netkas.org forum
November 19, 2018, 09:45:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 33 34 [35]
  Print  
Author Topic: make your own radeon HD 5770/5870/6870/6850 Mac ROM!  (Read 789107 times)
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83



« Reply #510 on: July 10, 2017, 05:12:57 PM »

windosmac

Sorry, it's been so long since I flashed anything using AtiFlash I'd need to brush up.

I usually use AtiWinflash. It works OK for me in a dedicated install of Win 7 on it's own HDD ( no Bootcamp ).
« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 02:34:01 PM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
jamesb
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



« Reply #511 on: November 17, 2017, 12:55:30 AM »

I have a HD XFX 6870 Dual fan part number HD687A-ZD and have not had the result I have hoped for. None of the ports are capable of producing the typical Apple boot screen.
The third bite on the original Rom is 80 which converted to decimal is 128. Opening terminal I ran blocknum=128 size=$(($blocknum * 512))dd if=6870.efi.rom of=pc6870.rom bs=$size seek=1 conv=notrunc : then in terminal  python fixrom.py pc6870.rom pc6870.rom. Not sure what is wrong here perhaps more skilled heads can prevail with some assistance.  I have attached the original Rom issued with the card for reference and an image of my card.
 


* l1600.jpg (244.68 KB, 1600x1415 - viewed 300 times.)
* XFX.HD6870.rom (128 KB - downloaded 169 times.)
Logged

Denny
vinnie1978
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #512 on: January 31, 2018, 06:27:50 PM »

I have a HD XFX 6870 Dual fan part number HD687A-ZD and have not had the result I have hoped for. None of the ports are capable of producing the typical Apple boot screen.
The third bite on the original Rom is 80 which converted to decimal is 128. Opening terminal I ran blocknum=128 size=$(($blocknum * 512))dd if=6870.efi.rom of=pc6870.rom bs=$size seek=1 conv=notrunc : then in terminal  python fixrom.py pc6870.rom pc6870.rom. Not sure what is wrong here perhaps more skilled heads can prevail with some assistance.  I have attached the original Rom issued with the card for reference and an image of my card.
 


* HD687A-ZD.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 140 times.)
Logged
Tammygeawl
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


WWW
« Reply #513 on: March 19, 2018, 04:17:34 AM »

I consider, that you commit an error. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will discuss.


* 284.gif (2.62 KB, 50x50 - viewed 1031 times.)
Logged

Traace
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #514 on: July 18, 2018, 09:06:19 AM »

There was a PowerColor HD 5870 on ebay for cheap, I coudn't resist and bought it.

Unfortunalty the Original bios from PowerColor is to big to fit EFI. For me it looks like they leftover trash code in that bios.

However, the card is almost reference design. I'm trying @biho Bios for Asus reference cards now.

I've a PC with couple of PCIe slots and GPUs, that will come handy if I brick the card. Backup is ready ofc, wish me luck Smiley

Edit:
Well, that was quick, the flash went fine with that Asus Bios, nothing bricked, ports are working. I just booted ubuntu afterwards to do a quick benchmark. The Card runs pretty stable, even the fan is perfect powered, spins up/down together with workload like it shoud.


Next: Finally testing it in Mac Pro Smiley
Edit: Works fine in Mac Pro 1,1. Bootscreen baby. Detected by OS too.



* powercolorHD5870PC.rom (128 KB - downloaded 54 times.)
* ASUSHD5870RefbyBIHOmac.rom (128 KB - downloaded 79 times.)
« Last Edit: July 19, 2018, 09:25:38 AM by Traace » Logged
j-man
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23



« Reply #515 on: September 04, 2018, 04:32:30 PM »

Hello guys. It's almost three years that I don't post here: I didn't need to modify any of my video cards, as long as everything was working (actually I flashed a couple 5770s for some friends... no problems). But maybe time has come for replacing the NVIDIA GT120 in my Mac Pro 5,1: I can see some warning signs.

I still got a 6870 that I put on a shelf after some unsuccessful attempts - read here http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.msg32365.html#msg32365.
Last night I read on post 331 of this topic http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.msg37097.html#msg37097 that "Netkas wrote a modified rom for XFX6870"; so I dusted off my board and put it back in the old Mac Pro 1,1 (don't ask me why, but it works better at flashing than its younger brother).
I performed the same old routine, but when I tried to flash the board ATIflash didn't complete the task: "Can not flash a 0x30000 lenght image into a 0x20000 lenght rom! ROM not erased".

I guess my board is not compatible with that firmware... correct? Did I just downloaded the wrong one, or there's still no chance to get the 6870 working with two monitors on a Mac Pro 5,1?
If anybody is willing to check it out, the original 6870 PC-only ROM is attached to post 203 of the other topic. Thanks in advance for your collaboration.
Logged
j-man
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23



« Reply #516 on: September 05, 2018, 04:15:10 PM »

In the meantime, I did some further research and I found on page 28 (reply #414) these instructions by Netkas:
Quote
ok, so first line fails if size of bios rom is 0x10000 or more (0x80 or more in 512b blocks)

so if script fails for you, open your rom in some hex editor and look for value of third byte, use calculator to convert from hex to decimal and use this script (XXX is a decimal value you got)

blocknum=XXX
size=$(($blocknum * 512))
dd if=6870.efi.rom of=pc6870.rom bs=$size seek=1 conv=notrunc
python fixrom.py pc6870.rom pc6870.rom

I saved my PC-ROM once again, checked the third byte with HexEdit (80), converted to decimal (128) and applied the above script on my ROM using 1) the ROM modified by Florian some time ago, 2) the XFX modified by Netkas, and 3) the HD687A posted by Vinnie here (#512).
The problem is: my PC- and Florian's ROMs are 131.072 bytes, the XFX- and HD- ROMs are 196.600 bytes... and of course I get the same mismatch message reported above.

EDIT: here are the good news http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.msg38407.html#msg38407
« Last Edit: September 07, 2018, 03:11:50 PM by j-man » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 33 34 [35]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!