netkas.org forum
September 25, 2017, 02:22:11 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 381237 times)
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #630 on: July 13, 2017, 07:06:43 PM »

Success !  My R9 270X 2gb  is now EFI booting but thanks to Netkas & whomever created the upgraded "Bundle2" ( searched but now can't find him ).

Working :

1. Displays "R9 270X" in Sys Info. ( Edited the rom with Hex Fiend changed incidences of "7950" to "R9 270X" )

2. Bootscreen in bottom DVI to DVI.

3. Bootscreen if using one monitor Displayport to HDMI adaptor to monitor HDMI input.

4. With two monitors connected the DVI - DVI is first to show bootscreen then the DP to HDMI adaptor kicks in.
    I have yet to try with a dedicated Display port to HDMI cable. I'll buy one soon.

5. Oceanwave full screen AA shows 62 fps  - enough for my needs

Not working.

5. Upper DVI

6. HDMI to HDMI ( worked OOTHB before being flashed )

==================

This R9 270X is made by a Japanese company that is always cheaper than the big players. I got it for about US$60 ( I live in Japan ).
This is the website for my card http://www.kuroutoshikou.com/product/graphics_bord/amd/rd-r9-270x-e2gb_oc/

EDIT 1 : Next project will be to find the R17 resistor!

EDIT 2: On the back of the card I found a WHITE TEXT  list showing R16 & R 17 in an outlined box with an upper case "A" listed perhaps as a resistor group location map ( no idea yet )  but after checking both sides ( with fan removed ) still can't find R 17. I have no idea what the WHITE TEXT signifies .. I'll Google for info but any advice very welcome.



* Oceanwave AA full screen 61.5 fps.jpg (199.26 KB, 826x656 - viewed 81 times.)

* 01 PCI report Flashed with correct name.jpg (98.87 KB, 723x574 - viewed 53 times.)

* 02 Craphics-displays report Flashed with correct name.jpg (171.02 KB, 726x657 - viewed 50 times.)

* 02 PCI report Flashed with correct name.jpg (106.22 KB, 727x576 - viewed 55 times.)

* Displayport to HDMI adaptor SML.JPG (92.89 KB, 1024x355 - viewed 53 times.)

* R9 270X About this Mac.jpg (86.11 KB, 582x334 - viewed 64 times.)

* White print 01.jpg (71.96 KB, 250x319 - viewed 65 times.)
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 04:34:19 PM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
nekton1
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


« Reply #631 on: July 14, 2017, 12:06:14 AM »

Please post the rom you made.

vinnie1978

Thanks so much for your reply . . .  I actually knuckled down and boned up on Terminal commands and using "Bundle2" ( upgraded "bundle" ) targeting the " efiromheader_7950.rom " and working in Terminal in 10.6.8 ( my favourite OS X personality ) .. succeeded !

I flashed in a dedicated Win7 HDD on my cMP ( I don't like Bootcamp ) using AtiWinFlash.

I used Hex Fiend to edit the two incidences of " 7950 " to " R9 270X ".

 I have the R9 280X booting efi with the correct name in Sys Info  and running two monitors; One from DVI - DVI ( lost the top DVI port ) and another monitor using a Displayport to HDMI adaptor.

I'll post some pics in this thread in about 30 minutes.

I got this card here in Japan for ¥6,900  .. roughly US$60.

The card is reference but no bios switch like the MSI version. It comes overclocked to a base 1030Mhz  - to 1080Mhz in boost mode. Here is the card http://www.kuroutoshikou.com/product/graphics_bord/amd/rd-r9-270x-e2gb_oc/


( I also have this company's 2 port USB 3.1 PCIe card with Asmedia 1142  running in my cMP 4,1 flashed to 5,1. I got it for ¥1,400 !  It works brilliantly beside a 4 port Inateck FL1100.
Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #632 on: July 14, 2017, 01:16:08 AM »

nekton 1

What's your Mac Pro setup ? ( you should fill out your profile in your forum settings. )

EDIT : Have you tried using Netkas's script ? ( no pain, no gain ).
« Last Edit: July 14, 2017, 02:01:14 AM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #633 on: July 14, 2017, 05:36:50 AM »

I just discovered that my R9 270X is showing bootscreen on the Display port to HDMI adaptor !  I expected that DVI to DVI would be the bootscreen. Live & learn. I bought the DP to HDMI adaptor two years ago on a whim .. I'm glad I kept it now.
EDIT : DP - DP to HDMI adaptor - HDMI Bootscreen OK if only ONE monitor  connected.
                    Same with DVI - DVI ifonly one monitor connected.


Also checked it in Sierra 10.12.5 for Metal support and it's OK


* 03 Sierra.jpg (91.59 KB, 516x441 - viewed 59 times.)

* 01 Sierra.jpg (102.38 KB, 580x351 - viewed 59 times.)
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 04:48:05 PM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
nekton1
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


« Reply #634 on: July 15, 2017, 07:08:20 AM »


Same as you.

Kurotoshiko RD-R9-270X-E2GB/OC GPU (I live in Toyo), cMP 5.1, 32 GB RAM, macOS 10.13


nekton 1

What's your Mac Pro setup ? ( you should fill out your profile in your forum settings. )

EDIT : Have you tried using Netkas's script ? ( no pain, no gain ).
Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #635 on: July 15, 2017, 02:33:56 PM »

Nekton

I'm in Kyoto, 37°C in my garden today !  

I'm jealous that you're closer to Akihabara than me. The best option I have for bargain hunting is "Den Den Town " in Osaka but even that's over an hour away by express.

Have you got your R9 270X showing bootscreens ?

If so, on what ports ? Using any adaptors ?
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 04:48:37 PM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
DavNeil
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #636 on: July 20, 2017, 07:03:46 AM »

Nekton

I'm in Kyoto, 37°C in my garden today !  

I'm jealous that you're closer to Akihabara than me. The best option I have for bargain hunting is "Den Den Town " in Osaka but even that's over an hour away by express.

Have you got your R9 270X showing bootscreens ?

If so, on what ports ? Using any adaptors ?


I just had weird thought, can I buy the card from US. R9 280X? Is there a english translation button? Thanks.
Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #637 on: July 20, 2017, 12:00:04 PM »

Why do you need a translation ?  A card is a card. You could download an English manual from a 'worldwide" retailer ( Sapphire, Gigabyte etc.  just plug it in.

I can't remember needing to refer to any manuals in my long time in Japan ( though I do keep them in case I re-sell a card ).
Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #638 on: July 30, 2017, 05:54:03 PM »

I live in Japan, a bit north of Osaka. Everyone knows Akihabara but not so many know "Den Den Town" in Osaka.

I made the trip down to Den Den town today in sweltering heat & humiidy and found probably the only HD 7950 available.

It was a HIS HD 7950 in mint condition  Got it for ¥8,800 before sales tax 8%.

This HIS has a single fan and  2 X 6 pin power ( Great !  ) it appears so far to be reference but I think the PCB has a quite different layout to the AMD fererence release - I'll confirm this later.

Booted into Win 7  / 32bit on a dedicated HDD ( don't like Bootcamp ) with the HIS in slot one on my cMP 4,1 flashed to 5,1  with an EFI flashed XFX 5770 in slot 4.

Looked at bios's in both 1 & 2 bios switch positions and knew that they are identical. Decided that position 2's  bios would be flashed.

OOTB the folllowing showed video ( after bootup ) in Mavericks 10.9.5

1.  DVI -DVI

2.  HDMI - HDMI

3.  mDP - adaptor - DVI.

That bios switch is a wonderful thing to have on a GPU if one is not often booting from other HDD installations.

========================================

Flashed the HIS and get efI boot on . . . .  

1.  DVI - DVI

2.  mDP - adaptor - DVI

With two monitors connected the efi boot happened on the mDP - adaptor - DVI connection. That surprised me.

The HIS fans really rev up until just after booting to Mavericks but then basically . .inaudible . .nice !

===============================================

This is the 6th. Radeon card that I have flashed. I've come a long way with so much good advice and encouragement from many people here. You all know who you are. Please accept my heartfelt gratitude for making me more self sufficient and just a little more confident &  proficient.

Mike.

PS : Does anyone else have this particular HIS 7950 ? If so . . is there an R17 resistor ? ( I'm too tired to look at the moment ).


* HIS 7950 Apple System report 02.jpg (91.96 KB, 467x382 - viewed 52 times.)

* GPUx_2.2.0.JPG (87.74 KB, 532x611 - viewed 44 times.)

* HIS 7950 Apple System report.jpg (139.38 KB, 382x337 - viewed 50 times.)

* HIS_HD7870_IceQ_Turbo_2GB_REAR.jpg (26.82 KB, 600x283 - viewed 47 times.)

* HIS_HD7950_IceQ_Turbo_3GB_Top_View.jpg (30.38 KB, 600x309 - viewed 51 times.)
« Last Edit: July 30, 2017, 05:57:25 PM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #639 on: July 31, 2017, 10:46:01 AM »

After a great deal of Googling ... I plucked up the courage and successful did the R17 resistor hack to my
recently acquired HIS HD 7950.

I definitely learned a lot from this exercise and I will post a detailed guide for this card ONLY either tonight or tomorrow.

It is not hard but it is painstaking.  " Measure three times  .. cut once " an adage that will serve you well.

The R17 resistor on my HIS 7950 is looks exactly like a speck of dust.

The most positive thing I learned is that there are two decidedly different AMD PCB R17 resistor layouts - I almost removed the wrong resistor.

More on that in my next post. Over time I'll try to find exactly what the real benefits of doing this mod are 5.0 GT/s.
After all. . if Apple ships with 5.0 GT/s they must have a good reason.


* 01 System Info HIS HD 5970.jpg (118.73 KB, 585x334 - viewed 49 times.)

* 02 HIS HD 5970 5GT-S.jpg (210.38 KB, 868x361 - viewed 54 times.)

* 03 OceanWave.jpg (204.32 KB, 832x657 - viewed 52 times.)

* 04 Xbench 1.3 HIS HD 7950 Open CL test at 5GT-S.jpg (112.22 KB, 496x361 - viewed 53 times.)

* HIS HD 7950 PCI 2.0 speed.JPG (108.75 KB, 952x609 - viewed 53 times.)
« Last Edit: July 31, 2017, 11:16:09 AM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
h9826790
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #640 on: July 31, 2017, 11:52:01 AM »

I had this card, the only difference is that they rename the card to R9 280. But exactly the same thing anyway. This is a very nice card. One of the best 7950. Super quiet, very good cooling, especially good for cMP because using the blower design, and dual 6pin. In fact, for stock clock speed, you can easily downvolt it to 0.956V or even lower. But generally 0.956V is better than lower. Because that's the high demand 2D voltage. If set anything lower than that. Afterburner (in Windows) will unable to adjust the card's voltage. However, in Mac OS, my test shows the card can run stabily as low as 0.888V. Which make the card draw much less power, and stay cool.

I live in Japan, a bit north of Osaka. Everyone knows Akihabara but not so many know "Den Den Town" in Osaka.

I made the trip down to Den Den town today in sweltering heat & humiidy and found probably the only HD 7950 available.

It was a HIS HD 7950 in mint condition  Got it for ¥8,800 before sales tax 8%.

This HIS has a single fan and  2 X 6 pin power ( Great !  ) it appears so far to be reference but I think the PCB has a quite different layout to the AMD fererence release - I'll confirm this later.

Booted into Win 7  / 32bit on a dedicated HDD ( don't like Bootcamp ) with the HIS in slot one on my cMP 4,1 flashed to 5,1  with an EFI flashed XFX 5770 in slot 4.

Looked at bios's in both 1 & 2 bios switch positions and knew that they are identical. Decided that position 2's  bios would be flashed.

OOTB the folllowing showed video ( after bootup ) in Mavericks 10.9.5

1.  DVI -DVI

2.  HDMI - HDMI

3.  mDP - adaptor - DVI.

That bios switch is a wonderful thing to have on a GPU if one is not often booting from other HDD installations.

========================================

Flashed the HIS and get efI boot on . . . .  

1.  DVI - DVI

2.  mDP - adaptor - DVI

With two monitors connected the efi boot happened on the mDP - adaptor - DVI connection. That surprised me.

The HIS fans really rev up until just after booting to Mavericks but then basically . .inaudible . .nice !

===============================================

This is the 6th. Radeon card that I have flashed. I've come a long way with so much good advice and encouragement from many people here. You all know who you are. Please accept my heartfelt gratitude for making me more self sufficient and just a little more confident &  proficient.

Mike.

PS : Does anyone else have this particular HIS 7950 ? If so . . is there an R17 resistor ? ( I'm too tired to look at the moment ).

Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #641 on: July 31, 2017, 02:55:42 PM »

Tonight I ran X-Plane 10 around YSSY ( Sydney ) on the HD 7950. Definitely got higher framerates with everythng turned up and there were none of the usual pauses as different parts of the scenery loaded. My SSD drive helps too.
Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



« Reply #642 on: August 02, 2017, 04:02:42 AM »

I put up a ( HIS ) HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s mod tutorial

If there are only two revisions of the 7950 PCB's then this guide should probably be OK for all AMD reference 7950 3Gb cards.

HERE   https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/how-to-make-link-speed-2-5gt-s-to-5-0gt-s-on-ati-card-and-nvidia-card.1547340/page-8#post-24856990

Now I have to bone up on whether flashed 7950's need to have Open CL activated.

GPUz does not show OpenCL as being activated. Anyone have any information re this ?

kext edit ?

« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 04:21:57 AM by SMIKX » Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
h9826790
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #643 on: August 12, 2017, 08:36:33 PM »

Just run Luxmark then you will know if OpenCL is working or not.

I put up a ( HIS ) HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s mod tutorial

If there are only two revisions of the 7950 PCB's then this guide should probably be OK for all AMD reference 7950 3Gb cards.

HERE   https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/how-to-make-link-speed-2-5gt-s-to-5-0gt-s-on-ati-card-and-nvidia-card.1547340/page-8#post-24856990

Now I have to bone up on whether flashed 7950's need to have Open CL activated.

GPUz does not show OpenCL as being activated. Anyone have any information re this ?

kext edit ?


Logged
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!