netkas.org forum
June 27, 2022, 06:04:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1294309 times)
Dogman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #390 on: March 30, 2015, 05:50:48 PM »

Hey Guys!

I've got a MSI R9 280x 6GB Gaming{1} and would like to flash it. I tried to read as much as I can, but would like to ask before starting.
The things I need are the ATIflash{2} and the FreeDOS{3} to backup the ROM of my GPU. Jeanlain wrote a tutorial how to backup{4}:
1. Back up the card's BIOS:
1a. Create a DOS volume with disk utility (it can be added to an existing partition), put the latest version of ATIflash (techpowerup.com) in the volume.
1b. Burn a FreeDOS boot CD. Download the iso (fdbasecd.iso) and burn the image with disk utility.
1c.  Save the BIOS. Shut down and insert your PC card, remove all other radeon cards (for safety). Boot the Mac on the CD (hold C key).
No need to install DOS (enter 1 at the first prompt, then 2 at the 2nd prompt). Just navigate to your ATIFlash folder (no time to explain DOS commands here).
To save your BIOS on the DOS volume, type
Code:
atiflash -s 0 myrom.rom 20000
The dir command should indicate that this rom is 128KB (131 072 B).

2. Boot on OS X (need a working card or another Mac). Place a copy of your saved rom and the files attached in this post at the root of your home directory. Keep the original myrom saved somewhere.
Afterwards I download the bundle.tar.bz2{5} from Netkas{6}, uncompress it and run the following command to modify my rom:
Code:
./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=my280x.rom --devid=6798

Afterwards I flash my GPU using the newly created my280x.rom.efi.rom

Do I have to remove the resistor R17 to increase the PCIe link speed from 2,5 to 5GT/s.

Is this all I have to do?
Is there any reason not to flash my GPU? Will the speed be the same as before? Will all 6gb of memory be still used?

Thanks a lot for your help!

{1} http://www.msi.com/product/vga/R9-280X-GAMING-6G.html
{2} http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2306/atiflash-4-17/
{3} http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stuff/freedos/files/distributions/1.0/fdbasecd.iso
{4} http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,692.0.html
{5} https://cloud.mail.ru/public/8c978735fc99/bundle.tar.bz2
{6} http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5619.0.html
« Last Edit: March 30, 2015, 05:54:53 PM by Dogman » Logged
scyth3
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #391 on: April 04, 2015, 01:25:26 AM »

I have a few cards that I need help making ROMs for. Anyone out there interested in helping me out. I will compensate for your time. Thanks
Logged
Dogman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #392 on: April 06, 2015, 10:10:51 PM »

Hey guys!

Is there anybody with some experience in flashing GPUs and might have a look on my post above? I would really appreciate! Kiss

Thank you!
Dogman
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #393 on: April 07, 2015, 07:05:42 AM »

There is a thread about 6GB ones here and on a MR forum.
Long story short: use it unflashed or look for another card.
Logged
Dogman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #394 on: April 08, 2015, 11:05:46 AM »

There is a thread about 6GB ones here and on a MR forum.
Long story short: use it unflashed or look for another card.
Hey Blacksheep!

Thank you for your answer!
Besides the card, is the way I described the right one? Did I miss anything?

Cheers,
Dogman
Logged
weaselchops
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #395 on: May 15, 2015, 01:51:03 PM »

Hi guys.

Trying to convert an MSI R9 280...but seem to get an error a lot of people are seeing the fixrom.py....but nobody seems to have answered it??:
Code:
./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=r9280.ROM --devid=679a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 679a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x679a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.066843 secs (711984 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 679a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.095862 secs (683650 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)
[b]Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "fixrom.py", line 110, in <module>
    op_rom.fix()
  File "fixrom.py", line 90, in fix
    self.data[-1] = chr(0x100 - sum)
ValueError: chr() arg not in range(256)[/b]
the rom is ready at r9280.ROM.efi.rom

Code:
$ python -V
Python 2.7.5
$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-466.1-11M4716)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-466.1, mixed mode)

Code:
AMD Radeon HD 7xxx:

  Chipset Model: AMD Radeon HD 7xxx
  Type: GPU
  Bus: PCIe
  Slot: Slot-1
  PCIe Lane Width: x16
  VRAM (Total): 3072 MB
  Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
  Device ID: 0x679a
  Revision ID: 0x0000




This card is mostly a 7950?
Is a python version issue? Or just a no go?

Cheers
Logged
lewdvig
Guest
« Reply #396 on: May 16, 2015, 01:58:31 AM »

Just did this to another 7950 and it worked great. Thanks again!
Logged
mew_bg
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #397 on: June 23, 2015, 07:43:18 PM »

Hello guys,

I read the thread but couldn't find an answer - has someone tried an Eyefinity version? I mean does it have something special or is just a normal 7970 with extra outputS?

I have a ASUS HD7970 DirectCU II which has 6 Outputs - I currently use it in my 2006 pro (reflashed to 2.1) driving 5 monitos, but would like to have the bootscreen for switching between OS. I currently have a 7300GT inside just for that, but I think it's messing my performance (unless I find a way to disable it after the OS boots.)

Thank you in advance.
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #398 on: June 23, 2015, 09:35:42 PM »

Make a ROM dump and upload it to the "Radeon Port mapping" thread in the Roms section, I'll see if the EFI mapping has to be modified and if there's a compatible framebuffer.
Logged
madmarc
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #399 on: July 21, 2015, 11:09:22 PM »

I'am to stupid.

omheader.rom --originalrom=7950.rom --devid=697a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 697a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x697a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file
./makerom.sh: line 42: /Volumes/externe: No such file or directory
dd: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory

EFI part is ready at 697a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.105775 secs (619579 bytes/sec)
rm: 7950mac.efi.comp: No such file or directory
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x225, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x225, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0xa5)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at 7950.rom.efi.rom
Markuss-MacPro:bundle madmarc$

Get everytime this message, no boot screen with the created rom.

I attached the original rom.

Thanks a lot for help.
 

* 7950.rom (128 KB - downloaded 748 times.)
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #400 on: July 22, 2015, 08:02:19 AM »

I think you have a space in the path to your folder which the script doesn't like. Try moving your working directory e.g. to the desktop.
Logged
madmarc
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #401 on: July 22, 2015, 09:33:07 AM »

Yes now script works. But still no boot screen.

I included the modified file. Stock file above.

* MAC7950-1.rom (128 KB - downloaded 695 times.)
Logged
Flashndash
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #402 on: July 31, 2015, 03:33:08 AM »

 I'm having some trouble using the script to create a rom for my Gigabyte 7950 (GV-R795WF3-3GD). I have tried using it to mod 2 different Bios (FX1 & F43) and keep getting the SyntaxError. FX1 and F43 are both UEFI and already 128K in size though, maybe it's causing my problem? I have not yet tried F2 and F21 BIOS. 

I have tried both python 2.7.10 and 3.5.0b4 and think I have all the Java updates. Have no idea what I'm doing, hoping it's just a stupid simple mistake. Any suggestions?

 Flashing the card is no problem, it's just getting the mac efi installed that's giving me trouble.


C:\GPU\bundle>python ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.r
om --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=679a
  File "./makerom.sh", line 6
    for i in $*
             ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

C:\GPU\bundle>
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #403 on: July 31, 2015, 08:58:25 PM »

You guys are trying to reinvent the wheel by whittling a tree into toothpicks then gluing them back together while juggling a chainsaw.

If you have this much trouble, get over your fear of code and open the roms up in a hex editor. 7950/ R9 280 is literally the simplest rom EVER to create for Mac. ESPECIALLY if you start with UEFI version.

Select everything starting with 55 AA at 65536 to 131072. It will be 65536 with EFI followed by blank space. You will see the word "Hamachi" in the ASCII side in top 1K. COPY

Open your PC rom in another window.

Select EVERYTHING starting at 65536. Depending on various factors this may be 65536 worth of code or possibly 3x 65536. Just select it all and PASTE the 65536 of EFI over it.

The resulting file will be 131072 long if you did it right.

Save.

Flash.

If you started with UEFI version, that is literally all there is to it. Reading all these insane gymnastics you are going through is giving me a headache.

The way to know if it is a UEFI version is if there is code at 65536, if you look in ASCII section the PC UEFI will have "AMD" and "GOP" in leading 1K.

If there is NOTHING after 65536, it is a PC Bios only and you need fixrom.py to remove the "80" from last rom indicator spot (near word PCIR in leading 2K of BIOS)

Once the "80" becomes "00" the checksum has to be fixed to account for that change. That is all that fixrom does.

But if you start with a UEFI for a card with same device id, then last rom indicator is already correct and so are checksum. For those it is literally just copy 2nd half and paste over the UEFI AND SAVE. It couldn't be any simpler.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Flashndash
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #404 on: July 31, 2015, 11:19:42 PM »

You guys are trying to reinvent the wheel by whittling a tree into toothpicks then gluing them back together while juggling a chainsaw.

If you have this much trouble, get over your fear of code and open the roms up in a hex editor. 7950/ R9 280 is literally the simplest rom EVER to create for Mac. ESPECIALLY if you start with UEFI version.

Select everything starting with 55 AA at 65536 to 131072. It will be 65536 with EFI followed by blank space. You will see the word "Hamachi" in the ASCII side in top 1K. COPY

Open your PC rom in another window.

Select EVERYTHING starting at 65536. Depending on various factors this may be 65536 worth of code or possibly 3x 65536. Just select it all and PASTE the 65536 of EFI over it.

The resulting file will be 131072 long if you did it right.

Save.

Flash.

If you started with UEFI version, that is literally all there is to it. Reading all these insane gymnastics you are going through is giving me a headache.

The way to know if it is a UEFI version is if there is code at 65536, if you look in ASCII section the PC UEFI will have "AMD" and "GOP" in leading 1K.

If there is NOTHING after 65536, it is a PC Bios only and you need fixrom.py to remove the "80" from last rom indicator spot (near word PCIR in leading 2K of BIOS)

Once the "80" becomes "00" the checksum has to be fixed to account for that change. That is all that fixrom does.

But if you start with a UEFI for a card with same device id, then last rom indicator is already correct and so are checksum. For those it is literally just copy 2nd half and paste over the UEFI AND SAVE. It couldn't be any simpler.

Thank you for that. Much easier, making some progress now.

Modded file is coming up short @ 125439, using the 7950mac.efi  Huh from https://cloud.mail.ru/public/8c978735fc99/bundle.tar.bz2. Can't find "Hamachi" within 1k of 65536, trying to find another EFI to copy/paste from.

My original UEFI was 131072 and everything else is checking out.

Thought I read a detailed post of this hex edit method somewhere a couple months ago, can't find it now though.


Logged
Pages: 1 ... 25 26 [27] 28 29 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!