netkas.org forum
July 22, 2018, 12:01:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New Blackmagic / Apple Pro 580 eGPU shows Pro 460 up...Yelcho !  (Read 318 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2315



« on: July 13, 2018, 11:46:51 PM »

So, couple boxes got dropped off.

The new eGPU is a little bigger than the nMP.

And the lack of DP or MDP tells us Apple doesn't see eGPU as big display driver, but more for compute.

So, I tested Compute.

In "theory" the 460 is a little brother to 580, after all, they both have the family "Pro" name.

Luxmark says they're barely cousins.

Gotta go see a horse about a man. But when I get back, anyone have tests they want to run? Pix? vs the Saphire 580 Pulse? Vs. 1080Ti?

Connected to a TB1 or TB2 Mac?


* 580.jp2 (66.36 KB, 1682x1246 - viewed 172 times.)

* r460 ocl.jp2 (85.06 KB, 1172x1004 - viewed 165 times.)

* yelcho.jp2 (78.89 KB, 1546x972 - viewed 166 times.)

* 580 ocl lux.jp2 (61.44 KB, 1146x1006 - viewed 164 times.)
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 11:52:51 PM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2315



« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2018, 04:47:52 AM »

I haven't been keeping abreast of AMD cards and drivers, but HDMI 4K at 60Hz seems like a new thing.

The HDMI port of the Apple/BM 580 does it.

Saw some weird things, it says my 4K TV is 5K, but looks good.

Time to do some Valley runs. First start up it kept mirroring, then unmirroring, etc. Finally found a use for the Touchbar, it offered a Hot Key to turn off mirror.

Does a 580 in a cMP have HDMI 2.0?


* 5k 580.jp2 (227.45 KB, 899x631 - viewed 148 times.)

* 4k 580.jp2 (114.41 KB, 1796x1276 - viewed 153 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 821



« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2018, 08:22:28 AM »

Nice.
jp2 can't be easily opened on mobile devices
Logged
vidkidd
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2018, 05:02:59 PM »

Running Mojave Beta 4, with an RX480, these is no HDMI 2.0 output.   It's still capped at HDMI 1.x speeds.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!