netkas.org forum
June 24, 2017, 09:43:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 40 41 [42]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 332575 times)
cornflakes1023
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #615 on: February 22, 2017, 09:59:51 AM »

Yes, I will update as soon as I have tried. I am waiting for another 6 pin power cable to arrive before I can give it a go.
Logged
cornflakes1023
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #616 on: March 09, 2017, 05:15:44 PM »

Finally got the second power cable. This one is a go. Still no go on the 5870 rom that was based on my original rom however. Thanks for the effort on both!
Logged
vinnie1978
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #617 on: March 30, 2017, 06:00:39 PM »

Guys i need some help. A friend of mine bought a xfx7970 ghost.

I tried to make a macrom for the card and flashed it. The card boots as a unflashed videocard, no bootscreen.

A few questions :

- is it possible to the flash the above named videocard and is my mac rom ok?
- i

* xfx.7970PC.rom (128 KB - downloaded 32 times.)

* xfx7970 ghost.jpg (7.2 KB, 300x168 - viewed 64 times.)

* images.jpeg (4.23 KB, 259x194 - viewed 75 times.)
* xfx7970.efi.rom.rom (128 KB - downloaded 42 times.)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 02:37:10 PM by vinnie1978 » Logged
user_jgora
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #618 on: April 06, 2017, 08:35:14 AM »

I updated Asus card HD7950-DC2T-3GD5, almost everything works OK, but:

1. HDMI does not work.
2. When the two monitors are connected, the fans are running at max.

Anyone have an idea? I attach the firmware




* a7950m.rom (128 KB - downloaded 41 times.)
Logged
vinnie1978
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #619 on: May 23, 2017, 11:12:15 PM »

User_jgora, about point 1.


If r17 resistor area has them in neat rows, you'll have working HDMI.

If they look like stairs steps, then no HDMI.

The only guaranteed SURE THING are the original reference fan cards. Later cards with ref ports vary based on those resistors.
Logged
lundman
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #620 on: June 05, 2017, 10:46:02 PM »


I have an ASUS HD 7950 3g card, which I read the ROM off, and used the patcher without issue (well, eventually, java fix etc). Then flashed back (position 1).  But booting just hangs, I have to flip it back to 2 to boot again.


* cardname.rom (128 KB - downloaded 8 times.)
* cardname.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 7 times.)
Logged
vinnie1978
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #621 on: June 08, 2017, 05:48:12 PM »

Lundman, i remade the efi.rom from your original posted rom, and i got the same results as posted in your efi file.
I searched for the rom version  in your posted files, and looked them up manually on the internet.

If i'm not mistaking you have the following gpu:Asus HD 7950 3 GB (HD7950-DC2T-3GD5).

The rom from this card, is totally different, from your posted rom.
The rom version i found in your posted rom was:015.017.000.001.000000

« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 10:01:02 PM by vinnie1978 » Logged
lundman
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #622 on: June 09, 2017, 10:05:23 AM »

Hey there!

As the guide suggested, I did take a backup of the rom file right away, and made several copies. I have attached the original backup, which tests the same as cardname.rom...

It shows in ATIWinFlash as P/N 113-AD38900-103 - 679A.15.17.0.1.AS02 - but written on the hardware is HD7950-DC2T-3GD5-V2.

Only difference in ATIWinflash is the patched rom file size. Current VBIOS has 0x10000 and patch rom (New VBIOS) 0x20000.

* 679a.rom (128 KB - downloaded 4 times.)
Logged
vinnie1978
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #623 on: June 09, 2017, 02:19:36 PM »

I made the rom a second time, i got the same results you've already posted.
Just to be sure, is the rom you flashed to the videocard ,exactly the same as the flashed file.

What i mean to say is, are you sure that nothing did go wrong while flashing.

Normally i flash from freedos, not from windows.
Logged
lundman
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #624 on: June 12, 2017, 07:48:23 AM »

Certainly appears to flash ok. I have the output of a (re)flash today, the existing details will not match, as in desperation I tried someone else ROM to see if it made any difference. Then after flashing, I read the ROM back in again, to diff against cardname.rom.efi.rom. I'm surprised to find they differ.
Code:
C:\Users\lundm\Downloads\atiflash_274>AtiFlash.exe -f -p 0 cardname.rom.efi.rom
New SSID: 0428
New DeviceID: 679A
New Product Name: 679A.15.17.0.1.AS02
New BIOS Version: 015.017.000.001.000000
Flash type: M25P10/c
20000/20000h bytes programmed
20000/20000h bytes verified

Restart System To Complete VBIOS Update.

But, if I program the original ROM to position 1, I can successfully boot on position 1 (a first since I started flashing)


* after.rom (128 KB - downloaded 3 times.)
« Last Edit: June 14, 2017, 09:27:57 AM by lundman » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2123



« Reply #625 on: June 14, 2017, 08:12:43 AM »

confusing post, cut out the nonsense
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 ... 40 41 [42]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!