netkas.org forum
May 28, 2022, 11:22:30 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1284334 times)
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #135 on: May 25, 2013, 06:17:43 AM »

i have tried using the files from Rominator but to no avail on my asus 7950 direct cu i presume it is because it is a non standard card

i tried the script as well but got loads of errors even after installing java and python but to be honest i really really dont know what im doing if someone could tell me how to run the script it would help :-)

here is my original bios in case someone can look and see if it can be done

many thanks

Here is your Mac ROM. But I'm afraid that it won't output video. Maybe only DVI will work. This card has totally different i2cid values for each port than Sapphire Mac Edition. Give it a try and please report back.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2015, 08:46:48 PM by blacksheep » Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #136 on: May 25, 2013, 06:29:15 AM »

My thought is to try different FB personalities, there may be another one that works, or works better with 7870

I'll check that out again, but IIRC there's only one more personality in ATI7000Controller – Chutoro.

I was wrong. Chutoro is only one listed in Info.plist. There's a lot more of them in the kext. Though none has exactly matched connector table (with senseid 03 for HDMI).

All personalities from ATI7000Controller.kext from 10.8.3:

Code:
Personality: Aji
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Disk offset in decimal 608736
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 01 00 12 04 05 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 22 05 04 02
04 00 00 00 14 02 00 00 00 01 03 00 00 00 03 06
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 04 00 11 02 01 04

Personality: Buri
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Disk offset in decimal 608800
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 29 05 01 00 10 00 05 05
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 09 02 00 11 02 01 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 09 03 00 21 03 02 02
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 04 00 12 04 03 03

Personality: Chutoro
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 5
Disk offset in decimal 608864
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 09 01 01 00 12 04 03 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 11 02 01 01
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 09 03 00 21 03 02 02
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 09 04 00 22 05 04 04
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 05 00 10 00 05 05

Personality: Dashimaki
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Disk offset in decimal 608944
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 01 00 12 04 02 02
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 22 05 03 05
04 00 00 00 14 02 00 00 00 01 03 00 00 00 04 04
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 04 00 11 02 01 01

Personality: Ebi
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 5
Disk offset in decimal 609008
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 09 01 01 00 12 04 03 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 11 02 01 01
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 09 03 00 21 03 02 02
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 09 04 00 22 05 04 04
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 05 00 10 00 05 05

Personality: Gari
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 5
Disk offset in decimal 609088
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 09 01 01 00 12 04 03 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 11 02 01 01
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 09 03 00 21 03 02 02
00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 09 04 00 22 05 04 04
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 05 00 10 00 05 05

Personality: Futomaki
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Disk offset in decimal 609168
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 01 00 12 04 04 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 22 05 05 02
04 00 00 00 14 02 00 00 00 01 03 00 00 00 06 06
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 04 00 11 02 01 03

Personality: Hamachi
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Disk offset in decimal 609232
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 01 00 12 04 05 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 22 05 04 02
04 00 00 00 14 02 00 00 00 01 03 00 00 00 03 06
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 04 00 11 02 01 04

Personality: OPM
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 6
Disk offset in decimal 609296
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 11 02 01 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 21 03 02 02
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 03 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 22 05 04 04
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 00 05 05
00 04 00 00 14 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 20 01 06 06

Personality: Ikura
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 6
Disk offset in decimal 609392
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 01 00 11 02 01 03
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 02 00 21 03 02 04
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 83 00 12 04 03 01
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 04 00 22 05 04 02
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 05 00 10 00 05 05
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 06 00 20 01 06 06

Personality: IkuraS
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 1
Disk offset in decimal 609488
00 08 00 00 04 02 00 00 00 01 01 00 12 04 03 01

I'll try Futomaki maybe. It's closest to Hamachi, differs with hotplug IDs for DVI and DP only.

Update:
Well, I've tried Futomaki and HDMI works, except bootscreen. But it's only port working correctly using this personality, with hotplugging and all stuff.
DVI works but without hotplugging ability unless active MDP adapter is plugged in MDP port. MDP behaves that same.
So it's not much of a solution as for now.

« Last Edit: May 25, 2013, 11:52:11 AM by blacksheep » Logged
grudie
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #137 on: May 25, 2013, 11:33:17 AM »



Here is your Mac ROM. But I'm afraid that it won't output video. Maybe only DVI will work. This card has totally different i2cid values for each port than Sapphire Mac Edition. Give it a try and please report back.
[/quote]

many thanks i will give it a try when i get home ....dvi is fine as i have multiple inputs on the monitor.....i will report back after test
Logged
grudie
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #138 on: May 25, 2013, 05:15:08 PM »



Here is your Mac ROM. But I'm afraid that it won't output video. Maybe only DVI will work. This card has totally different i2cid values for each port than Sapphire Mac Edition. Give it a try and please report back.

many thanks i will give it a try when i get home ....dvi is fine as i have multiple inputs on the monitor.....i will report back after test
[/quote]

flashed the rom you left with winflash in windows 7 and i now have a boot screen ...as you said it only works with dvi but that is no great loss ......many thanks for the rom ............now got to decide if i remove the resistor and see if it still works and wether i get full speeds :-) Huh
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #139 on: May 25, 2013, 08:30:43 PM »

flashed the rom you left with winflash in windows 7 and i now have a boot screen ...as you said it only works with dvi but that is no great loss ......many thanks for the rom ............now got to decide if i remove the resistor and see if it still works and wether i get full speeds :-) Huh

You're welcome. It's better than I thought. There are 2 DVI connectors in your ROM, DVI-I and DVI-D. DVI-D does match DVI-I of Sapphire 7950, so it works. Rest of ports is totally mismatched, at least for Hamachi.

You could try to make all ports work, but it would require editing connector table of framebuffer personality in ATI7000Controller.kext.

Made another ROM for you based on Futomaki. It should have working HDMI and DVI.
Try it and report back.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2014, 02:48:15 PM by blacksheep » Logged
grudie
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #140 on: June 08, 2013, 11:37:42 AM »

thanks that works hdmi and dvi so all good

the only problem i have is that i cant install 10.8.3 or 10.8.4 i get a message saying there was a problem .....restart and try to install again ??

i have a mac pro 3,1 and wonder if it is the fact that the 7950 is not recommended for that machine....anyone know of a way round this without using the original mac gpu as that is long gone ??

many thanks
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #141 on: June 08, 2013, 12:06:44 PM »

Never tried to install 10.8.3 from the scratch with 7950 inside, so can't tell. If you have another 10.8 capable Mac, you can install OS in Target Disk Mode.
Logged
grudie
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #142 on: June 08, 2013, 08:50:48 PM »

thanks but only got the one mac pro here
Logged
GP-SE
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


« Reply #143 on: June 26, 2013, 02:58:39 PM »

put all teh files you downloaded from the bundle in your home directory, then try and run the script.
Logged
GP-SE
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


« Reply #144 on: June 27, 2013, 03:45:23 PM »

if it all works you're probably fine.
Logged
TranceWARP
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2

Just me


WWW
« Reply #145 on: June 29, 2013, 01:40:34 AM »

Hi Guys,

I'm starting to get nuts. I used Netkas' script on my Original BIOS. It flashed successful, but I still have no Bootscreens. I tried all Connectors: DVI, HDMI, both Mini DP 's, even a Mini DP-to-3in1 Converter-> HDMI, DVI, DP without any success.
My Card is a Radeon HD 7950 - "HIS IceQ Boost" Card which matches exactly the Reference Design (Resistors etc.) of the Sapphire MAC Edition. I have the same Ports (DVI, HDMI, 2x Mini DP)

Btw. I was not able to flash ROMINATOR's MAC7950.ROM. ATIWinflash 2.30 gave me an error. Something like "Could not flash due to mismatching Subsystem ID"
Would someone please be so nice and check my Original ROM (Tahiti.rom) and the ROM (Tahiti.rom.efi.rom) that I created with Netkas' script?

Many thanks in advance,
TranceWARP

* Tahiti.rom (128 KB - downloaded 807 times.)
* Tahiti.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 839 times.)
« Last Edit: June 30, 2013, 08:51:05 AM by TranceWARP » Logged

MacPro 3,1 Early 2008 - 12GB FB-DIMM - 2x Xeon E5472
2x 1.25 TB FusionDrive (2x OCZ Petrol 256GB + 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB)
LG BluRay Writer BH16NS40
Inateck 4x USB 3.0 Card (FRESCO Chip)
HIS Radeon 7950 IceQ Boost (Main GFX)
Zotac GeForce 640GT Passive (PhysX Card)
GP-SE
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


« Reply #146 on: July 01, 2013, 03:10:57 PM »

Hi Guys,

I'm starting to get nuts. I used Netkas' script on my Original BIOS. It flashed successful, but I still have no Bootscreens. I tried all Connectors: DVI, HDMI, both Mini DP 's, even a Mini DP-to-3in1 Converter-> HDMI, DVI, DP without any success.
My Card is a Radeon HD 7950 - "HIS IceQ Boost" Card which matches exactly the Reference Design (Resistors etc.) of the Sapphire MAC Edition. I have the same Ports (DVI, HDMI, 2x Mini DP)

Btw. I was not able to flash ROMINATOR's MAC7950.ROM. ATIWinflash 2.30 gave me an error. Something like "Could not flash due to mismatching Subsystem ID"
Would someone please be so nice and check my Original ROM (Tahiti.rom) and the ROM (Tahiti.rom.efi.rom) that I created with Netkas' script?

Many thanks in advance,
TranceWARP

flash the Sapphire Mac Edition ROM that ROMINATOR Posted using this command in DOS using ATI win flash:

atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin

replace "bios.bin" with the file.rom posted by ROMINATOR.
Logged
TranceWARP
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2

Just me


WWW
« Reply #147 on: July 01, 2013, 08:58:03 PM »

Thanks for the hint @GP-SE

I gave it a try but I ended up with a dead HDMI connector and a resolution bug - Even after resetting the SMC and PR-RAM.
I got it to work with a ROM that blacksheep created for me. It's based on my HIS IceQ Boost ROM with Futomaki Framebuffer modifications.
It works like a charm.

Many thanks to all you guys for this great forum.

Greetings from Germany,
Mike.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2013, 09:03:34 PM by TranceWARP » Logged

MacPro 3,1 Early 2008 - 12GB FB-DIMM - 2x Xeon E5472
2x 1.25 TB FusionDrive (2x OCZ Petrol 256GB + 2x Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB)
LG BluRay Writer BH16NS40
Inateck 4x USB 3.0 Card (FRESCO Chip)
HIS Radeon 7950 IceQ Boost (Main GFX)
Zotac GeForce 640GT Passive (PhysX Card)
Pbobmagic
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #148 on: July 11, 2013, 11:24:24 PM »

Big thanks guys. Gigabyte 7950 WF3 (blue not original reference board (I can't even see resistor R17!)) now with boot screens. Device ID is 679a reporting 2.5 GT/s link speed as expected.
Logged
cocteaustwin
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #149 on: July 18, 2013, 07:44:09 PM »



Great analogies, unfortunately you are using all of this flowery language to illustrate a nonsense point.

  **** If you use your PC BIOS with the Mac EFI you get BOTH. Boot screens, correct name in profiler AND faster speeds.
 ****

Living in ignorance with a card with no boot screens just because you don't understand how EFI works is like living with a 100 kg mole on your butt because you think the Dr. who could remove it for FREE has bad breath.

Please take some time to educate yourself.

Whether flashed or not you are at PCIE 1.0.

When you connect your PC BIOS with Mac EFI you get best of both worlds. EFI boot screens and original speeds/fans, etc from ORIGINAL PC BIOS)

You truly haven't a clue what you are talking about.

Look up "lspci" and run it with flags "-vv"

You can thank me AFTER you apologize.


I've read through the thread a couple of times now and am still a bit unclear on this...

I have a MacPro 3,1 with XFX 7970 FX-797A-TDBC Version 5.0. Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05 If I use netkas script to cerate the efi enabled rom from the rom saved from my card, is the script only putting an efi header in front of code from my rom or is it using the  code from the 7950mac.efi? If the latter, then will it then function as a 7950? is there a 7970mac.efi I am supposed to use or create?

And with the XFX 7970 out of the box, System Profiler under "PCI Cards" has "There was an error while gathering PCI card information."
But I get this from lspci:
Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 6798 (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: XFX Pine Group Inc. Unknown device 3211
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 256 bytes
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 18
Region 0: Memory at <ignored> (64-bit, prefetchable)
Region 2: Memory at 90a00000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Region 4: I/O ports at 2000 [disabled]
Expansion ROM at 90a40000 [disabled]
Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information <?>
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Capabilities: [58] Express (v2) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
RlxdOrd+ ExtTag+ PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-
LnkCap: Port #4, Speed unknown, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <64ns, L1 <1us
ClockPM- Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk-
ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
Capabilities: [a0] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable+
Address: 00000000fee00000  Data: 4092
Capabilities: [100] #1002

01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device aaa0
Subsystem: XFX Pine Group Inc. Unknown device aaa0
Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Interrupt: pin B routed to IRQ 19
Region 0: Memory at 90a60000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled]
Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information <?>
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Capabilities: [58] Express (v2) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
DevSta: CorrErr+ UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq+ AuxPwr- TransPend-
LnkCap: Port #4, Speed unknown, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <64ns, L1 <1us
ClockPM- Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk-
ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
Capabilities: [a0] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
Address: 00000000fee00000  Data: 4093
Capabilities: [100] #1002

If I update my Graphics card's rom to efi will my pci devices show up in System Profiler?
If I update my Boot Rom Version to 4,1 will I get 5GT/s?
And finally, how can I tell the ?GT/s while in bootcamp (Win8 or Win7)?

Thanks for all the help and hard work.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2013, 10:22:29 PM by cocteaustwin » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!