netkas.org forum
December 16, 2018, 07:31:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unbrick ATI HD4870  (Read 5056 times)
jamesb
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



« on: August 09, 2016, 07:26:33 PM »

Was reading through this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/how-to-save-your-ati-5770-gpu-after-a-bad-bios-flash.1894948/ Was hoping the same technique word work for a Sapphire HD4870 1 gig card.

Here is the specific card https://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-Radeon-HD4870-PCI-Express-Graphics/dp/B001J6FS3I
Logged

Denny
owbp
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 03:18:11 AM »

Was hoping the same technique word work for a Sapphire HD4870 1 gig card.
Of course it will work. I've bricked my old HD6850 many times and that is the method i used for getting things back to normal.
You just have to find your BIOS chip and everything else applies. POA, don't yank the wires from the chip but make them long enough that you can separate them by hand and that wires stay on chip until you get the job done. I tried to take out the wire completely from the GPU while it was running (after the boot into OS) and it always shut down my Mac.
Logged
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 382


« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 06:18:15 AM »

Denny Crane Lips sealed

Lou
Logged
jamesb
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2016, 04:45:06 PM »

Yes I guess there is a strong resemblance to me and Denny LOL. My eyesight is not what it used to be and I am unsure which one is the Bios chip which I guess is on the back of the card. Then there is the questions as to which pins are the ones I should be using. Perhaps some one can direct me to a source for this info.
Logged

Denny
CapnDavey
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2016, 01:33:39 AM »

first did you save the factory rom ( this is a must do ) if so add the factory card in the next slot re flash the original rom. the do a search for the sapphire 4870 1 gig rom re flash it you are done. if everything works that is good luck
Logged
jamesb
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2016, 09:27:27 PM »

CapDavey

Have performed several searches and have not found any images of the chip or it's location on this card, last but not least I still don't know which pins/connections to use. Huh
Logged

Denny
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!