netkas.org forum
December 01, 2020, 09:40:02 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: 4870x2 issue (netkas help maybe?)  (Read 17729 times)
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« on: February 02, 2011, 06:05:36 PM »

Hi,
First of all my hardware spec:

Processor: Intel core 2 quad: Q6600
Motherboard: gigabyte x48-ds4
Videocard: Ati Radeon club 3d 4870x2
Snow Leopard: 10.6.6.

Recently I succesfully installed OSX and got everything working on OSX 10.6.6, including the right resolution for my monitor(1920x1080).
I used http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=155477&pid=1621120&start=900&#entry1621120 guide (Installed only http://www.mediafire.com/?mz1leyhyolh since the other links are death). Right after I installed QE/CI radeons patch for 10.6.6 (Updated) ->http://netkas.org/?p=592 by netkas. However I cant seems to get opengl working (client like World of Warcraft for example), or any other game.(Game hangs on black screen, and monitor loses signal)
Now I got my question, do the 4870x2 have full graphic support and are there any recent guides? (Or just someon simply explain steps by step how I should install the software(kext or anything like that) for this graphic card).

With the best regards,
Alarado

Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 06:57:20 PM »

The exotic cards package should have what you need.

On his main page.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 07:04:03 PM »

So the QE/CI radeons patch for 10.6.6 (Updated)HuhHuh

A link will helping me alot.

(Cus little confused with the amount of snow leopard versions driver)



///////////////
UPDATE
I also noticed the problem with monitor signal loss (screen turns black) also happens when I change the resolution under the monitorscreens option in MAC OSX.

So whats happening?Huh
« Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 07:57:12 PM by alarado » Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2011, 09:33:33 AM »

Anyone?
Logged
brockwitting
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2011, 08:46:32 PM »

http://mirror.netkas.org/QE_CI_Exotic%20patch%20for%2010.6.6.pkg
Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2011, 09:30:50 PM »

Many thanks for the link, however i get an blue screen now instead of signal loss.
Anyone?

//Update

So I installed whole OSX again, with a refreshed installation. Then I install the exotic patch and nothing happens(Ofcourse I restarted and even rebuilded extensions) (Except my Videocard ID appears at devices information, but it detects nothing). When I, install http://www.mediafire.com/?mz1leyhyolh (Graphic card driver) the resolution will go to 1920x1080(screen resolution) and everything seems to be working except qe/ci.

What I did notice, my videocard ID is still in the device information. However it will not detect a 4870x2, but it detects a 4800.

Also I testen OpenGL, with OpenGL extensions program. OpenGL 3.0 and higher test's has failed.
Even default program from mac Front row stays at a black screen and nothing will happen.(CMD + tab will get me out)(A confirm that QE-CI is not working)

Anyone?
« Last Edit: February 04, 2011, 09:46:14 AM by alarado » Logged
australia080
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2011, 08:13:48 PM »

Have you tried "GraphicsEnabler=Yes" in Chameleon?
Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2011, 01:07:00 PM »

Have you tried "GraphicsEnabler=Yes" in Chameleon?

Yes, still qe/ci wont work, but resolution works.
Logged
australia080
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2011, 02:22:42 PM »

I also have a 4870x2, all I had to do after installing OS X and updating to 10.6.6 was install the exotic card patch for 10.6.6, I'm not exactly sure what you're installing from mediafire, but it shouldnt be needed for QE/CI. Try a fresh install with the exotic card patch and then experiment with changes in your bios/card placement.
Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2011, 06:18:17 PM »

I also have a 4870x2, all I had to do after installing OS X and updating to 10.6.6 was install the exotic card patch for 10.6.6, I'm not exactly sure what you're installing from mediafire, but it shouldnt be needed for QE/CI. Try a fresh install with the exotic card patch and then experiment with changes in your bios/card placement.

What chameleon version btw. I use the multibeast method.(but dont install any videocard drivers)
But thanks for this comment australia080, I will try it once more. I will post the results here,
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 07:05:26 PM by alarado » Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2011, 07:37:01 PM »

Ok i did what you said, but it wont boot up now. While booting with -v it gives the error
ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start - waitForService(resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) timed out
Logged
australia080
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2011, 12:29:19 AM »

This is the time where experimenting pays off my friend...Try a fresh install, try installing a chameleon RC5 build (r699 or r700 from multibeast), for drivers/kexts try just installing SMC and NullCpuPowerManagement. both can be found in Multibeast. Then update to 10.6.6 and install the Exotic Pkg for 10.6.6, Its all trial and error, let me know how far you get Smiley
Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2011, 06:28:09 PM »

This is the time where experimenting pays off my friend...Try a fresh install, try installing a chameleon RC5 build (r699 or r700 from multibeast), for drivers/kexts try just installing SMC and NullCpuPowerManagement. both can be found in Multibeast. Then update to 10.6.6 and install the Exotic Pkg for 10.6.6, Its all trial and error, let me know how far you get Smiley
I did chameleon rc5 r699 and r700, SMC and NullCpuPowerManagement. But everytime after exotic package 10.6.6 it gives me this error. Even in save mode using -x it wont boot and gives the same error.  I also tryed some other stuff without succes booting it. If i delete ati driver, it starts to boot again
Logged
alarado
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2011, 06:33:12 PM »

i managed to make it work with PCIRootUID=1 with full working qe/ci, howto to make it boot without typing PCIRootUID=1?

update

Fixed it with changing some stuff in the boot.plist.

Got a fully working mac osx now, thanks for all support!!!!!!
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 07:56:21 PM by alarado » Logged
australia080
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2011, 08:21:21 PM »

Excellent!!! Glad I could help some!  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!