netkas.org forum
September 19, 2021, 06:02:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6
  Print  
Author Topic: Ultimate (iMac) MXM efi rom/vbios thread...  (Read 247316 times)
aurejac
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #45 on: February 27, 2013, 03:34:13 AM »

I don´t understand either why this works. But i am quite happy with my solution.

Here are the files I dumped/downloaded/extracted:

Original 7600go rom, dumped 7600gt rom, extracted rom from apple´s graphics-update 1.0; in that order

The second file is a dump which I took from the 7600go with already soldered new eeprom.

to my surprise this file would have fitted on the stuck eeprom chip. "fouel" told me this is because NiBiTor can´t read the EFI part of the rom.

but....

the third attached file can be read with NiBiTor without any problems, and this is the last firmware apple provides so it must have the EFI part in it.

 
Hi,

yes you did it well. The respective sizes of your roms are correct, and NiBitor only read bios part of the rom.
Maybe nvflash would have read the all 128 Kb of the bios + efi rom of the original Mac 7600Gt card.

The main problem, for fixing thoses white 24" iMacs, is that it is very difficult to find Nvidia G72 or G73-based MXM II cards with DDR3.

The only GDDR3 cards that can be found and put in iMac are MSI Go7600, which were installed in MSI megabook L735.

I did a lot of search...
I even looked at HP-Compaq "mezzanine" boards used in blade servers, which are plain MXM II cards with G73 Nvidia chips (rebadged as quadro fX560m),and there are plenty to sale...
Sadly, I checked and they use too some GDDRII vram chips...

I'll do further testing to try to get DDRII 7600go cards to work, but with little hope...
 
Logged
mugen888
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #46 on: March 04, 2013, 11:24:12 PM »

I have bought a msi go7600 card and will take the eeprom from the mac 7600gt card and solder it to the msi card. When i have done all this how do i flash the NUTMAN155 rom file "G73 M other eeprom.rom"?

I have googled and found nothing on flashing this card on an iMac. There is plenty of search results for flashing it in windows.

Would i be correct, to say that i need to install bootcamp then windows 7 then flash the card using win NVflash.

I hope its this easy.

Much appreciated if someone can help.

Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #47 on: March 06, 2013, 09:31:31 AM »

Hopefully "macgraphicsfan" of "fouel" or whatever name he is calling himself these days comes by and answers you.

They have been dissecting my roms for a couple of years now, would be great if they actually created something new rather than just copy and pasting things that have already been figured out.

fouely?
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
mugen888
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #48 on: March 25, 2013, 02:43:33 AM »

no reply from them Sad Guess i'll have to work it out myself.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #49 on: March 25, 2013, 06:21:42 AM »

you might try Macrumours Mac Pro section, he's been posting over there in the "ATI 2.5/5.0" thread

He has been generously handing out the results of his long hours of research.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
nutman155
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #50 on: March 27, 2013, 12:57:48 AM »

I have bought a msi go7600 card and will take the eeprom from the mac 7600gt card and solder it to the msi card. When i have done all this how do i flash the NUTMAN155 rom file "G73 M other eeprom.rom"?

I have googled and found nothing on flashing this card on an iMac. There is plenty of search results for flashing it in windows.

Would i be correct, to say that i need to install bootcamp then windows 7 then flash the card using win NVflash.

I hope its this easy.

Much appreciated if someone can help.






Hey there; didn´t read this in a while...

When you manage to solder the original eeprom of the 7600gt onto the MSI card properly, there will be no need to flash this card!

Flashing only when there is no original eeprom e.g. it is messed up in any way. Mine survived 200 degrees celsius and desoldering with heat-air gun Smiley

Good Luck!
« Last Edit: March 27, 2013, 01:04:21 AM by nutman155 » Logged
mugen888
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #51 on: March 29, 2013, 02:06:59 AM »

Hi Nutman,

Im so glad you replied.

No flashing that is such a relief.

 I still havent done the soldering as i dont know which one is the EEPROM, in your previous post one of the picture shows the EEPROM next to the card, i cant seem to identify which one it is on the card as there are 3 chips that look like the EEPROM.

I really dont want to mess this up as the card cost me £50 and they are very rare to find these days.

Hope you can help, many thanks.
Logged
nutman155
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #52 on: March 29, 2013, 02:47:39 AM »

should be the one signed with "ATMEL"
The one in the middle.
Be sure to have DDR3 RAM!! (on the graphic-card of course)
Just google those big Samsung chips.

and take pictures for yourself; always helpfull Wink

Good luck; it is not that tricky Smiley
« Last Edit: April 02, 2013, 10:01:39 PM by nutman155 » Logged
mugen888
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #53 on: April 03, 2013, 10:34:03 PM »

Sad bad news i broke one of the legs of the EEPROM on the mac card.

Nutman, can i install the acer card into the mac and bootcamp into windows to flash the card with mac graphics bios?

I think thats my only solution, im i right?

Logged
nutman155
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #54 on: April 03, 2013, 10:56:26 PM »

Hi mugen!!
That's bad to hear.
Did it happen during desoldering?
Did you manage to put the original eeprom back?

But your idea is right; you can natively install windows(bootcamp needs OS X)
and flash via nvflash. Don't know if it is better under XP or WIN7.
I recommend formatted HDD (NTFS), maybe a second screen.
Prepare to do a blind flash if something goes wrong.
Im fact, i think u WILL have to do a blind flash if you want to use the Mac properly again.

May an eeprom prgrammer with a new 1024k eeprom chip is an option for you, too
The ROM files are attached to one of my earlier posts..

Hope this helps a bit

Greetz
Logged
mugen888
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #55 on: April 03, 2013, 11:31:26 PM »

yes it broke while i try to desolder it. didnt help the fact i was rushing and not taking my time.

Im trying to get bootcamp to work and install windows 7 but the option in the bootcamp installer showing "install windows 7 " greyed out. Ive search google and apparently bootcamp windows 7 is not supported on my imac.

i'll keep search and see what i can find. "Im fact, i think u WILL have to do a blind flash if you want to use the Mac properly again" not sure what you mean by that.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #56 on: April 03, 2013, 11:55:22 PM »

If you can't figure it out I can flash a chip in programmer and mail to you.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
nutman155
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #57 on: April 03, 2013, 11:57:40 PM »

Since you have got no working eeprom
chip from the original card and the original Mac BIOS won't
fit on the chip of the msi card you will have to make a blind
flash with a new (1024k) eeprom to use it as a mac card.

Or turning back to the msi eeprom (512k) being only able to use it
with an external Display.

You know what a blind flash means? Undecided

Maybe there is a possibility to make the apple bios fit on a 512k eeprom,
some friend of mine took a closer look at both ROM files and said
he has the feeling it's kinda artificially big. Just NOT to fit on
a regular MXM card.
But that is way beyond my knowledge, maybe rominator can help in this
specific part. Smiley
Also fouel offered me to flash my card, and finally told me that the key
to success is the 1024k chip.
I have got some notes, link and files which I can send u, maybe this means
less hours of googling.

Please be kind with my confusing words Roll Eyes  english is not my native language
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 12:01:50 AM by nutman155 » Logged
nutman155
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #58 on: April 04, 2013, 12:00:43 AM »

If you can't figure it out I can flash a chip in programmer and mail to you.



Just speaking of you Cheesy
That's a nice offer *thumbsup*
Logged
mugen888
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #59 on: April 04, 2013, 08:10:21 PM »

Thanks for the help guys. Tonight im going to attempt to save the eeprom by shaving a bit of the chip to reveal some metal to solder on to.

Hopefully it will still work.

Rominator, ihow much will you charge to get one and flash for me?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!