netkas.org forum
May 28, 2022, 11:30:04 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 23 24 [25] 26 27 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1284342 times)
smjones
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #360 on: January 18, 2015, 12:24:28 PM »

studiosamurai: Your plan looks good to me. I've had a Mac Pro 3,1 for a few years, and was using a PC Sapphire HD 7950 (11196-16, Dual-X) under 10.8.x w/o boot screens. But recently I picked up a Mac Pro 1,1 to replace a Dell PWS690 that was just too damned noisy. I'd gotten the 1,1 flashed to a 2,1, got twin Xeon X5355s installed, using the EFI 2600XT from my 3,1 in Slot 1, and Yosemite loaded from a USB stick prepared with Piker-Alpha as described here. Unfortunately I haven't had any luck with flashing the MSI R6950 Twin-Frozr III from the Dell (which we'll ignore for this thread).

But that prompted me to finally flash the Sapphire 7950 tonight using the bundle netkas posted at the start of this thread. Worked great, did the flashing under Win 7/64 in Slot 2 on the 1,1. Now with the flashed 7950 in Slot 1 in either the 1,1 or 3,1 I see the Apple logo on the DVI connector, and I can select the boot volume by holding the Option key at startup. So far, so good, and I hadn't flashed much of anything since a Radeon 9600 for my G4 Cube back in 2005. Tomorrow I'll look for another Sapphire card to flash for the 1,1 and an appropriate set of adapters to feed the dual-DVI KVM switch it's connected to.

On your question of the 7970 being faster than the 7950 - yes, just check the specs on the two cards in the big list on Wikipedia.
Logged
studiosamurai
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #361 on: January 21, 2015, 05:24:46 PM »

 Grin Grin Grin  WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!!!  Grin Grin Grin

Reference MSI 7970 OC edition (1050mhz clock) 2PMD3GD5 boots with full bootscreens, reporting correctly (having used hexfiend to change 7950 to 7970 as per SamPotts suggestion), the works.

I am indescribably happy with this, thank you so much to Netkas and Rominator for this fix, and also to SamPotts and smjones for your feedback and assistance that made sure I didn't screw it up!

I followed the instructions very carefully and it went perfectly. The only thing I NEARLY screwed up which I didn't see anywhere in this thread, that the veterans know but a relative newbie such as myself might have missed is that the 7970 has a dual BIOS dip switch, which MUST BE IN POSITION 1 for this to work. My card arrived with it in position 2 (locked factory rom) and at first I dumped that ROM, so had to re-dump the rom after switching to BIOS 1 before patching/flashing.

I am a very happy samurai.

Pic related


* macpro2,1.jpg (47.79 KB, 585x335 - viewed 2079 times.)
Logged
Sbrocca
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #362 on: January 23, 2015, 09:47:22 PM »

Dear friends,
someone already created a rom for
Sapphire Dual-X R9 280 OC with Boost[/s][/s]?
The card works without apple efi and does not allow you to use the keyboard keys to boot, and this is bad enough.
All efi rom I have tried do not work.
I being trying to make self the rom but I do not know enough capabilities and I'm going crazy..
Some people can help me?
Thanks !

=========

I was able to use the script of Netkas, but it's like the same thing.
Where is the mistake?

=========


Thanks if someone helps me!


:bundle PippoSbrocca$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=Tahiti.rom --devid=697a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 697a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x697a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.076322 secs (623557 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 697a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.106981 secs (612595 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x7e)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at Tahiti.rom.efi.rom
[/s]
=========

YESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYES
I have it done! After days......
Mistake was 697a instead 679a !!! Same other people..
Thank's a lot for a great forum!

* Tahiti.rom.efi.rom.zip (88.57 KB - downloaded 870 times.)

* MPn.tiff (32.05 KB, 268x153 - viewed 5422 times.)
« Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 10:31:21 PM by Sbrocca » Logged
chumdoggin
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #363 on: January 27, 2015, 05:29:41 AM »

 Its been awhile since this was posted, has there been new posts of this script? If so which page? I will try it on my saphire dual-x r9 280x
So I lose the uefi but I could get it back with original rom right? Should I go for it? Any other tips?

Im not sure but what if I use an asus one before doing this? I ran it on a slackintosh and someone said to try asus on it because when I deployed the framebuffers it went goofy. If it behaves well with with it, maybe would on mac pro....
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 07:07:02 AM by chumdoggin » Logged
lucidmagus
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #364 on: February 18, 2015, 08:01:10 AM »

Having trouble getting this to work on my Gigabyte R9 280x Rev2.0 Windforce. The ROM writes fine but no boot screen. Reference port layout with 2 MDPs, DVI and HDMI. Anyone have a working EFI added ROM for this card I can try?
Logged
Ray-Ray Lalonde
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #365 on: February 18, 2015, 05:17:24 PM »

Hi all. Just reading this post gave me an idea.

I have a MP 1,1 flashed to 2,1, 16GB, 2x5355 XEON, 8800 GT, Running OSX 10.10.2

I also have a 7970 (AX7970 3GBD5-M2DHV2), with a BIOS switch by the CF connection.

So I could flash the card with the switch set to the "2" position and have it work in my Mac Pro with boot screen?

If that is the case it would beat the crap out of the 8800 GT even at 2.5G link speed.
Logged
Ray-Ray Lalonde
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #366 on: February 18, 2015, 05:37:49 PM »

Sorry,,,switch goes to the "1" position for flashing I believe.

I'll try it today

Logged
DeerSteak
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #367 on: February 21, 2015, 07:21:34 PM »

Yup, mine needed position 1 as well.  It worked a peach.  As the OP says, you need Java SDK and Python. I used latest available for both and it created an EFI ROM from my dumped ROM.  MSI 7950 Boost edition (960MHz clock) 3GB. Mine was device ID 679a.  The other devices are an Inateck USB 3.0 card and a wifi adapter for a BCM94360CD (the current-gen Wifi and Bluetooth Airport card).


* Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 12.21.55 PM.png (117.28 KB, 862x634 - viewed 1665 times.)
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #368 on: February 23, 2015, 12:22:13 AM »

I've removed the R17 resistor on HD7870 XT but I'm still stuck on 2,5 GT/s link Sad

Which one it should be ?

« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 05:09:52 PM by Spacedust » Logged
krypticos
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #369 on: February 23, 2015, 11:51:20 AM »

Hello i have tried this several time but everytime it doesnt work on my mac. my mac is a 2,1. my card is a xfx DD 7970. Here https://www.dropbox.com/s/watkeeriht7x2g3/Tahiti%20backup.rom?dl=0 is the backup rom. here https://www.dropbox.com/s/vcexebs26oabjuk/efi.rom?dl=0 is the efi rom. my device id is 6798. im not sure if i did something wrong or what but any help would be very appreciated.
Logged
Beegle
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #370 on: February 23, 2015, 06:17:57 PM »

Hi has anyone made a rom for a gigabyte 7970 GV-R797OC-3GD rev 2.1, i have a mac pro 5,1 and i have a chance to pick one of these bad boys up pretty cheap otherwise i'll just get a msi r9 280x twin frozr model as i've found a working rom over at macrumors for it.

Also i heard the cooler for the sapphire vapor-x tri-x r9 280x is pretty good as it uses a vapor chamber to dissipate heat, so if anyone has a rom for that i would then have more options to choose from.

UPDATE: ok i got a really good deal on a MSI R7950 Twin Frozr 3GD5/OC and i looked in previous posts it works with the netkas efi so fingers crossed it all works Grin i have a separate gaming PC so i only need it for the 4k 60hz
« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 07:51:47 PM by Beegle » Logged
mcqueener
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #371 on: February 25, 2015, 05:16:31 PM »

I read this post last night and I thought that this was the same card that  I have.  I'm not sure at this point.  But, this is link shows the card i have.  https://www.google.com/search?q=11196-16-40G&es_sm=93&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=yfLtVJi6LcnBggS93oBo&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAw&biw=1920&bih=955#imgdii=_&imgrc=6HQ-SnQWdaXWjM%253A%3BO8M1HpN0ZPP4WM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fm6.agitomedia.pl%252Fimage%252F700x700%252Fa938eb63845af1c64665ad0cd2fd44f6%252Fkarty-graficzne%252Fsapphire-radeon-hd-7950-oc-11196-16-40g-3gb-ddr5-pci-e-fbox.1685525.2.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.agito.pl%252Fkarta-graficzna-sapphire-radeon-hd-7950-oc-11196-16-40g-3gb-ddr5-pci-e-fbox-84-648915.html%3B700%3B512

Originally i flashed with the MAC7950.rom file at the beginning of the thread.  I had all ports except HDMI working.  I also popped a resistor and got 5.0gt/s link speed.  Then I saw this post and rom and since I thought it was my same card I used the rom that he posted.  Now I cannot boot to windows with the switch flipped either direction.  Computer hangs and I get no POST beep or bios screen.  If i put the card in my 4,1 mac pro i do get the apple boot screen but the graphics wig out and are distorted and the Mac Pro never makes it to the login screen.  Can someone help?  

I also have this card and using  different rom in this thread and popping the same resistor I get all 4 ports working, boot screen and 5.0 GT/s link speed.  

Can someone help me figure this out, and where i have gone wrong.  

I'll gladly DONATE to the forum or a charity or whatever if I can get some assistance.  Thanks!

Thanks for the help.  

Thx @Netkas,
Thx @Rominator,

i used the patch script netkas wrote and can confirm i have no issues atm whatsoever, and i have nice boot screen(s) with 2 monitors via miniDp  Grin.

I used the Reference Design Card of Sapphire just with the twin-cooler. 11196-16-40G which seems to be harder to get at the moment because its the old Reference Design with the twin-cooler.
Super silent. abt 1490 points in furmark.  comes with 850 Mhz and 1250 Mhz and boosts to 925 Mhz what i wrote from the spec, so should even be a little faster than the Mac Edition and definitely less noisy.
Runs on my pro(08), whilst other cards seem to have troubles running smooth.

Maybe you can even flash this ROM on the original sapphire card and see if the performance increases a little..

I'll donate gladly, thx for keeping up your great work!

Cheers!

Edit:

Fan-Speeds:
Idle: 33C
CPU_MEM 499
PCI: 799
PS: 650


« Last Edit: February 25, 2015, 08:21:15 PM by mcqueener » Logged
mcqueener
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #372 on: February 25, 2015, 06:40:26 PM »

Here is a pic of what my screen is doing.  

[/URL][/img]

I select windows and get a black screen.  

I can select mac get to OSX.  screen wigs out a bit, but eventually gets there. I can run 3 displays using mini display ports and DVI.  HDMI does not work.  Card is recognized and I get 5.0 gt/s link speed.  

[/URL][/img]

« Last Edit: February 25, 2015, 08:08:11 PM by mcqueener » Logged
mcqueener
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #373 on: February 26, 2015, 04:01:16 AM »

Is it possible to flash from within OSX using a virtual version of Windows 7?
Logged
mcqueener
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #374 on: February 26, 2015, 05:11:33 AM »

Anybody wanna buy it from me? Cheap.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 23 24 [25] 26 27 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!