netkas.org forum
July 19, 2019, 04:12:10 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
  Print  
Author Topic: GTX 480 EFI Patched in and working :-)  (Read 73810 times)
th3joker
Not Newbie

« on: May 15, 2012, 12:17:21 PM »

Well I was going to work on the 2GB GTX version but changed my mind in the end and went to work on the GTX 480 as I wanted one of those for the faster CUDA.

I looked at the 570 but they don't seem to work with Snow Leopard and I'm not keen on Lion.

I've got a Dev version of 10.8 but haven't tried it yet. I'm an Apple registered Dev so it's legit!!

I managed to stitch the Quadro 4000 EFI onto the GTX480 PC version and it appears to be functioning ok. Just a couple of minor changes.

I've dropped the clocks and voltage on the PC part of the BIOS so it doesn't kill my PSU.

And it's all working hunky dory :-)

You still need to replace the ROM chip with a larger one which isn't for the faint of heart. I know Rominator used to do them for a 6 pack if you're in California!!
fouel
Not Newbie

« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2012, 02:50:51 PM »

Good Job.
There is another man to do that.

GTX 480 and GTX 470 are based on Quadro 4000 EFI part because they are same GPU core.
Hope it will be going to work on GTX 680 earlier than someone :-)
Rominator

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2012, 01:17:08 AM »

Dude, do you really not have the balls or decency to say "I was too fucking stupid to figure this out for myself so I disassembled one of MacVidCards ROMs and am now trying to take credit for someone else's brilliance?"

Why do some people so desperately need to appear smarter than they are? Hasn't worked before for you, why did you think it would start now?