netkas.org forum
December 12, 2017, 05:04:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 35
  Print  
Author Topic: make your own radeon HD 5770/5870/6870/6850 Mac ROM!  (Read 555353 times)
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2011, 09:17:02 PM »

Maznac,
Have you tried on Windows? If the ports work OK, then it's more likely the OS X drivers that don't work well with this model.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2011, 09:19:44 PM by jeanlain » Logged
Toumak
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2011, 10:20:00 PM »

Hello jeanlain !
First a big thank for your work.
I used your method 3 weeks ago to create my own rom for my 5870 vapor-x as the fan of my card was too loud with the the 587XZF18_uakari.rom.
I don't know who posted it, but it perfectly worked !
So, no complaining here, just wanted to give a feedback and thank you !

PS : and just to notice, I modified the original bios to overclock the card, then made it os x compatible, and everything works great !
Logged

MacPro 2010 / 4*3.2GHz / 12GB / Gigabyte GTX 680 OC / 2*Intel 320 160GB + 3To & Dell U2711
iPad 3 Black Wifi 64GB && iPhone 4S Black 64GB
maznac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #17 on: January 03, 2011, 11:36:42 PM »

Jeanlain, yes, tried on Windows7 64bit via Bootcamp and it doesn't work. I just flashed it back to factory default and all ports work fine. I don't actually know anything about EFI-architecture, but isn't the EFI part responsible to adress the ports (DVI, HDMI, Mini DisplayPort)? My card: 2 DVI, DisplayPort, HDMI / original Apple 5770: One DVI, two Mini DisplayPorts?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 12:23:26 AM by maznac » Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2011, 01:39:43 AM »

The EFI is ignored on Windows. Can you post the original ROM and the one with the EFI?
Logged
maznac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #19 on: January 04, 2011, 01:50:33 AM »

Sure! Thank you very much for your help!

As you can see, the myrom.rom is the customized one. old.rom is my original bios.

* MYROM.ROM (128 KB - downloaded 402 times.)
* OLD.ROM (128 KB - downloaded 304 times.)
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #20 on: January 04, 2011, 11:10:50 AM »

The BIOS and MCUC sections are the same, so I can't think of a reason why the card should behave differently with the modified ROM in Windows.  Huh
Are you sure you flashed it with the correct myrom file?
Logged
GULLYMAN
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #21 on: January 04, 2011, 12:11:55 PM »

Success! Thanks to all involved!  Grin Grin Grin


* flashed.gif (36.94 KB, 750x522 - viewed 1279 times.)
Logged
Psychic2k
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« Reply #22 on: January 04, 2011, 12:29:35 PM »

Miamizorz, here are the files for my Sapphire Vapor-X OC, PN 288-1E140-100SA in a 2006 Macpro 2x2,6Ghz.
Hope it helps.
I've only 1 DVI port used so far, will test other when i can.

Edit : myrom.rom is the one with efi, VX5870PC being the original PC bios

* myrom.zip (88.43 KB - downloaded 456 times.)
* VX5870PC.zip (46.02 KB - downloaded 350 times.)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 12:50:51 PM by Psychic2k » Logged

Macpro 1,1 @2x2,66, Sapphire Vapor-X 5870 OC, OS X.6.5
maznac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #23 on: January 04, 2011, 12:42:23 PM »

The BIOS and MCUC sections are the same, so I can't think of a reason why the card should behave differently with the modified ROM in Windows.  Huh
Are you sure you flashed it with the correct myrom file?

The card does not behave differently in Windows. When I install the original ROM, everything works fine in Win - but because of the missing EFI-Part, not in OSX. I flashed the card with the ROM I posted...

When I connect a second display via HDMI the system recognizes this by giving me options in the display menu. But again - no screen.



* flashed.gif (7.5 KB, 292x348 - viewed 735 times.)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 12:53:55 PM by maznac » Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #24 on: January 04, 2011, 01:33:00 PM »

Just to be clear, the card flashed with myrom.rom works normally on Windows?
If it does, the problems with OS X are likely compatibility issues between the drivers (originally made for Apple's card) and the PC card you have.
Logged
maznac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #25 on: January 04, 2011, 01:41:59 PM »

No, the card ports only work, if flashed with OLD.rom (the original ROM) in Windows. If flashed with 02.rom or myrom.rom, the ports don't work in Windows nor OSX.

Update: I just tried a DVI to VGA adapter to my second screen and it works. But in a horrible resolution. Hm, seems to me, that there is a problem adressing digital outputs. Isn't this also a part of a BIOS/EFI?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 02:15:46 PM by maznac » Logged
miamizorz
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #26 on: January 04, 2011, 04:22:06 PM »

This method with the updated files worked perfectly! No boot screen of course, but otherwise the custom rom works fine. Thanks again.

My xbench/cinebench scores didn't change, and still seem kinda low... out of curiosity, can someone else with a 5770 post theirs?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2172



« Reply #27 on: January 05, 2011, 05:55:06 AM »

Thank you, Jeanlain.

I have found that many people get good results with m57702.rom so I have been rather lazy about writing newer ROMs.

Your guide is fairly solid, but I think you have missed the TRUE use of fixrom.py.

It does not just fix checksum. It also changes last rom indicator. Without it, a sewn EFI ROM is invisible.

The other big help it offers is to let you know if your finished product meets spec.

If it only sees ONE "oprom" (option rom) in finished product you have buggered it up and need to redo. (If it only sees one ROM you can bet next week's paycheck that your Mac will only see one too, and it NEEDS two ROMs to work)

I have some other thoughts I will add later.

If it sees 2 @ "oproms" there is a good likelihood that things are OK.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #28 on: January 05, 2011, 01:48:06 PM »

It does not just fix checksum. It also changes last rom indicator. Without it, a sewn EFI ROM is invisible.
Yes I had not specified the last oprom indicator byte in my first post. I have updated it before your posted your comment.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2011, 01:59:33 PM by jeanlain » Logged
fraeone
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #29 on: January 10, 2011, 10:28:46 AM »

Thanks for putting this guide together. Successfully flashed my card, hoping this resolves my weird fanspeed issues.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 35
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!