netkas.org forum
September 23, 2018, 06:20:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17
  Print  
Author Topic: R9 280x flashed with EFI  (Read 218260 times)
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 350


« Reply #225 on: October 14, 2016, 03:03:27 PM »

Either it's a XFX card (which OS X doesn't like at all) or you've misconfigured Clover.
Logged
Fangio
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #226 on: November 11, 2016, 07:20:36 PM »

280X is still a pretty good choice as long as Polaris & Ellesmere support isn't quite there yet. Apple is still improving drivers...

Some compute benchmarks in Sierra 10.12.2 Beta 2, the numbers are getting better and better.



* Geekbench 4.0.1 @ 10.12.2 Beta 2 : Gigabyte 280X .png (159 KB, 873x1073 - viewed 520 times.)

* Luxmark 2.1 @ 10.12.2 Beta 2 : Gigabyte 280X .jpg (244.71 KB, 1130x830 - viewed 526 times.)

* Luxmark 3.1 @ 10.12.2 Beta 2 : Gigabyte 280X .jpg (241.44 KB, 1146x909 - viewed 491 times.)
Logged
DACMDR
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #227 on: November 26, 2016, 08:23:02 PM »

Hello how can I get my video card flashed or updated to work on a MAC
Logged
user_jgora
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #228 on: January 05, 2017, 01:32:49 PM »

Attached you'll find the EFI ROM for VTX3D R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 V2 (stock 2013 ROM treated with the script and 7950 EFI part). I made it, because the V3 ROM causes kernel panics on my 2,1.

Same thing here. I'd appreciate if someone would be kind enough to mod this file to R9 280x identification. I know it's cosmetic, but...
Here you go.

I have VFX3D R9 280x 3GBD5-2DHEV2, no boot screen on this rom Sad I attached the original rom, anybody can halp?


* VFX-280X_PC.ROM (128 KB - downloaded 196 times.)
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375


« Reply #229 on: January 09, 2017, 01:46:39 PM »

Another two R9 280X XFX cards (DD & Black Edition) which took a bit of time but both are running perfectly - only upper DVI and HDMI is inactive but all others works well.
Logged
vinnie1978
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 46


« Reply #230 on: January 11, 2017, 07:00:07 PM »

Attached you'll find the EFI ROM for VTX3D R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 V2 (stock 2013 ROM treated with the script and 7950 EFI part). I made it, because the V3 ROM causes kernel panics on my 2,1.

Same thing here. I'd appreciate if someone would be kind enough to mod this file to R9 280x identification. I know it's cosmetic, but...
Here you go.

I have VFX3D R9 280x 3GBD5-2DHEV2, no boot screen on this rom Sad I attached the original rom, anybody can halp?



Try this:

* VFX-280X.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 291 times.)
Logged
user_jgora
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #231 on: January 26, 2017, 08:57:55 AM »

Thanks vinnie1978  Smiley
Logged
vinnie1978
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 46


« Reply #232 on: February 20, 2017, 11:49:15 PM »

user_jgora, can you confim the efi.rom is working?
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #233 on: February 08, 2018, 03:06:32 AM »

Open the 7970 Mac file in a Hexeditor.

At 65536 you will find the EFI part.

Copy and paste into your R9 280X at same point, overwriting the UEFI, done.

For the Powercolor R9 280X (which works fine in High Sierra on a real MP5,1  the EFI part of the BIOS starts at 65412, not 65536.

What do I need to do to compensate for this?  My previous MSI card was pretty straightforward.

My original ROM attached...  Any help appreciated.


* save.rom (128 KB - downloaded 96 times.)
Logged
vinnie1978
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 46


« Reply #234 on: February 08, 2018, 03:17:23 PM »

That means the EFI part needs to start directly at that point.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2018, 03:25:37 PM by vinnie1978 » Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #235 on: February 08, 2018, 08:03:32 PM »

Thanks.   I cut and pasted the EFI section in at 64512 and filled the space following it with FFFF and I now have bootscreens!

Here's my ROM if anyone else has the Powercolor R9 280X 3GB card.


* NEWPWC.ROM (128 KB - downloaded 121 times.)
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375


« Reply #236 on: February 11, 2018, 12:05:40 AM »

PowerColor HD7950/HD7970/R9 280X cards all needs screws replacement to fit inside Mac Pro slot 1. Some of these also requires removal of the backplate to fit in.
Logged
failcl2018
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #237 on: April 07, 2018, 02:53:44 PM »

Hi all. I am Sam. I have a display card which is Sapphire R9 280X. I finished to flash the rom and got pci-e 1.1 speed (2.5GT/S) showed in mac boot screen. I think I need to remove the r17 but I don't know how to do so. Please advise the method.
Thanks for you help.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375


« Reply #238 on: April 07, 2018, 04:54:04 PM »

I use cuticle nippers ;-)
Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #239 on: April 07, 2018, 06:35:14 PM »

Hi all. I am Sam. I have a display card which is Sapphire R9 280X. I finished to flash the rom and got pci-e 1.1 speed (2.5GT/S) showed in mac boot screen. I think I need to remove the r17 but I don't know how to do so. Please advise the method.
Thanks for you help.

I use a tiny screw driver.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!