netkas.org forum
June 27, 2022, 06:18:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 47
  Print  
Author Topic: 7xxx rom creating test.  (Read 1294317 times)
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 836



« Reply #315 on: November 03, 2014, 04:27:10 PM »

The one with fan in center is no good. If you do hybrid rom for it, it will reboot osx once gui loaded.

If you flash saphire's rom on it, no system is able to control fan speed/gpu thermal.
Logged
xelanaiznac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #316 on: November 03, 2014, 06:12:57 PM »

is it possibile to flash the original 7950 mac edition bios into other brand 7950?
if so, is there someone who can share it?
Logged
VovS
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #317 on: November 04, 2014, 02:37:28 PM »

Okay. As for other HD7950s that have similar port layout (mDP, mdP, HDMI, DVI)...
For some HDMI is not working completely and for some it only works if hot-plugged?
Did I get it right?
Logged
quanj81
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #318 on: November 05, 2014, 10:47:40 PM »

I made the rom and did rom flashing as netkas's instruction
But, I couldn't see boot screen
So, I choose another rom someone made, but it made my 7950 bricks...
http://forum.netkas.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=5619.0;attach=2274
I cannot understand about reason.
I have powercolor 7950 PCS+, too
I attatched my original rom(cardname.rom) and patched rom(my7950-.rom)
(Two rom was showed 'didn't load PCI information' on PCI tap, system information)
what's the problem ?
help me, please
Thank your for your kindness !

* cardname.rom (128 KB - downloaded 740 times.)
* my7950-.rom (128 KB - downloaded 757 times.)
Logged
laloberto
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #319 on: November 06, 2014, 04:46:47 PM »

Rominator,

 is the MAC7950.ROM that you posted in this forum, an already patched ROM?

 I just wanto to be sure that I can use that with atiflash and my XFX R7950 DD. I want to try something else since patching its ROM didnt seem to work.

Thank you
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #320 on: November 07, 2014, 06:55:20 AM »

Hi netkas, Rominator

Thanks for you magic bundly but I'm having an issue using it.

I've got ASUS R9 280X DC2T-3GD5 3GB card, here is what atiflash tells me about it:

Adapter  0 (BN=08, DN=00, FN=00, PCIID=00001002, SSID=00003006)
    Asic Family     :  Tahiti         
    Flash Type         :  W25X20      (256 KB)
    Product Name is :    6798HB.15.41.0.0.AS02
    Bios Config File:  AS02.bin       
    Bios P/N is     :    113-AD47800-101
    Bios Version    :    015.041.000.000.000000
    Bios Date is    :    11/19/13 03:20   
Image 1 -- Offset 0x0
=======================
  ROM header contents:
    Signature              0xAA55
    PCIR offset            0x0224
  PCI Data Structure
    Signature              PCIR
    Vendor ID              0x1002
    Device ID              0x6798
    PCI Revision           0x00
    Image size             0x10000
    Code revision          0x0F29
    Indicator              0x00   (Not last image)
    Code type              0x00   (PCAT Image)
  Legacy BIOS File Name    AS02.bin   
  Legacy BIOS Part Number  113-AD47800-101
  Legacy BIOS Build Number 278070
  Legacy BIOS Change List  977812
  Binary BIOS_IDTF         0x56F99287
  ByteCheckSum             0
Image 2 -- Offset 0x10000
=======================
  ROM header contents:
    Signature              0xAA55
    PCIR offset            0x001C
  PCI Data Structure
    Signature              PCIR
    Vendor ID              0x1002
    Device ID              0x6798
    PCI Revision           0x00
    Image size             0xE200
    Code revision          0x0000
    Indicator              0x80   (last image)
    Code type              0x03   (EFI Image)
    EFI Signature          0x0EF1
    Compression Type       0x0001 (compressed)
    Machine type           0x8664 (X64)
    Subsystem              0x000B (EFI boot service driver)
    EFI image offset       0x0058 (abs: 0x10058)
  Uefi Ids from EFI_PCI_EXPANSION_ROM_HEADER:
    UefiSourceRevision     GOP AMD REV: x.x.x.x.x
    UefiSourceChangeList   xxxx
    UefiBiosBuildNumber    xxxx

  Dump Gop Driver Info:
    Machine type code      X64
    The GOP Driver appears to be Authenticode signed.
    Size Of Gop Image      95744 (93 KB)
    GOP Driver Name: AMD GOP X64 Release Driver Rev.1.53.0.0.0.Oct 23 2013.17:03:41
    GOP AMD_Build          2619
    GOP AMD_CL             966193
    GOP BIOS_IDTF          0xDEADBEEF
    GOP Driver does not carry tables!
-----------------------------------------------
When I dump using atiflash without options it produces a file of 256KB size, but I can also get a 128KB file if I specify that size.

I tried both files with your bundle, but whichever rom file I give it there is always a problem with fixrom.py at the end. Here is the output:

dymka@Dmytros-Mac-Pro:~/Downloads/bundle$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7950mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader.rom --originalrom=bios3.rom --devid=6798
running on 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom with devid 6798
Patching files 7950mac.efi, efiromheader.rom for device-id 0x6798
Successfully patched efi file
Successfully patched efi rom file

Orig Size = 125440
Comp Size = 47591
47591+0 records in
47591+0 records out
47591 bytes transferred in 0.097663 secs (487297 bytes/sec)
EFI part is ready at 6798.efipart.rom
orig size - 65536
65536+0 records in
65536+0 records out
65536 bytes transferred in 0.132258 secs (495517 bytes/sec)
Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x239, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "fixrom.py", line 110, in <module>
    op_rom.fix()
  File "fixrom.py", line 90, in fix
    self.data[-1] = chr(0x100 - sum)
ValueError: chr() arg not in range(256)

the rom is ready at bios3.rom.efi.rom

When I tried to flash the resulting image I was unable to boot in OS X, and boot screen didn't appear. Luckily, windows was still booting so I could flash the original rom back.

Could you please give me some insight on how can I fix the fixrom.py (as I saw several users asking about the same issue but no answers were posted)? I guess the problems I had with the modified rom were because of a wrong checksum.

I'm getting the same error trying to patch the rom for a Powercolor R7 250 Eyefinity 4.

Any idea how to fix it?
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #321 on: November 07, 2014, 01:21:25 PM »

Your fix is to get a different card. Oland won't work with OSX current drivers.
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #322 on: November 07, 2014, 02:16:19 PM »

Your fix is to get a different card. Oland won't work with OSX current drivers.
The R7 250 is a Cape Verde GPU.  Essentially, a rebranded 7750.

The card has been working fine on OS X Mavericks and Yosemite.  I ran it on a Hackintosh, but now I'm using it in my MP4,1 flashed to MP5,1 with 2 x5675s. I'm trying to get the boot screen to work on it and stop system profiler from crashing on the PCI card display.

http://www.amazon.com/PowerColor-250-PCI-Express-AXR7-2GBD5-4DL/dp/B00JQU6WQ6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1415366007&sr=8-3&keywords=powercolor+r7+250

* cardname.rom (128 KB - downloaded 752 times.)
* cardname.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 741 times.)
« Last Edit: November 07, 2014, 02:19:06 PM by Tpluth » Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #323 on: November 07, 2014, 02:28:17 PM »

Nope, true R7 250 is Oland.
Your version is based on Verde and it's essentially R7 250X.
IDK why Powercolor/VTX3D/Visiontek etc named this card 250 (without X), most likely it's some kind of mutilated chip.
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #324 on: November 07, 2014, 03:01:32 PM »

Nope, true R7 250 is Oland.
Your version is based on Verde and it's essentially R7 250X.
IDK why Powercolor/VTX3D/Visiontek etc named this card 250 (without X), most likely it's some kind of mutilated chip.

I have no clue either, but it works in OS X without boot screen.

Regardless, the error we're getting is in fixrom.py and since I'm a SQL developer and not a python developer I can't make any sense of it.

Before:
OpRom (size=65536, indicator_offset=0x239, indicator=0x0, checksum=0x0)
OpRom (size=48128, indicator_offset=0x31, indicator=0x80, checksum=0x0)
RawData (size=17408)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "fixrom.py", line 110, in <module>
    op_rom.fix()
  File "fixrom.py", line 90, in fix
    self.data[-1] = chr(0x100 - sum)
ValueError: chr() arg not in range(256)

This is calculating the checksum, right?   Obviously there's some data in the rom file it doesn't like.

Is it safe to flash a rom without a checksum or will ATIFLASH prevent it and/or fix it?
Logged
blacksheep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 337


« Reply #325 on: November 07, 2014, 03:36:00 PM »

It won't work without right checksum.
BTW, you have 0 chance for bootscreen with this card using 7950 efi without the framebuffer change.
You'll be lucky if you'll get one port working after the flash. To make the rest work you'd need framebuffer patching.
Logged
Tpluth
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #326 on: November 07, 2014, 03:38:28 PM »

It won't work without right checksum.
BTW, you have 0 chance for bootscreen with this card using 7950 efi without the framebuffer change.
You'll be lucky if you'll get one port working after the flash. To make the rest work you'd need framebuffer patching.

I guess if I ever  need boot screen I'll have to throw my original 4870 back in.   Thanks.
Logged
CrashHouse
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #327 on: November 11, 2014, 07:12:50 PM »

Rominator,

 is the MAC7950.ROM that you posted in this forum, an already patched ROM?

 I just wanto to be sure that I can use that with atiflash and my XFX R7950 DD. I want to try something else since patching its ROM didnt seem to work.

Thank you

Did you check?
Quote
Haha, didn't see the 79 and 97 swap so thought I didn't have to edit the command line. Will try it again. I did flash it, as a matter of fact even twice, but with no results and went back to stock rom to be safe.

Easy to overlook, but very essential to succeed.
Logged
CrashHouse
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #328 on: November 11, 2014, 07:14:18 PM »


So succesful flash of XFX R7950 DD partnumber FX-795A-TDFC (no working HDMI!)
Link to EFI-rom

Thanx!

Appears that upper DVI isn't working too, so were down to 3 out of 5.
And I opened a topic in MR cause a PRAM reset causes the Mac to hang on a reboot. Might be the graphics or the SFOTT boot loader.
Will be continued...

Is PRAM reset on 1,1 SFOTT Mac Pro. Restoring permissions through SFOTT usb will correct it.
Logged
limonfrito
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #329 on: November 15, 2014, 11:19:44 AM »

Hello! First of all thank you very much for your work with the graphics cards for old Mac Pros.
My system is a Mac Pro 1,1 (upgraded to 2,1 with Mavericks OSX), and I had a working flashed HD5770. I bought a month ago a refurbished Saphire HD 7950 (11196-00, with the fan in center) and not could flash it until yerstarday following your instructions. I have just realized for your post that HDMI will not work in OSX, but it actually works in windows 7 and appears the boot selection screen (and of course in OSX through the DVI port).

As it is working in windows with the same hardware, it is foreseen any workarround for the HDMI not functioning or the fans speed/gpu control?  Can it break anything if I leave it inside?

Sorry if it the questions sound stupid, but I do not know much about hardware/firmware.

Thank you in advance.

Regards

PS: english is not my mother tongue, so sorry if something is not easily understandable

The one with fan in center is no good. If you do hybrid rom for it, it will reboot osx once gui loaded.

If you flash saphire's rom on it, no system is able to control fan speed/gpu thermal.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22] 23 24 ... 47
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!