netkas.org forum
May 28, 2022, 11:25:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1284121 times)
mac567
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #240 on: February 27, 2014, 01:27:48 PM »

Benchmark results mac pro 2.1/1.1 (flashed) with 2x intel es e5340 bsel to 3.0ghz 8 cores.
The card is a sapphire hd7870 ghz edition with a short pcb which I got as a new open box for 120usd shipped.
here is the modified frambuffer
00  04  00  00  04  03  00  00  00  01  00  00  12  04  01  01
00  08  00  00  04  02  00  00  00  01  00  00  22  05  02  03
00  02  00  00  04  02  00  00  00  01  00  00  11  02  03  04
00  02  00  00  04  02  00  00  00  01  00  00  10  00  04  02


* HD7870efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 842 times.)

* Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 14.10.04.png (115.76 KB, 302x240 - viewed 1711 times.)

* Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 14.15.31.png (89.55 KB, 407x741 - viewed 1635 times.)

* Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 17.17.37.png (69.5 KB, 501x492 - viewed 1649 times.)
« Last Edit: February 27, 2014, 05:37:38 PM by mac567 » Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #241 on: March 05, 2014, 11:32:33 AM »

Successfully made custom rom and flashed my new MSI Radeon HD 7970. Bootscreen works, but there is a problem:

Card recognized as a 7950, rewrited efi header, but no go, still 7950...


* R7970M.rom (128 KB - downloaded 795 times.)
« Last Edit: March 05, 2014, 02:09:20 PM by armdn » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #242 on: March 05, 2014, 10:06:30 PM »

Somewhere in those threads I posted 7970 EFI.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #243 on: March 06, 2014, 06:30:22 AM »

Downclocked rom.But well - now recognized properly.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2014, 08:40:09 AM by armdn » Logged
COPLASD
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #244 on: March 06, 2014, 02:34:21 PM »

What I still didn't get after all these posts:

  • Is this mod compatible with a Mac Pro 1,1 on Mavericks using TIAMO's boot.efi?
  • Has anyone tried this with an entry-level Radeon HD7750 card?
Logged
armdn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #245 on: March 06, 2014, 07:09:48 PM »

What I still didn't get after all these posts:

  • Is this mod compatible with a Mac Pro 1,1 on Mavericks using TIAMO's boot.efi?
  • Has anyone tried this with an entry-level Radeon HD7750 card?

Yes
No
Logged
COPLASD
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #246 on: March 06, 2014, 11:08:41 PM »

  • Has anyone tried this with an entry-level Radeon HD7750 card?

No

Well, is there any point in trying this or is it doomed to fail? After all, HD7750 cards are cheap to get and don't even require a separate power plug.
On the other hand, I only found a "7950mac.efi" in netkas' bundle file.
Logged
genetixa
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #247 on: March 07, 2014, 12:14:39 AM »

Finally flashed my R9 280x using the netkas script and the 7950 rom. Dp working and DVI DL working too. Memory core and fan speed seem to be identical to the previous non efi state. I had problem writing the rom, I was getting 'wrong subsystem' error in ATIWinflash. Got around this by flashing only the efiheader and then flashing my scriptmade rom back.
The system is reporting an 7950, but if I've read this forum right, it's only cosmetic. Now I only have to remove the R17 resistor to get PCI 2.0.

So the bug I reported to Apple regarding 10.9.2 is no more. I must say I don't agree with Apple by changing their support regarding PC card with no mac Efi in 10.9.2. They surely want people to buy the R2D2 trashcan!


Thanks very much for the script and the rom! Smiley

Seb.
Logged
jasonsansone
Guest
« Reply #248 on: March 07, 2014, 12:50:26 AM »

So the bug I reported to Apple regarding 10.9.2 is no more. I must say I don't agree with Apple by changing their support regarding PC card with no mac Efi in 10.9.2.

They don't support the EFI cards either.  The Sapphire 7950 Mac Edition doesn't get any love either (its all the same driver set really).
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #249 on: March 07, 2014, 04:34:03 AM »

So the bug I reported to Apple regarding 10.9.2 is no more. I must say I don't agree with Apple by changing their support regarding PC card with no mac Efi in 10.9.2.

They don't support the EFI cards either.  The Sapphire 7950 Mac Edition doesn't get any love either (its all the same driver set really).

Jason, what has happened is that with 10.9.2 if your card doesn't have EFI on it, it won't work at all with Apple LEDs via DisplayPort. Not sure what happens with Hackintoshes.

At least with real Macs a quick flash fixes it.

If running via DVI or HDMI you are unaffected.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
jasonsansone
Guest
« Reply #250 on: March 07, 2014, 03:37:51 PM »

Ahhh.  My mistake.  Good to know.
Logged
peanutlasko
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #251 on: March 21, 2014, 09:10:03 AM »

I'm having trouble with running this script - Followed all directions.

My Mac 3,1 shows 7950 (not 79xx), however I still don't get a boot screen.

Attached my original and modded bios.

Edit: I also tested all other ports, HDMI and DP - still no boot screen. The card works perfect in Windows and Mac - even shows correctly in system profiler just no Apple logo


* Tahiti.rom (128 KB - downloaded 738 times.)
* Tahiti.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 731 times.)
« Last Edit: March 21, 2014, 11:36:07 PM by peanutlasko » Logged
nullmaster
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #252 on: March 26, 2014, 10:35:39 AM »

  • Is this mod compatible with a Mac Pro 1,1 on Mavericks using TIAMO's boot.efi?
  • Has anyone tried this with an entry-level Radeon HD7750 card?

YES

and

Yes, and it didn't work. It showed up as a 7950 with two entries in System Profiler, but wouldn't crank out any video whatsoever in OS X. I've attached the DarwinDump ROM and the script-created ROM if someone wants to peruse it. Using an XFX 7750 FX-775A-CGFR.

I still have my original 7300 card, so I can get boot video when/if needed. Flashed back to original and going to try to get a little bit of sleep tonight.

* 1002.683f.from_ioreg_0.rom (64 KB - downloaded 709 times.)
* 1002.683f.from_ioreg_0.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 697 times.)
Logged
Decomo
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #253 on: March 26, 2014, 11:47:40 AM »

I flashed MSI R7970-2PMD3GD5 with MAC7970.rom and have got an boot screen!
Thank you netkas and Rominator.
Logged
dyttioaoa?
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #254 on: April 01, 2014, 12:32:05 PM »

I am having a bit of a problem here. I have a Gigabyte HD7950 WF3 but both BIOS ROMS on the card (both already contain a GOP UEFI btw) do not go well with the script. This is the complete Terminal output:

Code:
./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=BIOS7950.ROM --devid=679a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 679a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x679a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.059426 secs (800844 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 679a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.082488 secs (794491 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x231, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "fixrom.py", line 110, in <module>
    op_rom.fix()
  File "fixrom.py", line 90, in fix
    self.data[-1] = chr(0x100 - sum)
ValueError: chr() arg not in range(256)
the rom is ready at BIOS7950.ROM.efi.rom

What am I doing wrong? Thx for helping!
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!