netkas.org forum
July 23, 2019, 05:28:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: TOTAL NEWB wanting to flash XFX 5870 or exchange for 6870  (Read 13299 times)
afterworks

« on: May 05, 2011, 05:32:14 PM »

Guys,

I'm going to apologise in advance for going over what looks like you've advised many people how to do!!

Basically I've just got an XFX 5870      HD-587X-ZNFC

I've tried going through all the guides etc to get my head round all this but to be honest, it's abit out of my depth! Plus some of the guides are out of date, with some things not needing to be done etc so I'm royally confused!!!

I've got Zeus, downloaded 587XF18 rom, do I just need to plug in my new card, click on the flash tab in Zeus, find the rom then click Flash ATI?

Bit confused with the EFI part etc?

Have also now read that newer ATI 6870 cards work without being flashed etc...am starting to think maybe I should just send my card back and exchange it for the 6870?

I basically just want to play games on Windows 7, and be able to run multiple screens on OS X.

I could just keep my stock ATI 2600 in aswell for OS X and use the 6870 for Windows though yeah?

Any thoughts, whether I should swap the card or if someone wouldn't mind guiding me through this would be immense.

Thanks

afterworks

« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 05:36:00 PM »

Oh and I have a Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, ver 3.1 running SL 10.6.6

thanks
Rominator

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 07:35:07 PM »

RESEARCH

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
alienallan

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2011, 01:56:41 PM »

im a newb...  total newb.. Huh..all the info you need is already written in threads all over this forum.