 I'll probably do it just to do it.

Only thing I use BT for is a "Jam Box" that works great to do audio for iPod/iPad/iPhone.

I am always holding down option to switch boot disk, and I had trouble with BT.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #28 on: March 07, 2014, 10:20:55 PM »

Should have made a copy of my multi-modded kexts.

Ran the 10.9.3 update on the 4352 machine, lost all WiFi.

(Can you say "newbie"?)

Ran the fixes but perhaps kexts have changed or I had too much Cabernet.

Stuck at 2.4.

So I reverted to a 10.9.2 802 family kext and ran fixes, got 5ghz but wouldn't choose AC, stayed on N.

Now I remember why I was so happy to make the 94360 work.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Robert Davies
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #29 on: March 07, 2014, 10:44:03 PM »

Should have made a copy of my multi-modded kexts.

Ran the 10.9.3 update on the 4352 machine, lost all WiFi.

(Can you say "newbie"?)

Ran the fixes but perhaps kexts have changed or I had too much Cabernet.

Stuck at 2.4.

So I reverted to a 10.9.2 802 family kext and ran fixes, got 5ghz but wouldn't choose AC, stayed on N.

Now I remember why I was so happy to make the 94360 work.

It borks it indeed!

I used the Applescripts at the end of the first post here: (looks like he's added another one to enable 5ghz AND Airport Extreme identifier)

…and my MP 1,1 connects to the ac again at 527Mb/s.

In my mind's eye I'm taken to the opening credits of The Simpsons where Bart is writing lines on the board

- only it's not Bart, it's me an I'm writing -

"I must backup my edited kexts before updating."

 Grin

Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!