netkas.org forum
May 28, 2022, 12:36:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 17 18 [19] 20 21 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1284195 times)
brokenlink
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #270 on: June 06, 2014, 04:35:34 PM »

Hi, any chance of getting a copy of netkas script? the link on the first post does not work anymore. Many thanks
Logged
Roger74
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #271 on: June 07, 2014, 03:39:54 PM »

Hi.

I need some help choosing graphic card for MacPro1,1
Which one is best choice for flashing and it needs to have ability to connect two DVI LCDs 24" in OS X 10.9+


Sapphire AMD Radeon 7950 HD
P/N: 299-2E249-000SA
SKU: 11196-19

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7950
P/N: 299-1E249-100SA
SKU: 11196-19-20G

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7950
P/N: 299-2E249-000SA
SKU: 11196-19-20G

PowerColor HD 7950 TurboDuo
Name: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
Model: AX7950 3GBD5-2DHV2
BIOS: 014.030.000.001.000000 (113-C3864000-100)
Device ID: 1002 - 679A
Memory: Elpida


Thank you.
Roger
« Last Edit: June 07, 2014, 03:41:44 PM by Roger74 » Logged
omvs
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #272 on: June 07, 2014, 07:43:36 PM »

So the 7950.rom in the second post works great on my sapphire 7950.  But I'd like to try undervolting the card, and VBE7 doesn't seem to take that rom - perhaps due to the Mac EFI.

So I tried using the hacking script - the output of the script looks reasonable, but no bootscreen using it.  I've tried the original rom, my VBE7 hacked version (lowering freq/volt), and both devid=6978 (original rom) & 697a (what the MAC7950.rom used)

I'm thinking maybe I'll diff a hexdump of my original vs the undervolt'ed rom, patch the MAC7950.rom to match, and then run through fixrom.py to fix the checksums, though I don't understand why the hacking isn't working. Sad

dhdesktop:bundle dhartman$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=undervolt.rom --devid=6978
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 6978
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x6978
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47590
47590+0 records in
47590+0 records out
47590 bytes transferred in 0.071337 secs (667115 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 6978.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.098460 secs (665611 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x225, indicator=0x80, checksum=0xff)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x225, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x7f)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0xd4)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at undervolt.rom.efi.rom
Logged
jasonsansone
Guest
« Reply #273 on: June 11, 2014, 12:37:37 AM »

Hi, any chance of getting a copy of netkas script? the link on the first post does not work anymore. Many thanks

I can't get it to work either.  Does anyone have the links that multiupload pointed to?
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #274 on: June 11, 2014, 10:05:15 PM »

updated first post with proper link
Logged
RogueFive
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #275 on: June 24, 2014, 03:49:25 AM »

I have a Hackintosh with Crossfire'd 2x7950s SAPPHIRE 100352-2L Radeon HD 7950s using forced Hamachi personality, all 4 port working (DP, DP, HMDI, DVI).
Multiple monitor no problem, but I run mostly the 4K Samsung U28D590 which gets me to 3584x2240@60hz via DP. Unfortunately it's the wrong aspect ratio (16:10), but so far the best I can get under OS X. Under Windows I get full 3840x2160@60hz just fine (with DP).

Using DP when I go higher than 2560x1400 with 16:9 I get garbage of the right side for the last 10 percent of the line. I notice the screen is set to 56hz instead of 60hz (which would perfectly explain the issue) although 60hz has been selected. I'd like to get to full 3840x2160@60hz. HDMI gets me 3840x2160 ... but @30hz as per spec (looks terrible).

Clearly I don't need the EFI since I have Chimera for boot. I am wondering if flashing the MAC7950 ROM would give me full 4K resolution. Opinions? Is there a downside under Windows?

Thanks
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #276 on: July 05, 2014, 01:15:12 PM »

So I have a sapphire 7950 dual fan with boost working in my Mac Pro (both DVI ports work, haven't tried the others).
I modded the ROM with the script provided by netkas and it ran without error:
Code:
./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=7950.ROM --devid=697a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 697a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x697a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.095181 secs (500005 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 697a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.133535 secs (490778 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x7e)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at 7950.ROM.efi.rom
I flashed with ATIFLASH in DOS. I saw no error, but no effect either. Still no boot screen, "radeon 7XXX" appears in system profiler (and error gathering PCI device info). So, no effect.  Huh At least it still works (checked luxmark and all).
I have checked that the efi part was indeed present and in the card's ROM (with ATIFLASH -s).
So I flashed with another modded ROM provided by a poster here who had a sapphire dual fan with boost. But now the Mac Pro wouldn't boot at all. Good job this card has dual BIOS, so I still have a working firmware and my card isn't bricked (yet).  Grin

I'd like to overwrite the other BIOS that doesn't work, but I don't know how since it won't let me boot my Mac. Any ideas?

Also, any ideas why the efi part appears to be simply ignored with that card?

Thanks a lot.

original ROM: https://www.dropbox.com/s/os650w9lodq0pjt/7950.ROM
modded ROM: https://www.dropbox.com/s/t2mgw6qa6hp1tr0/7950.ROM.efi.rom

EDIT: I see the problem occurred to someone else: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5619.msg25938.html#msg25938
So this card cannot work with EFI?
« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 01:27:27 PM by jeanlain » Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #277 on: July 05, 2014, 02:00:08 PM »

There's something in this card's ROM what does not play nicely with the EFI.
And it also has the framebuffer personality issue.
You're not the first, and probably not the last one, who experiences this issue with this particular card.
Get model with reference port layout.
The answer why EFI in your hybrid ROM is ignored is in first three lines of the log you pasted here.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 02:02:33 PM by blacksheep » Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #278 on: July 06, 2014, 04:00:23 PM »


The answer why EFI in your hybrid ROM is ignored is in first three lines of the log you pasted here.

The device ID initially reported by ATIFLASH was 697A so I'm not sure what's wrong in the log.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 04:04:52 PM by jeanlain » Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #279 on: July 07, 2014, 07:10:50 PM »


The answer why EFI in your hybrid ROM is ignored is in first three lines of the log you pasted here.
The device ID initially reported by ATIFLASH was 697A so I'm not sure what's wrong in the log.

...Grin

P.S. you can boot on a good BIOS then switch to borked one to reflash it.
Logged
jeanlain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 246


« Reply #280 on: July 07, 2014, 10:04:35 PM »

Yes I figured. I already reflashed with the original BIOS. Dual BIOS is quite convenient. If only this card worked with EFI...
Logged
yzfnyc
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #281 on: July 12, 2014, 08:30:19 PM »

Having an issue with a Sapphire HD 7950 Reference Model.

P/N: 102C3864000 021189
P/N: 102-C3864000-AT
SKU#: 21196-00

It keeps crashing with Rominator's MAC7950.ROM on post # 2.  Everything works great until I load images in Safari and it freezes and has to be hard reset.  Running a Mac Pro 1,1 converted to 2,1 running OS X 10.9.4.  Also tried to make my own ROM with the EFI flashed but keep getting the "Error: Could not find or load main class PatchRom" and "EfiCompress.macosx is missing, aborting" in terminal.  Attached is my Stock ROM Dump.

Steps I took.

1. Installed: jdk-8u5-macosx-x64.dmg & jre-7u60-macosx-x64.dmg
2. Installed: jre-7u60-macosx-x64.dmg
3. Installed: python-3.4.1-macosx10.6.dmg
4. Copied original PC rom to downloaded and extracted Bundle folder and rename cardname.rom
5. opened Terminal and entered command with updated devoid: /Users/myname/Downloads/bundle/makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=679a

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Prefer solutions so I can learn to mod it but a patch for this ROM would be nice too...

Thanks in advance and thanks for all those that have already inputed so much to get me to this point.

* PC7950.rom (128 KB - downloaded 745 times.)
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #282 on: July 17, 2014, 07:05:43 AM »

This does not have anything to do with 7xxx ROM creating thread Wink
You can delete your posts and create separate thread regarding your issue.

Post whole KP log in new thread you'll make (using "insert code" tag). I'd bet that you have Machine check error with uncorrected ECC errors, what specifically points on bad RAM.
In case any GPU related problems you'd have AMD drivers and/or IOPCI, IOGraphics kexts in backtrace.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #283 on: July 30, 2014, 08:48:23 PM »

I flashed and modded my HD7950 Flex edition but got no signal on second DVI and HDMI.



Please see and correct the BIOS.

* Tahiti.rom (128 KB - downloaded 755 times.)
Logged
loll
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #284 on: August 01, 2014, 10:42:54 PM »

My "old" Sapphire 7970 dual-X runs w/ EFI mod bios and shows boot screen. If i uses an OCw/Boost Bios, the Macpro fails to boot. The problem is that 7970 need more than 2 PCI places and let only 1 addtitionnal slot free for any card. So i cannot use it  ... :-(

So i look for other solution :
First, i got an HD7700 but w/o success
and now, i got an 7950 dualX and still no boot screen for my mac pro after bios patch... (it seems i'm not alone after reading this topic).
Card runs well but black screen up to OSX Desktop. Cry
Its info:
PN: 299-3E249-000SA
SKU: 11196-1920G

I enclose GPU-Z info, original BIOS and EFI patched BIOS.

If there is any way to have EFI with my 7950, i will returned it this week. Guys, you confirm it ?


* 7950dualX.PNG (98.46 KB, 397x493 - viewed 1790 times.)
* 7950efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 790 times.)
* 7950ori.rom (128 KB - downloaded 793 times.)
« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 03:06:46 PM by loll » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 17 18 [19] 20 21 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!