netkas.org forum
May 23, 2019, 04:53:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 43 44 [45]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 789204 times)
R2K
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #660 on: April 01, 2019, 04:52:36 PM »

Hi guys, I was able to successfully flash an MSI R9 270x Gaming 2GB with the instructions in this topic, combined with a different patched efi.
Before flashing, the card was working fine in a 2009 Mac Pro (4,1 flashed to 5,1), with MacOS 10.14.4 and Mac firmware 141.0.0.0.0. As I understood, this firmware als enables 5.0 GT/s mode, so no R17 hack needed.
Card was detected as AMD Radeon HD 7xxx. Both DVI outputs working, unable to test HDMI and Displayport because I don’t have matching monitors or adapters.
I needed boot screens because I want to enable Filevault on my boot drive.

Started with the instructions and files from the first post in this topic. I flashed one of the roms (this card has dual roms, one legacy and one hybrid (legacy+UEFI)).
Boot the system, and yes! Boot screen on the bottom DVI. Was a happy puppy for about 15 seconds, because when the system (10.14.4) loaded the driver at login screen, all went black. Tried both DVI outputs, both black. Reverted the rom, and patched&flashed the other rom on the card. No difference.
I could access the system through screen sharing though, system profiler showed the card correctly as a 7950, so why was it not working?
Read some more, and I understood that this could be a framebuffer/port layout issue (maybe in combination with Metal/Mojave?)
So..I got either a card with boot screen but not working in the OS, or one without boot screen but working in the OS with the default RadeonFramebuffer.

Then I found this post in the Radeon Port mapping topic.
Here Fl0r!an posted an efi file with a purposely broken framebuffer. Theoretically, if I understand well, this causes the OS to not recognize the framebuffer set by the efi, and instead use the default RadeonFramebuffer.
I used the commands from the first post to patch my rom, but using Florian's RFB.efi instead of 7950mac.efi.
Flashed the rom, and it’s working! Boot screen on the bottom DVI (not on the top DVI, and HDMI and DisplayPort untested). When booted into the OS, both DVI ports are working. Again, HDMI and DisplayPort untested.

So I’m very happy, but still a question:
- The card now shows up as AMD Radeon HD 7xxx (Type DisplayController, with driver loaded) and AMD Radeon 7970 (Type ATY,HamachoParent, with no driver loaded). Where I think 'Hamacho' is where Florian changed 'Hamachi' to ‘disable’ the framebuffer.
Is there any disadvantage of it showing up also as a 7970? Probably because the RFB.efi was based an a 7970, but since (I think) it’s not used when the system is booted, it’s no problem? Everything seems to be working ok. Or could there be an advantage by patching 7950mac.efi the same way Florian did, and using that?

Rom and screenshots attached.

* r9270x_efi.rom.zip (87.8 KB - downloaded 37 times.)

* Screenshot1.png (121.67 KB, 793x548 - viewed 102 times.)

* Screenshot2.png (135.98 KB, 793x548 - viewed 94 times.)

* Screenshot3.png (127.43 KB, 793x548 - viewed 88 times.)

* Screenshot4.png (126.36 KB, 793x548 - viewed 82 times.)
« Last Edit: April 02, 2019, 07:54:15 AM by R2K » Logged
128keaton
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #661 on: April 22, 2019, 07:14:47 PM »

Hello. I tried making a 7870 ROM with the EFI section, but I was unable to get it 100% working.

I have an MSI 7870 and MP5,1 running Mojave.

Here is how I flashed:

1. Booted the 7870 in a PC motherboard.
2. Booted into FreeDOS.
3. Grabbed the ROM with atiflash in FreeDOS.
4. Transferred it back to my MacBook Pro.
5. Patched it like the directions state on the first page.
6. Transferred it back to the machine running FreeDOS.
7. Flashed the new ROM.
8. Attempted boot in the MP5,1.

I noticed that before and after patching, I did not see a difference in device ID or size, but I'd get boot screens, a black screen, and thats it. The Mac Pro was accessible from screensharing, and reported an "unknown display". I'm just driving a single 30" Cinema display over DVI at 2560x1600.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Attached is screenshots of System Profiler.


* Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 1.14.07 PM.png (38.66 KB, 444x353 - viewed 64 times.)

* Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 1.13.57 PM.png (21.55 KB, 279x168 - viewed 60 times.)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2019, 07:20:52 PM by 128keaton » Logged
LightBulbFun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #662 on: April 25, 2019, 05:43:06 PM »

sadly when you flash an AMD Radeon 78xx/Pitcairn GPU it only works up to High sierra

Mojave sadly broke things

most likely because the ROM creation tool uses the Framebuffer personality meant for the Radeon HD 7950.
Logged
HAL2001
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #663 on: May 03, 2019, 03:27:02 PM »

Is a flashed 7950 able te drive a 4K monitor? If so, with which connector? My HDMI connector doesn’t work but all other connectors do. I’ve googled but I can’t find it.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


« Reply #664 on: May 04, 2019, 07:24:08 PM »

Yes, via DisplayPort without boot screen on 4K displays, but 4K@60Hz would work.
Logged
HAL2001
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #665 on: May 04, 2019, 08:41:28 PM »

Thanks. I tried the mini displayports once on a 30 inch cinema display. It gave me only 1280 x 800. On a full-HD monitor they gave me 1920 x 1200 though
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


« Reply #666 on: May 05, 2019, 03:20:58 PM »

You must use an active miniDisplayPort to DVI dual link adapter or you will get half of the resolution.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 43 44 [45]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!