netkas.org forum
September 24, 2017, 04:47:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: NO 64bit support in EFI8 Leopard  (Read 10225 times)
RogerMac
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« on: March 20, 2008, 12:12:18 AM »

Think that only Netkas can help understand this... Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

My rig is an almost perfect Dell Optiplex 755 with USB (creative xmod) sound, ASUS nVidia 7300GS, 3com 3c509nic 'cause the integrated Intel 82566 is still unsupported. EFI8 allows the bootstrap of a fine-tuned GUID disk with vanilla kernel.
The processor is an Allendale T4400 correctly recognized as "Core2 Duo".
Pls. note that I also own a REAL iMac 24 featuring a T7300 processor. My Hackintosh and my Macintosh work the same with any application. Or at least I thougth, before trying to install Vista 64 on a Virtual Machine (with both Parallels and VmWare Fusion 1.1.1).

Here the two machines had a dramatic difference of performance.
My REAL iMac allows to bootstrap and install VISTA64.  When I try the same with the vanilla EFI8 Hackintosh, VISTA64 doesn't start because the emulator (VmWare or Parallels, don't care) doesn't see the 64 bits capability.

Pls note that Vista64 can be installed (and actually installs) natively on the same T4400-based machine (Optiplex 755). Thus it's not a matter of the processor.

How can I get 64 bit support on my Hackintosh ?

Thankz in advance

RogerMac





« Last Edit: March 20, 2008, 12:52:15 PM by RogerMac » Logged
PM!
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 07:25:37 PM »

I tried gfx strings for Radeon 2600 no luck with my HD2600PRO 512 DDR2 on a GA-P35-DS3...
Just to tell...
By the way how to use the .hst .bst files ?
Logged
Krazubu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2008, 10:51:11 AM »

You can't compare native and virtualised usage. For virtualisation with 64bit support you need a CPU with VT instructions (Vanderpool Technology).
Logged
westwaerts
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 07:17:36 PM »

my goodness,

i really cant understand why setting up osx on a pc and then try to run xp or vista in parallels, bootcamp or whatever.

you can run it nativ, vista runs on pc, if its not known.
Logged
frantisheq
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59



« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2008, 10:16:50 PM »

my goodness,

i really cant understand why setting up osx on a pc and then try to run xp or vista in parallels, bootcamp or whatever.

you can run it nativ, vista runs on pc, if its not known.
not sure if vista runs on anything. it just goes Smiley can't say it's running
Logged
ntsmkfob
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2008, 06:22:47 PM »

If your hackintosh processor doesn't support VT, you won't get 64 bit virtual machines.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!