netkas.org forum
June 27, 2022, 06:43:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1294338 times)
detroit808
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #225 on: January 06, 2014, 03:10:09 PM »

LuxMark Sala Scene
7950 - 1221
7950 OC - 1437 (+18% over single stock 7950)
7950 x 2 - 2433 (+99% over single stock 7950)
7950 OC x 2 - 2870 (+135% over single stock 7950)

Hi jasonsansone, what details can you provide regarding noise level a single card in its stock form relative to when it's over clocked? Is there another card you've had previously to reference noise to as a comparison? thx
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #226 on: January 06, 2014, 03:23:46 PM »

LuxMark Sala Scene
7950 - 1221
7950 OC - 1437 (+18% over single stock 7950)
7950 x 2 - 2433 (+99% over single stock 7950)
7950 OC x 2 - 2870 (+135% over single stock 7950)

These are poor scores. Card does not run on full speed because it's throttled by TDP. You need to increase it to unveil true power of the GPU.
You should see score similar to this one: http://www.luxrender.net/luxmark/detail/result/3712
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #227 on: January 06, 2014, 07:12:02 PM »

That's pretty weird. What OS X version? Tried new user account?
Logged
bx5a
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #228 on: January 06, 2014, 10:17:27 PM »

LuxMark Sala Scene
7950 - 1221
7950 OC - 1437 (+18% over single stock 7950)
7950 x 2 - 2433 (+99% over single stock 7950)
7950 OC x 2 - 2870 (+135% over single stock 7950)

These are poor scores. Card does not run on full speed because it's throttled by TDP. You need to increase it to unveil true power of the GPU.
You should see score similar to this one: http://www.luxrender.net/luxmark/detail/result/3712

Update: I am still diagnosing the poor scores for the 7950 ROM.  The problem does not appear to be TDP or throttling.  I just ran through all of my benchmark programs in Win7 and scored where comparable overlocked cards are scoring.  Doesn't seem to throttle under load.  My problem somehow lies in OS X...

Are we sure it's not the '08 Mac Pro acting as a bottleneck? Didn't barefeats confirm that more recent GPUs get throttled by the 3,1 machine?  
Logged
HackerTuga
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #229 on: January 06, 2014, 10:19:27 PM »

Hi guys, a little help here please:

- I tried to flash a Sapphire 7870 GHz 2GB (pitcairn) with a modded efi rom and I get no output from any of the ports on Mac. It only works on a PC.
- Tried to flash with the first Rominator 7950 rom and no lucky too (no output in mac and pc).

So I flashed the stock rom again. Any thoughts about what might be the problem?

(stock and efi rom attached)

* 7870.rom (128 KB - downloaded 800 times.)
* 7870efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 805 times.)
Logged
bx5a
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #230 on: January 06, 2014, 10:30:04 PM »

LuxMark Sala Scene
7950 - 1221
7950 OC - 1437 (+18% over single stock 7950)
7950 x 2 - 2433 (+99% over single stock 7950)
7950 OC x 2 - 2870 (+135% over single stock 7950)

These are poor scores. Card does not run on full speed because it's throttled by TDP. You need to increase it to unveil true power of the GPU.
You should see score similar to this one: http://www.luxrender.net/luxmark/detail/result/3712

Update: I am still diagnosing the poor scores for the 7950 ROM.  The problem does not appear to be TDP or throttling.  I just ran through all of my benchmark programs in Win7 and scored where comparable overlocked cards are scoring.  Doesn't seem to throttle under load.  My problem somehow lies in OS X...

Are we sure it's not the '08 Mac Pro acting as a bottleneck? Didn't barefeats confirm that more recent GPUs get throttled by the 3,1 machine?  

I am sure I am not sure of anything.  I thought like you, but BlackSheep has pretty well convinced me otherwise.  If a hardware bottleneck existed, it would surmise that I should score lower in Windows and in OS X, however I score ~9000 for one card in 3DMark 11, which is what others are hitting - http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/radeon_hd_7950_overclock_guide,15.html.  If there was some speed degradation due to hardware bottleneck, it should be OS agnostic.  Others are posting much higher LuxMark results for the 7950 without OC.  I dunno... Ill report as I learn anything.

I see. I have a 7950 Mac on the way that I intend to put in an '08 as well, so I'm curious to see how this develops. I'll be happy to put your ROM on mine and run some tests to get more data once it gets here.
Logged
jasonsansone
Guest
« Reply #231 on: January 07, 2014, 12:57:23 AM »

I am completely stumped.  I can hit the appropriate LuxMark results in Win7 as well as 3D Mark 11 or other benchmarking programs.  I can't do the same in OS X.  Fresh install of 10.9.1, PRAM reset.  Newest builds of LuxMark.  A small variation could account for drivers, etc.., but these differences are enormous.  The MacPro hardware can't be the limiting factor.  Numbers below are for a single 7950 running the Sala scene.

I used fan controls to max out all my fans before using LuxMark.  The tests start and stay steady at a low output.  If the card was throttling, it should at least warm up under load first.  I went from a fresh boot after being off for hours, to full fans, to LuxMark.  The card shouldn't even be warm.  Throttling from TDP seems unlikely.

New Reference Card "Boost" BIOS
Win - 1900
OS X - 500

OC'd Win Profile from 7950 Mac Edition (1.25V, 1200 mhz core, 1500 mhz memory, 200W TDP PowerPlay limit)
Win - 2500
OS X - 1527

Neither of these test profiles have EFI.  I believe blacksheep is correct, the card is throttling, but I have no idea WHY in OS X only.  The fans never spin all the way up and it doesn't seem to hit full load like in Win.  These behavior is exhibited in the original EFI rom that came with the Mac edition card as well as any modified one I have flashed.  I just can't get these cards to hit stride in Mavericks, OC'd or not.

Does anyone have any suggestions or thoughts?  Has anyone else experienced these issues with a 7950, mac edition or not?


* Untitled.tiff (57.47 KB, 486x432 - viewed 4105 times.)

* Untitled2.tiff (45.69 KB, 483x422 - viewed 4225 times.)
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 03:38:16 PM by jasonsansone » Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #232 on: January 07, 2014, 06:32:27 PM »

Hi guys, a little help here please:

- I tried to flash a Sapphire 7870 GHz 2GB (pitcairn) with a modded efi rom and I get no output from any of the ports on Mac. It only works on a PC.
- Tried to flash with the first Rominator 7950 rom and no lucky too (no output in mac and pc).

So I flashed the stock rom again. Any thoughts about what might be the problem?

(stock and efi rom attached)

The same situation as with HD7770 :/
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #233 on: January 07, 2014, 07:31:38 PM »

Does anyone have any suggestions or thoughts?  Has anyone else experienced these issues with a 7950, mac edition or not?

jason, you've said that card was drawing 124W when running Furmark. It's ridiculously low. Mine @1175/6000 pulled 240W (sum of all three power lines) without problem when "furmarked".
Try to remove AGPM kext and see if it will have any impact on performance.

P.S. Do not delete your posts, especially after someone has responded to them. When you're doing this, response makes no sense. Let other readers benefit from this thread, in case if they'd encounter similar problems.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 08:46:23 PM by blacksheep » Logged
jasonsansone
Guest
« Reply #234 on: January 07, 2014, 09:37:26 PM »

Moved System\Library\Extensions\AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext to the desktop.  Rebooted.  No change in LuxMark.  Replacing the kext back into the system folder.

(I deleted to attempt to clean up the thread and I didn't want anyone using the ROM I posted if it was messed up.  I probably need to create a new thread as we have now gone pretty far off from the OP.  If an admin could move these all into a new thread, it would make this thread cleaner.  My apologies.

I created a separate thread for this topic - http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,8206.0.html)
« Last Edit: January 09, 2014, 04:48:14 PM by jasonsansone » Logged
electonic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


« Reply #235 on: February 17, 2014, 01:29:41 AM »

Please make this topic sticky. Makes sense. Doesn't it?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #236 on: February 18, 2014, 03:07:18 PM »

There are some people on the web with working HD7770 and HD7870OC so it's possible to flash these cards, but nobody is willing to share the rom :/
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 06:41:56 PM by Spacedust » Logged
mac567
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #237 on: February 23, 2014, 05:59:56 PM »

Would the D300 Mac Pro 6.1 traschcan EFI portion work with a HD7870 rom to give boot screen and better results?
I am going to try this but if anyone wants to warn me off!
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #238 on: February 24, 2014, 12:04:24 AM »

It is possible to get bootscreens with existing EFI

I DOUBT trashcan EFI will work as it likely defines output to 6 TB ports, but please try and post results
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
mac567
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #239 on: February 27, 2014, 12:55:57 PM »

You were right Rominator! D300 efi with my pitcairn hd7870 rom didn't work at all but I only script kiddied it with bundle! Nothing took at all no boot screen or frame buffer change and it was like the efi portion different structure as I have read here and anyway connector count on pitcairn maguro is zero or 6xTB as you pointed out!!
I tried also the 7950 hamachi efi from the 7xxx test with my rom it gave me boot screen and a 2560x1600 resolution on first boot with dvi - but when I edited the hamachi frame buffer using the linked guide my lower dvi works and I can change resolution. I could only remap 4 of 5 but will test the display port when I get a dvi/dp adaptor!
I know editing frame buffer is cheating but quicker than fiddling with the efi rom. I think this only works as my penultimate dvi maps correctly with last dvi on hd7950.
http://rampagedev.wordpress.com/kext-editing/editing-atiamd-framebuffer-personality/
I have a question as frame buffer personality is set in efi rom then only personalities exist for stock cards no? So are other frame buffers I have seen floating about like a futomaki asus hd7950 rom only modified Hamachi efi or is there a source for these other efi rom portions?
« Last Edit: February 27, 2014, 02:44:31 PM by mac567 » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!