netkas.org forum
June 27, 2022, 07:07:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 [24] 25 26 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1294348 times)
SamPotts
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #345 on: December 28, 2014, 01:42:58 AM »

A guy emailed me asking how it's done. It looked fairly well covered in the thread but here's what I did:

1) Installed Windows using Bootcamp (needed for GPU-Z and ATIWinFlash) and boot to Windows
2) Install ATIWinFlash and GPU-Z. Open GPU-Z and save the bios for the card
3) Reboot back to OS X (the Bootcamp menu can be used here)
4) [Optional] If you don’t have Python or Java installed you’ll need to install them. Python can be installed with homebrew (google it) and Java you need to get from Apple.
5) [Optional] If your card is a 7970 or not a 7950, edit the efiromheader.rom and 7950mac.efi and replace any references to 7950 to 7970 (I used Hex Fiend which has a handy text search) - this is purely cosmetic from what I can gather.
6) Run the script (making sure you have the right device ID as on page #1 or the rom won’t work) and referencing the bios you saved in step 2.
7) Once you’ve got the rom created you can go back to Windows and flash it using ATIWinFlash

I could be totally wrong at some points here but thought it might be useful to some and it certainly worked out ok for me. Cheers for the script and hard work!
Logged
mrgc8
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #346 on: December 28, 2014, 09:41:09 AM »

Hey SamPotts, will That work with a sapphire card 7970?

Also i can't seem to make mine own can some one give me some heads up please,

Thanks
Logged
SamPotts
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #347 on: December 28, 2014, 09:47:49 AM »

There was a generic Reference design 7970 rom posted by Rominator on page 6 or so (keep going until you find it). It didn't work for me though so I went through those steps I listed and was able to create and flash my own rom. Mine is a Reference design but is made by HIS. You could try the one I posted but no guarantees it'll work. I wouldn't want you to have problems.

If you're having problems running the script, make sure you have Java and Python installed. Homebrew can help with installing Python and is useful for other things too. You'll need Xcode for Homebrew but it's all free so nothing to worry about there.

Good luck.
Logged
mrgc8
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #348 on: December 28, 2014, 09:49:09 AM »

There was a generic Reference design 7970 rom posted by Rominator on page 6 or so (keep going until you find it). It didn't work for me though so I went through those steps I listed and was able to create and flash my own rom. Mine is a Reference design but is made by HIS. You could try the one I posted but no guarantees it'll work. I wouldn't want you to have problems.

If you're having problems running the script, make sure you have Java and Python installed. Homebrew can help with installing Python and is useful for other things too. You'll need Xcode for Homebrew but it's all free so nothing to worry about there.

Good luck.

Hey sam,

sorry I'm not to good with these things i can flash thats about it.


Ive been trying for about 12hrs now
« Last Edit: December 28, 2014, 09:50:55 AM by mrgc8 » Logged
loll
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #349 on: December 29, 2014, 05:29:33 PM »

hey,

Got an sapphire 7970 DualX flashed and runs well with my macpro 5,1 under 10.10.
I use it with 2560x1080 29" monitor :
- resolusion is OK with DVID
- i got only 1920x1080 with DP

Any way to get full resolution with DP ?  Huh

bye
« Last Edit: December 29, 2014, 05:46:30 PM by loll » Logged
chrisrand
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #350 on: December 30, 2014, 12:14:15 AM »

Hey boys and girls, give it a try.

A script should be able to generate a rom for 7750 7770 7850 7870 7950 7970


Don't say we never did anything for you guys.


Hello gentlemen (in the true sense of the word)

I am inquiring as to wether either of you, or anyone in this forum for that matter, has done a successful bios flash for the Radeon HD 7990, which is supposed to be two 7970 cards on one unit?

I did a search on this forum and could not find anything about it.

Thank you for all of your hard work.


PS the 7990 is for me and my personal Mac Pro, but I will most likely be buying multiple 280x's for work from you Rominator (MacVidCards)
Logged
badslinke
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #351 on: January 03, 2015, 10:19:23 PM »


here my
SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 280X OC D5 3GB Dual-X EFI rom

00  04  00  00  04  03  00  00  00  01  01  01  12  04  05  01
00  08  00  00  04  02  00  00  00  01  02  01  22  05  04  02
04  00  00  00  14  02  00  00  00  01  03  00  10  00  03  06
00  02  00  00  04  02  00  00  00  01  04  00  11  02  01  03
Aquarich, would you mind posting that ROM here?  I have precisely the same GPU and am having trouble getting the netkas script to run properly.  Would be much appreciated!!
Logged
tonio680
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #352 on: January 05, 2015, 09:56:21 AM »

Hello Everyone,

I managed to get a Sapphire 7950 3GB with BOOST like this model : http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1157&pid=1878&psn=&lid=1&leg=0
it's a PC version as you can imagine that I wanted to flash to install it on Mac Pro 3.1
Before starting my flash operations, I used GPU-Z to save my orginal ROM on a USB stick.
I tested different ROMS without 100% success. By 100%, I mean that via MDP impossible to boot. Mac was freezing.
But anyway here is not really the issue.
As it didn't work, I wanted to use my original UEFI rom tand tune it.

Unfortunately, my USB stick got broken. Impossible to use it anymore, tested on different PC's and OS.
So at this point I'm really confused, I do not know what to do without orginal ROM, I'm f****d.

Maybe someone of you has an original ROM for me... or the best a ROM EFI working with my card.
Thanks


 
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #353 on: January 05, 2015, 03:11:43 PM »

techpowerup is your friend
Logged
tonio680
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #354 on: January 05, 2015, 03:37:29 PM »

Thanks a lot blacksheep  Smiley
Logged
prelude
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #355 on: January 06, 2015, 07:49:24 PM »

Hi guys,

Total MAC noob, here. I've always run Windows, and dabbled in Linux. Never really spent more than 5 minutes using a Mac, and I don't have any means of testing this 7970. Keeping that in mind, I have a few questions.

I'm giving a reference 7970 to my brother in law to use in his 2012 Mac Pro. After doing some research, I figured out that it wasn't a simple question of dropping the card in his machine, unfortunately. I found rominator's BIOS here: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5619.msg19874.html#msg19874

I'm hoping it will be as simple as flashing the card's BIOS and giving it to him. This card, however, can run games at 1100MHz core / 1500MHz RAM at 1100mv VS 925/1375/1175mv that the stock card runs at. Seeing as I know nothing about MACs, I have no idea how overclocking might work for him using OCing software, so I want to hard code 1100/1500/1100mv into the card's BIOS. In my experience, this is a simple task when running Windows/Linux by using VBE7 to modify the BIOS, but I'm wondering if it might screw up the MAC specific BIOS? It shouldn't but I'd like to be sure. Here's a link to the modded BIOS, in case someone wants to check it out: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24462711/MAC%20BIOSes.7z

Next question, will the card work with the MAC BIOS in a Windows environment? I'd like to be able to test it properly before handing it off to him.

Last question, should I bother removing the (off the top of my head) R17 resistor to enable PCI-e 2? Without doing so, it will be limited to PCI-e 1, correct?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Flashed both BIOSes, and they work perfectly in Windows. Hope they same will be true on his MAC.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 10:35:02 PM by prelude » Logged
studiosamurai
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #356 on: January 15, 2015, 12:03:28 PM »

Hey guys, wow it looks like I'm late to the party!

I've been running a tricked out 2,1: dual x5365's, lots of ram etc on 10.8.5 using the old chameleon method with a flashed PC 5770 for the last year and a half and it's cool and all,
but I've been considering just buying a newer mac just so I can boot with dignity again. That is until I did a frustrated search and found out about Tiamo's solution!!!!

WOW it's finally happened!!!

Could it be!? I could feel like I actually own a proper mac again - WITH BOOTSCREENS!?

I am of course really excited and want to buy an SSD and a new gfx card (for gaming). I thought I'd already got all the life out of this mac that I could, mainly because of the PCI 1.0 thing
but having read most of the posts in this thread it seems like thats a total non issue for my needs! (I'm an audio engineer, so it's plenty powerful for audio, the gfx is just for gaming)

So I realise it had likely been asked before but I have come seeking advice. I have read through the thread but I'd rather measure twice, cut once.

My question is: Which card should I get? Presumably the 7970 is more powerful than the 7950?
I want to get a PC card and flash it myself AND I want that lovely bootscreen!! (And presumably, drive select screen?).
Though reading through this thread it seems all cards are not created equal and some will not deliver that sweet sweet bootscreen joy.

So which brand(s) of card should I snipe for on ebay to feel like I'm a true mac user again?

as far as I understand it, my order of doing things should be this:
1. Use tiamo's wonderpatch method to install mavericks 10.9.2 on shiny new SSD, put to the side for now
2. Put PC 7970 (assuming it's more powerful) into mac pro 2,1 and boot into my existing windows 7 partition
3. Use the method outlined here:
A guy emailed me asking how it's done. It looked fairly well covered in the thread but here's what I did:

1) Installed Windows using Bootcamp (needed for GPU-Z and ATIWinFlash) and boot to Windows
2) Install ATIWinFlash and GPU-Z. Open GPU-Z and save the bios for the card
3) Reboot back to OS X (the Bootcamp menu can be used here)
4) [Optional] If you don’t have Python or Java installed you’ll need to install them. Python can be installed with homebrew (google it) and Java you need to get from Apple.
5) [Optional] If your card is a 7970 or not a 7950, edit the efiromheader.rom and 7950mac.efi and replace any references to 7950 to 7970 (I used Hex Fiend which has a handy text search) - this is purely cosmetic from what I can gather.
6) Run the script (making sure you have the right device ID as on page #1 or the rom won’t work) and referencing the bios you saved in step 2.
7) Once you’ve got the rom created you can go back to Windows and flash it using ATIWinFlash

I could be totally wrong at some points here but thought it might be useful to some and it certainly worked out ok for me. Cheers for the script and hard work!
to dump bios and flash the card.
4. Install shiny new tiamo-ified 10.9.2 SSD back into the mac.
5. BOOT INTO A LIGHTNING FAST MAC PRO WITH AMAZING GRAPHICS AND FEEL LIKE A MAC OWNER AGAIN!!!

Have I understood correctly? I only use one screen, it's a 42" LG HDTV that I'm currently running on HDMI from my 5770, from what I've read once the 7970 is flashed I won't be able to use the HDMI port BUT presumably I will get bootscreen joy if I use the DVI port? I have a DVI to HDMI converter plug thing so that's covered.

I guess my question remains, WHICH brand card should I get to fulfil my mac dreams and give me boot screen joy again?

Thank you in advance, big props to Netkas, Rominator, Tiamo and all you other geniuses.
Logged
smjones
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #357 on: January 18, 2015, 12:24:28 PM »

studiosamurai: Your plan looks good to me. I've had a Mac Pro 3,1 for a few years, and was using a PC Sapphire HD 7950 (11196-16, Dual-X) under 10.8.x w/o boot screens. But recently I picked up a Mac Pro 1,1 to replace a Dell PWS690 that was just too damned noisy. I'd gotten the 1,1 flashed to a 2,1, got twin Xeon X5355s installed, using the EFI 2600XT from my 3,1 in Slot 1, and Yosemite loaded from a USB stick prepared with Piker-Alpha as described here. Unfortunately I haven't had any luck with flashing the MSI R6950 Twin-Frozr III from the Dell (which we'll ignore for this thread).

But that prompted me to finally flash the Sapphire 7950 tonight using the bundle netkas posted at the start of this thread. Worked great, did the flashing under Win 7/64 in Slot 2 on the 1,1. Now with the flashed 7950 in Slot 1 in either the 1,1 or 3,1 I see the Apple logo on the DVI connector, and I can select the boot volume by holding the Option key at startup. So far, so good, and I hadn't flashed much of anything since a Radeon 9600 for my G4 Cube back in 2005. Tomorrow I'll look for another Sapphire card to flash for the 1,1 and an appropriate set of adapters to feed the dual-DVI KVM switch it's connected to.

On your question of the 7970 being faster than the 7950 - yes, just check the specs on the two cards in the big list on Wikipedia.
Logged
studiosamurai
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #358 on: January 21, 2015, 05:24:46 PM »

 Grin Grin Grin  WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!!!  Grin Grin Grin

Reference MSI 7970 OC edition (1050mhz clock) 2PMD3GD5 boots with full bootscreens, reporting correctly (having used hexfiend to change 7950 to 7970 as per SamPotts suggestion), the works.

I am indescribably happy with this, thank you so much to Netkas and Rominator for this fix, and also to SamPotts and smjones for your feedback and assistance that made sure I didn't screw it up!

I followed the instructions very carefully and it went perfectly. The only thing I NEARLY screwed up which I didn't see anywhere in this thread, that the veterans know but a relative newbie such as myself might have missed is that the 7970 has a dual BIOS dip switch, which MUST BE IN POSITION 1 for this to work. My card arrived with it in position 2 (locked factory rom) and at first I dumped that ROM, so had to re-dump the rom after switching to BIOS 1 before patching/flashing.

I am a very happy samurai.

Pic related


* macpro2,1.jpg (47.79 KB, 585x335 - viewed 2099 times.)
Logged
Sbrocca
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #359 on: January 23, 2015, 09:47:22 PM »

Dear friends,
someone already created a rom for
Sapphire Dual-X R9 280 OC with Boost[/s][/s]?
The card works without apple efi and does not allow you to use the keyboard keys to boot, and this is bad enough.
All efi rom I have tried do not work.
I being trying to make self the rom but I do not know enough capabilities and I'm going crazy..
Some people can help me?
Thanks !

=========

I was able to use the script of Netkas, but it's like the same thing.
Where is the mistake?

=========


Thanks if someone helps me!


:bundle PippoSbrocca$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=Tahiti.rom --devid=697a
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 697a
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x697a
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.076322 secs (623557 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 697a.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.106981 secs (612595 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)

After:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x241, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x80)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x7e)
RawData (size=17408)
the rom is ready at Tahiti.rom.efi.rom
[/s]
=========

YESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYESYES
I have it done! After days......
Mistake was 697a instead 679a !!! Same other people..
Thank's a lot for a great forum!

* Tahiti.rom.efi.rom.zip (88.57 KB - downloaded 878 times.)

* MPn.tiff (32.05 KB, 268x153 - viewed 5456 times.)
« Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 10:31:21 PM by Sbrocca » Logged
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 [24] 25 26 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!