netkas.org forum
November 16, 2018, 10:00:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17]
  Print  
Author Topic: R9 280x flashed with EFI  (Read 231233 times)
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83



« Reply #240 on: April 10, 2018, 03:58:58 AM »

 Roll Eyes I use a non-conductive Japanese toothpick  Cheesy
Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
gn2
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #241 on: July 22, 2018, 08:28:07 PM »

Thanks.   I cut and pasted the EFI section in at 64512 and filled the space following it with FFFF and I now have bootscreens!

Here's my ROM if anyone else has the Powercolor R9 280X 3GB card.


Thank you so much for posting this rom, I have a Powercolor R9 280X 3GB card, and I successfully flashed this, but first, it won't boot in Windows, and in MACOS, it chimes, gives me a multicolored lines screen, then doesn't complete that boot either.

Anyone have any ideas what I need to do to make this ROM work on *my* Powercolor R9 280X 3GB card ??
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #242 on: July 22, 2018, 09:06:50 PM »

I would reinstall the original rom, then copy the EFI section into it and install it
Logged
kapqa
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #243 on: August 15, 2018, 02:28:14 PM »

Hello , i am quite new to this forum but already an average MacUser (since 2004) .

I have a one-two question regarding flashing R9 280x:

- if i would buy off Ebay an unflashed Gigabyte R9 280x (used, as new they don't seem anymore available) could i be able to flash Mac EFI for Bootscreen in any case or would this be a lottery depending on which Rev. (1.0 or 2.0 or whatsoever) i would get?

- if i would be able to flash succesfully a Mac EFI Rom, would that automatically give me Full 5.0 GT Linkspeed or would i need to do further steps?


I am using a MacPro 5.1 and have a MacPro 1.1 with Bootcamp (Windows 7) also available.


Tips and Suggestions are very welcome, thanks!
Logged
SDug
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #244 on: August 17, 2018, 10:06:29 AM »

Just make sure you get one with the reference card ports: One DVI, one HDMI and two mini DP. The later versions of the R9 280X have two DVI, one HDMI and one full sized DP ports and these are much less likely to work. Just skim through this thread, note the makes and models that flash without issue and concentrate on getting one of those.

With the latest EFI firmware update for the Mac Pro 5,1, you will get 5GT/s without having to do any resistor mod. The Mac Pro 1,1 is limited to PCIe 1.0, I believe, so your max throughput is 2.5GT/s regardless.
Logged
kapqa
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #245 on: August 17, 2018, 12:59:07 PM »

Thank you for your answer,

i have looked on Youtube for a Resistor Mod to get 5.0 , it seems doable with the right tools, not too hard.

I don't know about a EFI update for 5.1 yet, if you mean that one coming for users running Mojave, read about that, would be great to be able to use any Radeon card whatsoever fully with bootscreen and 5.0 Linkspeed, but hopefully this update would not bring other limitations like impossibility to boot older OSX.
Logged
SDug
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #246 on: August 17, 2018, 08:13:55 PM »


I don't know about a EFI update for 5.1 yet, if you mean that one coming for users running Mojave, read about that, would be great to be able to use any Radeon card whatsoever fully with bootscreen and 5.0 Linkspeed, but hopefully this update would not bring other limitations like impossibility to boot older OSX.
I mean this update:

http://netkas.org/forum/index.php/topic,13873.0.html

It doesn't provide bootscreens with non-flashed cards but it does allow you to update the MP's EFI without a flashed graphics card in future as well as dispensing with the resistor mod. You also don't need to actually install Mojave to install this EFI update. Just download Public Beta 6 and start the installation. It will prompt you to restart your Mac holding the power button in to put it into EFI update mode. After the bootrom is updated your MP will restart and boot to the Mojave installation screen. You can just cancel the installation.

You can still boot Snow Leopard with this bootrom.
Logged
jabbawok
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



« Reply #247 on: September 11, 2018, 11:22:52 PM »

I made this rom with the 7000 rom creation script, using a PC rom from another card. The Stock XFX rom wouldn't let the Mac boot.
This rom works, I get boot screens and it seems to perform fin in3D Benchmarks, but it reports 1182796800 MB of RAM.
I realise this is cosmetic, but I'd like to fix it if possible.


Spacedust  mentioned fixing the crazy memory but didn't go into detail about how its done.

Any help would be greatly appreciated..

Attached r9280x_ben_rom.efi.rom is the one I'm using, and xfxr9_280x_DD_Black.rom is the factory one.

* r9280x_ben_efi.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 78 times.)
* xfxr9_280x_DD_Black.rom.zip (98.45 KB - downloaded 58 times.)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2018, 10:40:24 PM by jabbawok » Logged

MacPro 4,1 updated to 5,1 - W3690 -  - 32GB ram - 256GB NVME SSD
vinnie1978
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #248 on: September 23, 2018, 05:31:30 PM »

The 2 roms you posted are based upon different roms.

They are both from xfx double dissipation blacks , try to make the efi.rom based upon your own videocards rom.
I made the rom based upon the second posted rom 280x_dd black.rom



* xfxr9.rom (128 KB - downloaded 45 times.)
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2343



« Reply #249 on: September 27, 2018, 04:50:53 AM »

good luck with XFX

they made best 4870 for Mac, but ever since cards have been trouble

fans are really cheap and die young

They (XFX) seem to win the 'race to the bottom" for cheap parts.

Try the various roms, you can use pc version and see which gives right RAM before you bother creating EFI for it
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #250 on: September 27, 2018, 07:00:50 PM »

I've made every XFX R9 280X and R9 280 working so it's doable. On one card I had to use some beta BIOS from Club3D to get rid of flickering.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!