netkas.org forum
June 19, 2019, 02:49:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Got rx560 working in mojave on mp3,1, metal and ogl  (Read 1522 times)
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 832



« on: June 02, 2019, 09:50:14 PM »

Details
Since 10.14.5 (or maybe earlier) sse4.2 bits disappearedfrom opengl driver, so I've decided to try to patch metal driver to make it work. ANd it worked!
In fact there is only one sse4.2 instruction used in amd mtl driver - https://www.felixcloutier.com/x86/pcmpgtq

not hard to emulate if you read the specs.

What's needed: patched and resigned ( with ldid) mtl driver and Kext to disable library signature validation ( not sure if needed, used it anyway)

only 10.14.5 , http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=07139641528525887295 - the mtl driver, download unpack  chmod&chown, and install to /System/Library/Extensions/AMDMTLBronzeDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/AMDMTLBronzeDriver

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=71892869756912266512 - 3rd party kext to disable library validation, download, unpack, chmod&chown, install to /System/Library/Extensions/

you can create pkgs/patchers, etc. just dont forget to credit.

SOmeone better understand how it's done, i'm not going to support it forever.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2019, 02:23:27 PM by netkas » Logged
LightBulbFun
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 01:21:27 AM »

very cool finds!

I sadly dont own the hardware to test this out myself, but its very cool to see Smiley

does this would also work for all other AMD cards that mojave support like the AMD Radeon HD 7950 RX 580, Vega etc?
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 832



« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2019, 07:24:14 AM »

it seems the kext is not needed afterI ldid resigned the library. So it's just one file.

btw, if anyone wonders why there is two push rax and two pop rax around the emulator, it's to save rax and keep the stack 16-bytes alligned for sse to work properly
Logged
lastExile
Global Moderator
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37



« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2019, 04:45:18 PM »

very nice Cheesy
Logged

Report all spam and i will take care of it
DarthnVader
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2019, 06:54:06 PM »

Good work netkas, now I can take advantage of my 3,1 and RX580.

BTW, the 3,1 supports GOP boot screens, tho the 5,1 doesn't, I've never been able to figure why. Tho the 5,1 can load and link the GOP driver, and can communicate with a display connected, sadly we never get boot screens.

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/boot-menus-for-graphics-output-protocol.2089181/page-9#post-26848085">Boot menus for graphics output protocol.
Logged
Hudson
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2



« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2019, 02:11:29 PM »

Im sorry Nektas, but what do you mean by "chmod&chown" ?  I know its something with Terminal but no more
Thx for help !
Logged
Hudson
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2



« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2019, 07:57:49 PM »

I heard your hack was now included in the dosdudeā€™s mojave patcher.
So I installed it in my 2008 Mac Pro using the original ATI Radeon card and tried to boot with my new RX 560 4GB but it seems not working, I have a black boot screen with a lonely cursor, what is wrong, plz can you help me? Cry
Could you give me your video card model/ref also ?

Thx
« Last Edit: June 16, 2019, 06:13:56 AM by Hudson » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!