netkas.org forum
November 29, 2021, 06:39:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MacPro 2009/2010 SMC surgery  (Read 12040 times)
overshoot
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« on: September 04, 2018, 05:40:59 AM »

Hello,

I am wondering if the SMC is the only thing different between a 2009 and a 2010 system tray.
I have a faulty 2010 system tray which is way too corroded to fix.

I have 2009 system tray perfectly working + a 2010 CPU tray.
At the moment it is screaming like hell as the fans are running hard.

If I could simply swap the SMC (and I know how to do that since I do it regularly on MacBooks) that would help relieving my headaches... ;-)
Logged
epromer
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 09:39:15 PM »

Yes, just replace the micro controller. You have to be on the same version 1.39fXX version on both boards.
Logged
overshoot
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2018, 02:48:01 PM »

Reporting back...

I've done the surgery and the MacPro is working just fine now.
SMC was detected as a 1.39f11. Fans are running normally.

Success!
Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 05:30:14 PM »

You replace the SMC chip on the logic board but not the CPU tray?
Logged
overshoot
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26


« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2018, 01:30:05 PM »

Yes cause I have a working CPU tray for 2010 and a faulty backplane for 2010.

Now if you check the backplane prices for 2009 and 2010 on eBay, 2010 are way more expensive.

So I took the gamble to order a 2009 and swap the SMC. Worked just fine.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2346



« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2018, 11:35:21 PM »

nice job
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
turluttu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2018, 09:46:05 AM »

Reporting back...

I've done the surgery and the MacPro is working just fine now.
SMC was detected as a 1.39f11. Fans are running normally.

Success!
Hello!
Can you explain in more detail how to flash SMC?
Thank you with respect.
Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2018, 12:09:27 AM »

Reporting back...

I've done the surgery and the MacPro is working just fine now.
SMC was detected as a 1.39f11. Fans are running normally.

Success!
Hello!
Can you explain in more detail how to flash SMC?
Thank you with respect.

I think he just swap the chip physically, but not flash it.
Logged
goodfidelity
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2021, 09:04:49 PM »

I am thinking it should be possible to read out the ROM from this chip and flash it to another?

Or are they non flashable?

I dont know where this chip is located, otherwise i can check if it is programmable with the CH341A programmer.


Would be very nice to just do the flash of this one when moving the CPU boards between the computers. Think that could prolong the life of many machines now as they start to desintergrate.

I have flashed multiple EFI chips from the Mac pro, due to damage when updating, takes desoldering and resoldering but its really no big deal with proper tools and flux + solder.

//GF
Logged
Bunga-Bunga
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2021, 09:25:49 PM »

Not flashable.

The SMC uses a proprietary protocol, software-dump impossible.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!