netkas.org forum
June 27, 2022, 06:19:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26] 27 28 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1294318 times)
Beegle
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #375 on: February 26, 2015, 08:54:44 PM »

Ok so instead of the msi i got the HIS IceQ Turbo 7950 and flashed BIOS 1 to blacksheep's HIS 7950 rom and it seems to be working fine except one thing, on my up2414q monitor when i set it on dp1.2 it splits the screen into two and switching to the backup BIOS 2 (pc bios) it just seems to ignore dp1.2 and stay at 30hz atleast on the mac bios i can switch to 60hz but it splits my screen into two screens and letterboxes them. i really only wanted to do this upgrade to get 4k 60hz but it seems it's not going to work. Good new is graphics stuff seems snappier and mouse lag with the 30hz is a bit less and i can scale the res to a larger res instead of before with the 5770 i could only 4k scale to 1920x1080 now i have it set at 2048x1152

connected with a mini displayport to mini displayport adapter, mac osx mavericks 10.9.5. i haven't upgraded to Yosemite cause some plugins i use don't work with it yet (although i don't think they do) but i'd sooner wait a while.

it's obviously a MST issue but just wondering if there is a fix for it?

EDIT: further research suggests that 4k 60hz is working with a 7950 in Yosemite but with a SST 4k monitor (Samsung U28D590D) this is however a TN panel.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1808380
« Last Edit: February 27, 2015, 12:07:53 AM by Beegle » Logged
Ray-Ray Lalonde
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #376 on: March 05, 2015, 01:27:53 PM »

Has any one tried this card in Mac Pro 2,1?

Powercolor Radeon HD7750 4GB

http://www.powercolor.com/global/products_features.asp?id=428
Logged
gavster1234
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #377 on: March 05, 2015, 03:26:42 PM »

Hoping you can help. I've read through the thread a number of times and i think i'm making the correct rom but i still don't get an EFI screen.

The card i'm using is an R9270x 2GB (sapphire Vapor-x PN 299-1E280-000SA) (sku 11217-00-20G)

The card works fine but with no efi.

I used darwindumper to extract the video bios. The resulting filename is 1002.6810 so i am assuming the deviceID is 6810.  Its a 66k file. I renamed the file r9270x.rom and moved it to the same directory as the makerom.sh script.

I use the command in terminal:

./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=r9270x.rom --devid=6810

The output is :

running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 6810
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x6810
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47590
47590+0 records in
47590+0 records out
47590 bytes transferred in 0.381687 secs (124683 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 6810.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.331966 secs (197418 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0xe6)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at r9270x.rom.efi.rom

The resulting file is 133kb in size.

I then take this rom, boot into Windows 7 on the mac pro. I use ATIwinflash (2.6.7) to flash this file to the card. The progress bar proceeds and it tells me it is done. Restart the machine - no boot screen. (on one occasion i got not OS X graphics at all, had to reflash the original darwindumper output back which returned me to the original state - so i think that the ATIwinflash is doing something.

Could anyone please have a look at the rom file (attached) and perhaps advise me on where i've cocked it up?

* r9270x.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 709 times.)
Logged
drimer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #378 on: March 07, 2015, 12:21:11 AM »

Please make me a uefi rom, i try but not luck
I flash my card with 7950 Mac Edition.bin, and runs ok but i need my bios modified and funs run slow.
Thaks

* 7950.rom (128 KB - downloaded 661 times.)
* 7950.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 716 times.)
« Last Edit: March 08, 2015, 05:57:13 PM by drimer » Logged
fifoo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #379 on: March 08, 2015, 07:01:03 AM »

Hi guys, need some help.

Read the post completely and tried script & 7950Mac edition rom posted earlier but got no display on DVI or nDP. Card otherwise works as 7xxx in OS X and works fine in Win 8.

Following pretty standard procedure of GPU-Z and atiwinflash. Card is a SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 w/Boost (DualX). same as this http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1157&pid=1713&psn=&lid=1&leg=0#

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/15/03/08/5tc.png

Backup rom and efi rom attached.

Unless this is the card where efi is no good, I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Help would be appreciated Smiley

* HD7950-GPU-Backup.rom (128 KB - downloaded 688 times.)
* HD7950.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 694 times.)
Logged
luke974
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #380 on: March 08, 2015, 04:05:06 PM »

DOn't seem to work on my gigabyte 7950 (gv r795wf3)
can someone help?

* cardname.rom (128 KB - downloaded 667 times.)
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #381 on: March 08, 2015, 06:09:34 PM »

Peeps, this thread has only 26 pages and it covers all your questions/problems. If you can't read or understand, maybe let someone do it for you for beer/fee/thank you/whatever...
Or read again Wink
Logged
luke974
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #382 on: March 08, 2015, 06:13:57 PM »

sorry i don't speak english very well i've got this message :

pro-de-olivier:~ olivierhoareau$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=679a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 679a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x679a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.098102 secs (485118 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 679a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.142175 secs (460952 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x235, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "fixrom.py", line 110, in <module>
    op_rom.fix()
  File "fixrom.py", line 90, in fix
    self.data[-1] = chr(0x100 - sum)
ValueError: chr() arg not in range(256)
the rom is ready at cardname.rom.efi.rom
pro-de-olivier:~ olivierhoareau$

Logged
gavster1234
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #383 on: March 09, 2015, 11:36:41 AM »

Peeps, this thread has only 26 pages and it covers all your questions/problems. If you can't read or understand, maybe let someone do it for you for beer/fee/thank you/whatever...
Or read again Wink
Thanks for your reply. I have exhausted my ability to get my 270x to work using this forum. If i can provide an original rom from the card would someone consider making the EFI part and joining them together for me - say for $100 paypal ?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #384 on: March 10, 2015, 02:26:59 AM »

does the card work without an EFI?

If it doesn't, a rom isn't going to help much

Should self init for basic function
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
gavster1234
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #385 on: March 10, 2015, 10:12:23 AM »

Hi Rominator, appreciate you taking the time to reply. The card Sapphire R9 270x does work, and is stable but without a boot screen shows as a 7xxx series (for this particular machine it would be very helpful to have boot screen). So i am trying to see if it is possible to add the EFI to do this (my attempt is posted above, but resulted in no video at all). The deviceID of this card shows as 6810. My understanding is that the R9270x is a 7870 variant?. I've seen posts on this forum that elude to some people getting the EFI part to work for 270's, but i have been unable to find any combined rom/bios to download and try. I can't work out where to look (sorry) to find the list of compatible / supported deviceID's and see if 6810 is listed.

I have managed to successfully flash a R9 280x previously (another sapphire card in another machine using SATA power leads etc), (but only with a combined EFI and bios that i found, not with one i made using a similar procedure as above) so i know that my flashing procedure does work (atiwinflash) but am unsure as to whether i am using the rom creating script correctly.
So my questions are :
1. Have you had any success adding an efi to a R9 270x ?
2. Is Deviceid=6810 a valid argument in the script ? (./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=r9270x.rom --devid=6810)
3. Is there a 7870mac.efi or equivalent to swap with the 7950mac.efi ?

Once again, thanks for your reply.
Logged
drimer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #386 on: March 11, 2015, 10:54:26 AM »

please help me, pyton 2.7.9or 3.4.3?
thank you for Reply
Logged
drimer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #387 on: March 11, 2015, 11:49:56 AM »

I am on work now and make my efi file on work machine. i hope is good now

bundle-1 ovidiu$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=7950.rom --devid=697a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 697a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x697a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.058615 secs (811926 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 697a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.079047 secs (829074 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x259, indicator=0x80, checksum=0xff)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x259, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x7f)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x7e)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at 7950.rom.efi.rom

Logged
drimer
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #388 on: March 12, 2015, 07:14:08 AM »

nop no boot screen. i not understand
please help me and i send to you a beer

* 7950.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 699 times.)
Logged
gavster1234
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #389 on: March 12, 2015, 05:42:41 PM »

Got the R9 270x 2Gb Saphhire working. It seems the the darwindumper output wasn't wasn't generating a suitable  combined EFI/bios with the script for some reasons. I used GPU-z to dump the original rom, then ran the script. Flashed using AtiWinflash. Now EFI working (not all ports but a good start). Thanks to those who were having a look.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26] 27 28 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!