netkas.org forum
August 19, 2019, 04:19:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Boot resolution  (Read 14198 times)
eberts
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« on: March 13, 2008, 06:23:54 PM »

Hi
ok, this could be a kind of challenge. I wonder if it is possible to change to a higher boot resolution before drivers are loaded.
After reading some interesting information here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=2071872&postcount=22  I suppose the bootloader uses the highest resolution it thinks the card supports (which is 1024x768 in my case). We all know that most cards support a much higher one. After loading nvidia/ati drivers it is changed to whatever you selected (1440x900 in my case).
Giving a "Graphics Mode"  option to the kernel doesn't work (here).
So what exactly is preventing the bootloader to tell the kernel to boot up in higher resolutions? I know in real macs it is EFI which sets the resolution giving the kernel a first hint about the card.
So could it be possible to set this in the "emulated" EFI?  Roll Eyes

I know it's not really critical but at least it would get rid of the display mode changes during boot and speed up the boot process in general.
Logged
blue_bayou
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2008, 06:03:50 AM »

But by adding the "Graphics Mode" key/string in the 'com.apple.Boot.plist' can do that. I see a 1680x1050 resolution on my dell 20" and a 1920x1200 on my cinema HD during the boot process (the gray apple logo screen with the spinning wheel). Though, i'm not sure if it's the one you're talking about.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2008, 06:25:34 AM by blue_bayou » Logged
frantisheq
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2008, 09:55:31 AM »

yep GraphicsMode 1680x1050 gave me higher resolution bootsplash but no 1680x1050 though. Apple logo looks like stretched from 4:3 to 16:10. the same with fonts if i boot in verbose mode

EDIT: on Dell 22"
Logged
FavleX
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42

Be Educated


« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2008, 09:26:15 AM »

Same!
I'd like to find a solution to this issue.. Huh
Logged
eberts
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2008, 09:35:13 AM »

I already had a look at the darwin bootloader source. It's the graphics.c in boot2 and vbe.h in libsaio that scans all possible resolutions and sets the best matched one. Same as you type ?video before booting the kernel. So it's my card not reporting higher resolutions than 1024x768 (Nvidia 7300GT) although it detected as VESA 3.0 Sad Maybe there's still a chance to force another vesa mode but it has to be compiled in the bootloader. Netkas?  Smiley
Logged
stellarola
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2008, 08:34:32 AM »

Just letting you guys know...

When I tested my 7900GS, I had the same stretched apple logo results as everyone else.

However, when I tried a 8600GT, the apple logo was displayed in the proper resolution and was not stretched. Of course you have to add your graphics res at boot or to the boot.plist. It looks great at 1920x1200. Smiley

Hope this helps a bit,

-Stell
Logged
frantisheq
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2008, 09:39:52 AM »

Just letting you guys know...

When I tested my 7900GS, I had the same stretched apple logo results as everyone else.

However, when I tried a 8600GT, the apple logo was displayed in the proper resolution and was not stretched. Of course you have to add your graphics res at boot or to the boot.plist. It looks great at 1920x1200. Smiley

Hope this helps a bit,

-Stell
there goes my hope for 1680x1050 bootsplash Smiley thx for info
Logged
eberts
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2008, 12:28:50 AM »

It's definitively a no-go to add higher resolutions via com.appleBoot.plist on a 7300GT. As I said, if I do a ?video before booting it doesn't list higher resolutions. I was just curious though: If I boot with 680x480x32 it does so   Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!