netkas.org forum
April 26, 2017, 08:33:10 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 8
  Print  
Author Topic: Flashing the GTX680 2GB  (Read 98941 times)
mysticalos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 579


« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2013, 06:25:36 AM »

the command prompt in windows didn't work. research i did said windows 7 64 won't allow nvflash to read the hardware. all commands in prompt simply return that no viable card could be found. maybe with an older version of windows like XP it would work, but that's not an option for me either :\.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/465021/how-to-use-nvflash-under-windows7-64-bit-/

That's only link that could give any explanation on why it didn't work in windows 7. if that's incorrect. please give me a different source of information. i spent numerous hours googling and could find no successful windows 7 method. just 100s of dos or older windows methods.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2013, 06:34:16 AM by mysticalos » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2013, 07:50:56 AM »

works fine in Win 8 64 bit

can't speak for 7 at this point
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
lewdvig
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2013, 02:42:55 PM »

Hi guys,

I am somewhat new to flashing VBIOS roms but I managed to flash the GTX 680 Mac Edition ROM on a my EVGA card last night. EVGA part number is 02G-P4-2684-KR. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130771)

I haven't done any stress testing but after flashing I now get an Apple logo at boot on my MacPro5,1. I did it late last night and cannot yet confirm its working PCIe 2.0 or just 1.0 (obv. 3.0 wont be supported), as I didn't check yet.

Either way, just letting you know of a succesful flash on that card. I really appreciate whoever dumped that ROM.

P.S. I used NVFlash on a PC to flash the ROM. I had to use arguments -5 -6 to ignore the PCI type and subsystem identifiers. Is that normally nessesary to flash another card's ROM? I guess in this case it worked. Obviously total noob question but I figure if I could get a question answered correctly anyhere it would definately be here.

I am curious about this part number. Were you ale to confirm that everything works in system profile and tests?
Logged
mysticalos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 579


« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2013, 07:42:22 AM »

made progress, my nvflash was out of date and a newer one seems to be working. I also too had to use -5 and -6 to get it to flash

i do have a boot screen now and it seemed to score same performance in my fps tests as it did pre flash so it's running same as it was pre flash (no indication link speed changed. should still be 2.0)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 08:55:27 AM by mysticalos » Logged
zmanfx
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2013, 09:37:10 PM »


I am curious about this part number. Were you ale to confirm that everything works in system profile and tests?


Yes, I can now confirm that this part number works very well with the Mac ROM. System Profiler shows correct values and everything. You should still however make a backup of your old ROM just in case.
Logged
NoNaMeUsEr
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2013, 05:35:20 PM »

Hi.
I fleshed EVGA GTX 680 (02G-P4-2680-KR), with rom file from http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=17132316&postcount=111 everything OK, but i got strange thing.
When i use DVI, like i said, everything OK.
When i use DP, i got boot-screen to, but it has HUGE icons, it mean boot-screen has wrong resolution(imho).
I have Mac Pro 3.1 with OS X 10.8.3,  EVGA GTX 680 (02G-P4-2680-KR) connected to Dell U2711.
Any advice?
Logged
etc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2013, 10:48:54 AM »

When i use DP, i got boot-screen to, but it has HUGE icons, it mean boot-screen has wrong resolution(imho).
I have Mac Pro 3.1 with OS X 10.8.3,  EVGA GTX 680 (02G-P4-2680-KR) connected to Dell U2711.
Any advice?
Just switch resolution in OS X twice, then back to native. Reboot after, the problem may gone.
Logged

4770K/Z97 Deluxe/GTX 1080 FE + GTX 690 Ref.
tactoad
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2013, 11:09:33 AM »

Received my OEM GTX680 2GB today. I suspect it´s from a Dell. Seems to be a reference card due to the nvidia markings on the PCB. I hope that the flash is large enough for the EFI. Fingers crossed!  Grin
Logged
NoNaMeUsEr
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2013, 12:41:30 PM »

When i use DP, i got boot-screen to, but it has HUGE icons, it mean boot-screen has wrong resolution(imho).
I have Mac Pro 3.1 with OS X 10.8.3,  EVGA GTX 680 (02G-P4-2680-KR) connected to Dell U2711.
Any advice?
Just switch resolution in OS X twice, then back to native. Reboot after, the problem may gone.
Hi.
Thanks for answer, etc.
You mean switch from native to any then back to native, and do that twice.
Is it correct?
I did it, doesn't help.
---
Maybe my explanation not so clear, but i mean literally boot-screen,  i attached photo to clarify.


* bootscreen.jpg (169.53 KB, 1980x1234 - viewed 399 times.)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 05:13:28 PM by NoNaMeUsEr » Logged
tactoad
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2013, 08:54:11 PM »

Just flashed my OEM card and it´s a success!  Grin

Pre flash:

  Chipset Model:   NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
  Type:   GPU
  Bus:   PCIe
  Slot:   Slot-2
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   2048 MB
  Vendor:   NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID:   0x1180
  Revision ID:   0x00a2
  ROM Revision:   preset 1.0.0


Post flash:

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680:

  Name:   pci10de,e0a
  Type:   NVDA,Parent
  Driver Installed:   No
  MSI:   No
  Bus:   PCI
  Slot:   Slot-1
  Vendor ID:   0x10de
  Device ID:   0x0e0a
  Subsystem Vendor ID:   0x3842
  Subsystem ID:   0x0969
  ROM Revision:   3731
  Revision ID:   0x00a1
  Link Width:   x16
  Link Speed:   5.0 GT/s

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680:

  Name:   NVDA,Display-D
  Type:   Display Controller
  Driver Installed:   Yes
  MSI:   Yes
  Bus:   PCI
  Slot:   Slot-1
  Vendor ID:   0x10de
  Device ID:   0x1180
  Subsystem Vendor ID:   0x3842
  Subsystem ID:   0x0010
  ROM Revision:   3731
  Revision ID:   0x00a2
  Link Width:   x16
  Link Speed:   5.0 GT/s



* photo (2).JPG (129.99 KB, 640x480 - viewed 529 times.)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 08:58:32 PM by tactoad » Logged
lewdvig
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 27


« Reply #25 on: April 22, 2013, 10:36:45 PM »


I am curious about this part number. Were you ale to confirm that everything works in system profile and tests?


Yes, I can now confirm that this part number works very well with the Mac ROM. System Profiler shows correct values and everything. You should still however make a backup of your old ROM just in case.

Thank you for bravely flashing that card and confirming success for us cowards!
Logged
boli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99



« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2013, 03:19:33 PM »

Does anyone know if this ASUS GTX680-2GD5 will work?

Originally I was planning to buy the Mac version to show my support to EVGA, but this price is just too tempting. It's little over half the price of the Mac version:
CHF 389 vs 699, which translates to $413 instead of $742 (tax included).

I already bid on this auction and will let you know if it works ASAP. If any of you already know I'd be grateful to get a heads up, just in case I have to think about bidding more in case someone else tries to get one. Smiley

If I get it and it doesn't work I'll just resell it, and likely get the Mac card after all (or maybe flash an EVGA PC Version). I did the same with a Radeon 5870 years ago (started with PC version but got Mac version eventually). That very same Radeon 5870 is getting a bit old though, and getting a 27" instead of 24" display didn't help one bit either. Wink I'm running a Mac Pro 2009 flashed to 2010 with a 6-core Xeon 3.46 GHz, 12 GiB of RAM and many SSDs and HDDs.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2013, 03:53:17 PM by boli » Logged
tactoad
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2013, 03:29:00 PM »

Looks like a reference design. It should work. In fact it looks exactly like mine minus the branding.
Logged
NoNaMeUsEr
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #28 on: April 24, 2013, 07:42:02 AM »


When i use DP, i got boot-screen to, but it has HUGE icons, it mean boot-screen has wrong resolution(imho).
I have Mac Pro 3.1 with OS X 10.8.3,  EVGA GTX 680 (02G-P4-2680-KR) connected to Dell U2711.
Any advice?

Maybe my explanation not so clear, but i mean literally boot-screen,  i attached photo to clarify.

I flashed card ones more, nothing changed.
DP - HUGE icons at boot-screen(wrong resolution), mice pointer can move only vertically.
DVI - right size icons(right resolution), mice pointer can move only vertically.
Any opinion, what could be a root cause?
Logged
etc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2013, 08:31:33 AM »

You mean switch from native to any then back to native, and do that twice.
Is it correct?
I mean go to Preferences > Displays -> Resolution -> select Scaled, set it to 1680x1050 or something less than native. Then set it back to native. Reboot. It works on EFI-ed 6970.
Logged

4770K/Z97 Deluxe/GTX 1080 FE + GTX 690 Ref.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!