netkas.org forum
December 05, 2020, 06:57:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 45 46 [47]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1077790 times)
matacao
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #690 on: February 11, 2020, 04:14:14 PM »

Thanks, I'll test with this correction.
Logged
HenrysCat
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #691 on: February 12, 2020, 05:57:54 PM »

Actually try the one attached, I made it from your original, make sure you have a backup first Wink

* macrom.rom (128 KB - downloaded 263 times.)
« Last Edit: February 12, 2020, 05:59:43 PM by HenrysCat » Logged
matacao
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #692 on: February 14, 2020, 01:57:47 PM »

Thanks a lot, I'll try when I've some free time!
Logged
ivr
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #693 on: May 12, 2020, 10:53:06 PM »

Sharing my successful experience with flashing Gigabyte R9 280X rev 2.0 to 7950. Even though it looks scary, it's really simple.

Steps I took:

- download the script from the page 1.
- dump the rom with ati win flash utility. I used a separate windows 10 machine
- put the card back to mac and copy the original rom the the folder with the script and run it.
- script creates fixed efi rom which I then flash on windows box (obviously I switch the card back again to windows 10 machine).
- after flashing is complete, I return the card to MacOS and voila... bootscreen.

A few notes:

- As R9 280X is 7970, while the rom is based on 7950, it will be slightly slower. My Geekbench OpenCL compute test went from 36019 to 34261. Not a big deal
- Rominator posted MAC7970.ROM on this forum but I wasn't sure how to use it so I didn't risk it.

I considered renaming it from MAC7970.ROM to MAC7970.efi and running it with the "--efifile=MAC7970.efi" part of the command from first page but I didn't want to brick my card. If anyone has some tips for using the 7970 that would be great.

Anyway, lots of pages to read so I wanted to summarize for new readers. All you need is page one scripts and instructions and ORIGINAL rom from your card. Don't risk using premade ones from other cards, it's not worth the risk. This is a lot easier to do than it looks

Cheers!
Logged
thoaitam
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #694 on: June 10, 2020, 04:59:53 PM »

Actually try the one attached, I made it from your original, make sure you have a backup first Wink
Hi, Could you please help me make the efi file to flash for my card. I attached original file. Thanks you so much.

* Asus hd7950 directcu III sw1 orig.rom (128 KB - downloaded 172 times.)
Logged
ruben_ruben
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #695 on: July 19, 2020, 01:11:03 PM »

Hi,
I flashed a XFX ATI 7970 with Atiflash. I used the script in the first thread to create the ROM. Creating the ROM and flashing worked flawlessly, but there are some minor issues. The system profiler shows the GPU as ATI 7950 instead of 7970. There in no HDMI output and no DVI output from the upper single DVI connector. So only the lower DVI and the two Displayport connectors work. There are not speed issues - the card runs with 5 GT/s in Slot 1 on a Mac Pro 4,1/5,1. Is there any way to get the missing two outputs working?
Logged
Lxixboss
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #696 on: October 29, 2020, 04:08:21 PM »

Talk about necro...

Anyway, I am running a 2009 Mac Pro 4.1 that has been flashed to 5.1... currently running Catalina 10.15.7... all is good.
Video card is a PCS HD 7870 and I cannot seem to generate the efi rom correctly. Here is what I am doing and perhaps someone can point out what I am doing wrong.

1- Latest JDK is installed
2- Downloaded netkas bundle, and placed all files from that bundle into the root level of the Mac's user account.
3- Ran GPUz from windows and got device id (679E)
4- Used ATI Winflash to save original ROM as cardname.rom in the same directory
5- Ran the script replacing the device ID with the 679E retrieved with GPUz.
6- Here is the script I ran and the output I got in Terminal:
./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=679E
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 679E
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x679E
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file
./makerom.sh: line 42: /Users/user/EfiCompress.macosx: Bad CPU type in executable
dd: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory
EFI part is ready at 679E.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.359645 secs (182224 bytes/sec)
rm: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x235, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x235, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x83)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at cardname.rom.efi.rom

So, the script seems to report three errors. The first one is:
./makerom.sh: line 42: /Users/user/EfiCompress.macosx: Bad CPU type in executable

The second one (in the very next line) is:
dd: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory

The third error, a few lines later, seems to be an echo of the second:
rm: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory

I also note that the sizes of both ROMs seem to be the same.

When I reflash the card in Windows with ATI Winflash, it still works but there is no boot screen.

While I am by no means adept in coding, I do have eyes. When I open both the original ROM and the post-script ROM side by side in a text editor, it seems that both ROMs are the same except for the very end where what seems to have been a bunch of placeholders in the original ROM has been replaced by a header of some sort containing copyright information and not much else. (If someone wants me too, I can post the different section of the ROM).

I am, however, expecting one of the gurus on this site to quite easily spot a dumb mistake that I have made and quite simply point me in the right direction. Keeping my fingers crossed up here in Canada.
Logged
Bunga-Bunga
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« Reply #697 on: November 10, 2020, 01:23:55 PM »

Please attach all your rom-files. I'll have a look.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 45 46 [47]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!