netkas.org forum
June 25, 2022, 11:55:34 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1293746 times)
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #210 on: December 10, 2013, 01:49:13 PM »

This particular card will lose 2 ports after the flash: HDMI and one DVI.
Read the forum to get answers to all other questions.
Logged
pajamajam
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #211 on: December 10, 2013, 06:14:01 PM »

This particular card will lose 2 ports after the flash: HDMI and one DVI.
Read the forum to get answers to all other questions.

Good to know about the two ports.  Thanks blacksheep.

As far as the other questions go, I've read countless threads on this forum and others and still don't have clear answers (that's why I took the time to create an account here and post in the first place).  Any insight from you or others on this forum is appreciated.
Logged
huntman
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #212 on: December 13, 2013, 09:35:11 PM »

Thanks for the script! I just flashed my XFX 7950 without trouble! So far, so good!

PajamaJam: I used GPU-Z to dump my bios and ATIWinFlash to flash my XFX card and didn't run into any issues. My rom file was 125k, so I assume there was an EFI potion that was overwritten.
Logged
pajamajam
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #213 on: December 16, 2013, 12:09:12 AM »

Thanks for the reply, huntman.  Good to know GPU-Z + ATIWinFlash worked without issue.  I'm still on the fence about flashing the card since everything works okay as-is (just no Apple boot screen).  I'm using "BootChamp" to boot into Windows, which seems to work well enough.

Thanks again to all of the folks on the thread who've contributed.  Very happy with my 5770 -> 7870 upgrade.

-PajamaJam
Logged
theAnt
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #214 on: January 03, 2014, 11:55:00 AM »


"flash the Sapphire Mac Edition ROM that ROMINATOR Posted using this command in DOS using ATI win flash:

atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin

replace "bios.bin" with the file.rom posted by ROMINATOR."

Dude, I was starting to become frustrated as atiwinflash was giving me the same "subsystemIDs mismatch" when trying to load up Rominator's ROM. I'm not sure why it wasn't working but that command at the DOS prompt flashed it for me. Thanks!  Smiley
I couldn't run the NETKAS script either because for some reason I was stuck booting into WIN7.
Everything's good now except I had to switch to the DVI port I think my HDMI is no longer working.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #215 on: January 04, 2014, 06:23:07 AM »

original reference cards have working HDMI.

later models lose it when flashed. Would be awesome if someone figured out a fix.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #216 on: January 04, 2014, 11:25:45 PM »

I've flashed HIS iCooler HD7770 1 GB GDDR5 card and it seems card is properly working but I cannot get output on any of ports.

This is how it looks like: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161402

So I've added a working HD5770 in slot 1 and HD7770 in slot 3. All booted fine and it seems it sees a VGA monitor even if nothing is connected to the card.

I'm attaching my original ROM and EFI rom for diagnosis.

It seems card is properly working with 5.0 GT/s !

I've used this command:

Quote
./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=his7770.rom --devid=683d

Rominator can you help me ?




* Cape Verde.rom (128 KB - downloaded 730 times.)
* hd7770.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 770 times.)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 11:36:38 PM by Spacedust » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #217 on: January 05, 2014, 03:13:47 AM »

He he, guess we didn't make this very clear. The attached EFIs are for 7950 and 7970 only. So hour 7770 is having identity issues. The EFI is assigning Hamachi frame buffer and there is likely a better one. See if someone at insanely Mac lists a better one.

I'll toss together a 7770 EFI but changing frame buffer is a bigger deal.

Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #218 on: January 05, 2014, 02:08:14 PM »

He he, guess we didn't make this very clear. The attached EFIs are for 7950 and 7970 only. So hour 7770 is having identity issues. The EFI is assigning Hamachi frame buffer and there is likely a better one. See if someone at insanely Mac lists a better one.

I'll toss together a 7770 EFI but changing frame buffer is a bigger deal.



Oh no :/ I thought HD7770 can be flashed without any trouble by adding a part of HD7950.

I see people have sucess with HD7870 and HD7870 XT.

So I need just this file "7950mac.efi" but for 7770 model ?

Is this file correct ? efiromheader.rom

Can you send me some firmware for testing purposes ?

There is no R17 resistor on this card maybe that's why it works 5.0 GT/s out of the box Wink
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 02:31:16 PM by Spacedust » Logged
theAnt
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #219 on: January 05, 2014, 06:59:34 PM »

Thank you netkas and rominator for all the work. My card is working great.
 
What is the purpose of the R17 resistor i.e. why is it there in the first place if it's hindering the link speed?

Is there some danger running at 5.0GT/s that the card makers are trying to protect us from?

Logged
stmp
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #220 on: January 05, 2014, 07:27:38 PM »

@Spacedust & @Rominator:

Thanks in advance for any EFI for the 7770. I've reread this entire thread just now and am looking for clarity on a really simple concept:

Can anyone confirm if the 7770 (specifically the Powercolor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131488) will run under OSX 10.9 without a flashed rom? As I understand it all of the AMD 7xxx series cards have drivers in OS X and will run properly, just with no boot screen and at PCIe V1 2.5GT/s.

My confusion regarding the 7770 stems from most people here using PC versions of the 7950 and 7970, so there has not been much 7770 discussion till now.

Many thanks in advance, a simple yes or no is all I'm looking for.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #221 on: January 05, 2014, 09:14:22 PM »

@Spacedust & @Rominator:

Thanks in advance for any EFI for the 7770. I've reread this entire thread just now and am looking for clarity on a really simple concept:

Can anyone confirm if the 7770 (specifically the Powercolor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131488) will run under OSX 10.9 without a flashed rom? As I understand it all of the AMD 7xxx series cards have drivers in OS X and will run properly, just with no boot screen and at PCIe V1 2.5GT/s.

My confusion regarding the 7770 stems from most people here using PC versions of the 7950 and 7970, so there has not been much 7770 discussion till now.

Many thanks in advance, a simple yes or no is all I'm looking for.

Yes it works properly if not flashed, but we want EFI rom to get boot screens and maybe all ports working. I've tested only DVI.
Logged
stmp
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #222 on: January 05, 2014, 11:44:50 PM »

Thanks much for your reply, hope to get it up and running with EFI soon too!
Logged
nsrexler
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #223 on: January 06, 2014, 04:20:27 AM »

The attached ROM is for Sapphire 7950 MAC Edition owners.  I bought the card for simplicity (boot screens, link speed, etc), but I became frustrated with the default clock speeds compared to all the OC cards selling for much less.  This bios can be flashed over the existing Windows setting on the card leaving you with two fully functional EFI bios, boot screens on both, or you can flash over your existing EFI profile leaving the Windows bios untouched.  I personally like having a stock profile and an OC profile, just incase I ever encounter issues with the OC bios.  Fan profile has been increased to compensate for overclocking.  Settings are 1.25V, 1200 mhz core, 1500 mhz memory.  Tested for stability in Furmark, 3DMark 11, LuxMark, Heaven, Valley, Aperture, and some others.  I haven't encountered any artifacts, tearing, corruption, or system instability.  I use and recommend SMCfancontrol to keep a little added airflow through the case.  System profiler works fine, cards report as a 7950, link speed is 5 GT/s.  Furmark reports each card pulling 124W at 100% load, but Furmark has been known to be low.

My LuxMark score for two cards went from 2432 to 2865 (17.8%+), handily beating the new 2013 MacPro running dual D500's according to BareFeats tests.  

All credit goes to everyone else for their prior experience and tools.  I just used what was out there.

What tools did you use to edit the rom?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


« Reply #224 on: January 06, 2014, 01:43:47 PM »

Rominator any progress on HD7770 ?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!