netkas.org forum
August 25, 2019, 05:48:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Easy flash guide (in windows)  (Read 9272 times)
vigilante.zen
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« on: September 15, 2010, 03:13:28 PM »

REMEMBER TO BACKUP YOUR BIOS.

Use this program to do so.
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1864/TechPowerUp_GPU-Z_v0.4.6.html

REMEMBER TO BACKUP YOUR BIOS.

Download and install RBE (radeon bios editor).
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1770/TechPowerUp_Radeon_Bios_Editor_v1.25.html

Get the appropriate bios for your card from this forum. I have flashed several cards with this method and it works 100%. Some people dont like the idea of flashing in windows but it does work just as good. RBE is good for flashing but will not let you pull the bios from the card if its more than 64k. Any questions feel free to PM me. Hopefully this makes it alot easier for some of the people that were having problems before.

Logged
Cindori
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 07:44:56 PM »

windows flashing is known to crash and leave you with bricked card.
Logged

http://groths.org
Tools and news about Mac graphics and Hackintosh
abccba
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2010, 09:39:35 PM »

Flashed mine in Windows a couple of times... no problems at all! (on a PC though... Don't know about Bootcamp)
Logged
Bolle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 107


« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2010, 10:41:28 AM »

flashed my card multiple times in windows using bootcamp without any problem.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2010, 08:46:06 PM »

DOS is a MUCH better place to flash.

If it frightens you, use WIndows, but DOS is better. Simple as that.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
jenovadarkness
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2010, 09:07:53 AM »

I would say the process of flashing in Windows is actually scarier but more convenient. If your concern outweighs your laziness...flash in DOS.

Logged
vigilante.zen
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2010, 05:28:16 AM »

Anyone have success with this method? Wink
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!