netkas.org forum
July 23, 2019, 07:26:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 35
  Print  
Author Topic: make your own radeon HD 5770/5870/6870/6850 Mac ROM!  (Read 968791 times)
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


« Reply #315 on: January 29, 2014, 09:45:15 PM »

I'm trying to flash ASUS HD5770 CU Core. It has two mCuC sections, but the resulting file is 16 MB Wink

Attaching original BIOS for analysis.

* Juniper.rom (128 KB - downloaded 455 times.)
Logged
Tiberio G
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #316 on: January 30, 2014, 09:38:34 PM »

Hello!
I have an Asus EAH5770 (0x68b8) in my mac pro 1.1 with Mavericks using patched efi.boot

I have used the card with the original ROM (recognized as ATI Radeon HD 5000)
and also with the rom patched with EFI following the guide on this thread (recognized correctly as 5770)

But in the two cases I have graphics hangs.

I collected some info about the issue:
1) the GPU hang occurs after a wake from sleep
2) the system tries to restart the GPU


Code:
kernel[0]: GPU Hang State = 0x00000000
 kernel[0]: GPU hang:
 kernel[0]: Trying restart GPU ...
 kernel[0]: AMDJuniperGraphicsAccelerator: bad busy count (255,1)
3) the problem is related to these kext:

 
Code:
kernel[0]: com.apple.iokit.IOAcceleratorFamily(98.7.1)[024BF8EC-2925-3C4B-ADBB-CFE36F7D41C5]@0xffffff7f8e8cf000->0xffffff7f8e927fff

 kernel[0]: dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.8)[447B4896-16FF-3616-95A2-1C516B2A1498]@0xffffff7f8d2ba000

 kernel[0]: dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(2.3.6)[38E388A5-92D6-3388-B799-F2498E582287]@0xffffff7f8dc54000
4) only once or twice there was kernel panic

Code:
panic(cpu 2 caller 0xffffff800f6dc19e): Kernel trap at 0xffffff7f9127cba6, type 0=divide error, registers:
CR0: 0x000000008001003b, CR2: 0x00000001178f4000, CR3: 0x00000000120b4000, CR4: 0x0000000000000660
RAX: 0x00000000002a8500, RBX: 0xffffff8138d4bbf0, RCX: 0x0000000000000000, RDX: 0x0000000000000000
RSP: 0xffffff8138d4bbd0, RBP: 0xffffff8138d4bbe0, RSI: 0x0000000000000000, RDI: 0x0000000000000000
R8:  0xffffff7f912981f0, R9:  0x0000000000000027, R10: 0x0000000000000004, R11: 0xffffff7f91298218
R12: 0xffffff803b2417d0, R13: 0xffffff7f91298280, R14: 0xffffff8138d4bc90, R15: 0xffffff8138d4bbf0
RFL: 0x0000000000010246, RIP: 0xffffff7f9127cba6, CS:  0x0000000000000008, SS:  0x0000000000000010
Fault CR2: 0x00000001178f4000, Error code: 0x0000000000000000, Fault CPU: 0x2

With these kext in backtrace:

Code:
com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(2.3.6)
com.apple.kext.AMDSupport(1.1.4)
com.apple.kext.AMD5000Controller(1.1.4)
com.apple.kext.AMDFramebuffer(1.1.4)

In my opinion the issue it could be related to the 32bit architecture of MP 1.1 EFI but I don't know...

It's strange because the card works well, it crashes only after sleep!
With my old nVidia 8500gt with 8400gs I haven't had any problem.
Thanks for advice, I hope to find a guru of graphics card in order to solve the issue.

* bios5770 orig (128 KB - downloaded 490 times.)
* myrom (EFI patched).rom (128 KB - downloaded 532 times.)
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


« Reply #317 on: January 30, 2014, 11:12:14 PM »

I will try flashing mine with this BIOS. However it's still different than mine.

Your is: 68B8.12.12.0.3.AS01                                                    

Mine is: 68B8.12.20.0.47.AS01.U126

I've tested: 68B8.12.20.0.4.AS02.U126 BIOS and it worked but it makes then fan to run at 100%.

Tested your BIOS and it works well, but sleep mode doesn't work too. I'm using Mac Pro 4,1@5,1.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2014, 06:37:14 PM by Spacedust » Logged
Iwishmymacwouldbemuchfast
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #318 on: February 11, 2014, 06:00:29 PM »

Actually the Mercury CUDA open CL cards do not include the ATI 5770 anyways.

I did have a hard time flashing the ROM with a custom setting. Not because the first page was not working but because I really wanted to just save out the ROM from cmd line in windows. I could not in tall Bootcamp with an OEM W7 disc, it failed every time.

ATI Flash 4.17 didn't work for me either so I used 3.9x.

There were 2 instances of mcuc luckily for me as that would have been hard for me to offset.

The card is up and running fine with two monitors on DVI. No boot screen but it is not that much of a problem. The card comes up in the system profiler as it should, ATI 5770. After Effects is no running again as it crashed with the non flashed card. Thanks to Jean, and Rominator of course, with out you both I could have never had done this.
Logged
freedom37
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #319 on: March 25, 2014, 06:16:19 PM »

Hi jeanlain, thank you very much for posting this guide!!
It worked on my AFOX5770(AF5770-1024G5S1) !
Now I have a almost perfect matching EFI-Rom.I can watch DVD videos and I can see Apple Mark when my MacPro'06 boot up.
But I can see Apple mark when it connect on D-sub15.And my MacPro recognize connection on D-sub15 when nothing connect on D-sub15.
Does anybody have an idea how to fix this?
I want MacPro not to recognize connecting on D-sub15.
Logged
lerush
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #320 on: March 30, 2014, 02:00:58 PM »

I used the scripts from netkas, but I was not sure if I used both - Can I use them multiple times to keep sure, or do I fuck something up when I use the sripts multiple times?
Logged
vanden
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #321 on: May 09, 2014, 11:07:14 AM »

Hello,

I have a Mac Pro 2008 and HIS HD 6850 IceQ X Turbo graphic card (PC/no EFI), with no other graphics card EFI I can not boot on OSX.
Here the bios extracted with GPU-Z.0.7.8 : HIS_HD_6850_IceQ_X_Turbo_Original_Bios
If someone can add EFI and post the modified rom, that would be great !
I could install OSX !

I have another question for solve the problem PCIE@1.1.
I saw here the procedure but is it the same for the HD6870 and HD6850 ?
Logged
vandenk02fr
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #322 on: May 09, 2014, 03:16:04 PM »

Hello,

I have a Mac Pro 2008 and HIS HD 6850 IceQ X Turbo graphic card (PC/no EFI), with no other graphics card EFI I can not boot on OSX.
Here the bios extracted with GPU-Z.0.7.8 : HIS_HD_6850_IceQ_X_Turbo_Original_Bios
If someone can add EFI and post the modified rom, that would be great !
I could install OSX !

I have solved the PCIE@1.1 problem (I saw here the procedure) :
I have no resistor in R3, on my HD6850, I recovered a resistor (10K) on a dead card, but impossible to weld !
The resistor is really too small !
But I tried with a pen with conductive ink : it is ok Smiley

I miss it more than EFI Bios ...

EDIT :
Thank you to have unlocked my account.
I finally succeeded, here are the details.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2014, 11:59:03 AM by vandenk02fr » Logged
trucquivamarcherunjour02f
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #323 on: May 09, 2014, 03:26:26 PM »

Hello,

I have a Mac Pro 2008 and HIS HD 6850 IceQ X Turbo graphic card (PC/no EFI), with no other graphics card EFI I can not boot on OSX.
Here the bios extracted with GPU-Z.0.7.8 : HIS_HD_6850_IceQ_X_Turbo_Original_Bios
If someone can add EFI and post the modified rom, that would be great !
I could install OSX !

I have solved the PCIE@1.1 problem (I saw here the procedure) :
I have no resistor in R3, on my HD6850, I recovered a resistor (10K) on a dead card, but impossible to weld !
The resistor is really too small !
But I tried with a pen with conductive ink : it is ok Smiley

I miss it more than EFI Bios ...
Logged
yamahasx50
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #324 on: June 07, 2014, 01:18:39 PM »

Hi guys & Girls,

This is my first ever post to a forum, so I apologise if I look & sounds like a total Newb!

Here's my issue:

I have a Radeon 5770 (Saphire edition) - Images attached, I bought it second hand & I think it's already been flashed... The issue is, the flash doesn't work with Mavericks (I'm running a Mac Pro 1,1) I have done everything I can think of - changed the kexts, flashed the card.

The reason why I think it's already been Flashed, is when I get the original file (Rom), go through the whole process at the end it says that the new file is the same as the old... Am I right thinking that?


* IMG_0863.jpg (181.69 KB, 1987x1022 - viewed 1046 times.)

* IMG_0864.jpg (161.14 KB, 2280x1164 - viewed 1029 times.)

* Unknown.jpeg (8.81 KB, 311x162 - viewed 965 times.)

* IMG_0865.jpg (156.24 KB, 1505x897 - viewed 981 times.)
Logged
chrisrand
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #325 on: June 13, 2014, 03:54:04 AM »

I would recommend flashing it to the stock PC rom that you can find on the internet, then proceed with the steps in the first page of this forum post.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


« Reply #326 on: June 13, 2014, 11:48:32 AM »

Anyone using such card ?

It's another version of ASUS HD5870:



Attaching BIOS for it.

* Asus.HD5870.1024.100311.rom (128 KB - downloaded 509 times.)
Logged
Gallow24
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #327 on: June 16, 2014, 01:40:34 PM »

Has the card the same specification as the ASUS 5870 with reference design?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


« Reply #328 on: July 01, 2014, 11:05:31 AM »

Has the card the same specification as the ASUS 5870 with reference design?

No, it's completely different. Only one DVI port Wink
Logged
jordisala
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #329 on: July 01, 2014, 10:12:15 PM »

Hello,
I have a Powercolor HD6870 and I'm using it on a Mac Pro 3,1 with Mavericks.

I extracted the BIOS with GPU-Z using a standar PC.

I've tried to modify the bios following this thread instructions and the other instructions found on the topic "6870 efi rom test" http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1085.msg6487.html#msg6487

Zeus 2.8 didn't patch my bios. It stated that the "number should be between 0 and.." so I had to use 0xED to read on the bios beggining "55AA80" that it is 80 hex = 128 dec. So I did this operations.

Quote
jordi$size=$(($128 * 512))

jordi$ dd if=6870.efi.rom of=hd6870gpuz.rom bs=$size seek=1 conv=notrunc
3+1 records in
3+1 records out
45056 bytes transferred in 0.000049 secs (921846639 bytes/sec)

jordi$ python fixrom.py hd6870gpuz.rom hd6870gpuz.rom
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x1f1, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=65536)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x1f1, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x7f)
RawData (size=65536)


Both with this operations were done using zeus app internal resource 6870.efi file and the file 6870.efi.rom contained by initial post on the thread. I did that because this two files differ:
Quote
jordi$ diff 6870.efi 6870.efi.rom
Binary files 6870.efi and 6870.efi.rom differ

After that I flashed the bios two times, with zeus 2.3 and with atiflash and a FreeDOS USB pendrive.

Neither any of this operations lead to a functional ATI HD6870. Every time I had to reflash with the original bios. The one that I am attaching now is the original BIOS.
I also attach the photos of the log of atiflash when I flashed the EFI bios. And the information about the Original bios provided by atiflash.

As i've read on this forums at the moment, the only thing that I can do is to generate the EFI BIOS with the "netkas rom creator" http://netkas.org/?p=943 but there is no place on the internet where I can find that application.

There is anybody of you that could tell me where to find that application. Or could explain me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks a lot.

* hd6870gpuz.rom (128 KB - downloaded 475 times.)

* flashingtheEFIbios.JPG (130.04 KB, 640x480 - viewed 1107 times.)

* Informationabouttheroiginalbios.JPG (132.75 KB, 640x480 - viewed 1048 times.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 35
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!