netkas.org forum
July 30, 2014, 10:04:14 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How far can you upgrade the CPU in a Mac Pro 1,1?  (Read 9543 times)
Golf25Radioman

« on: October 01, 2012, 09:13:55 PM »

I've read a lot in these (and others) forums on both getting Mountain Lion to run on the Mac Pro 1,1, and upgrading the CPUs.  I'm no novice, but before making a jump into putting hardware into my old trusty MP 1,1 what is the recommended CPU swap and what is the max you can do?  Do you just replace the processor or are these daughter card replacement operations?

I had a PPC Dual 1.8 GHz which was working fine but first software developers dropped PPC support then Apple did.  So the writing was on the wall.  I found a good price on a used Mac Pro 1,1 with decent RAM and plenty of HD.  Then when Mountain Lion came out I was disappointed that it left out my MP.  I've been researching both the ways around installing ML and in that search found people who had swapped out the 1,1 CPUs (currently mine has two 3.0 GHz duals).  I found a lot of Xeon CPU numbers mentioned, but am not sure what direction to take.

Right now I have a very reliable Mac Pro running Lion 10.7.5 (which happens to be my home network server - of sorts; all my net disks are connected to it).  Should I go messing around with it.  I already bought the Apple 5770 graphics card with the intent of going to ML.  Even if I don't go to ML the card is still a good investment since Photoshop would be happier (and a few other apps).