netkas.org forum
June 23, 2018, 07:06:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mojave 10.14 on cMP  (Read 702 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2276



« on: June 06, 2018, 11:45:34 PM »

Hey, so I haven't seen a lot of people (as in just me and 1 or 2 others) post info about 10.14 on cMP 4,1/5,1.

When I have tried it boots, but on my machine the Finder crashes over and over. System Preferences mostly crash too, some work. System Profiler works so you can get some nice screen shots and see Metal support on cards so that is good enough for me.

Nobody else has posted the Finder crashing thing so maybe it's just me?

Oddly enough, I tried on 2011 iMac that has unsupported 6970. Desktop is all glitchy and obviously there is no acceleration but Finder works and so do System Preferences.

So let's get some more info going.

And it's super easy to make it work if you have a supported machine to install on. Once the install is done, make sure SIP is "off" on your cMP. Reboot your supported machine into High Sierra and copy the Platform Support.plist from /System/Library/CoreServices from High Sierra to Mojave. No need to tinker with it, just replace it. Should work with anything that worked on High Sierra.

If High Sierra worked, now Mojave will.  

I used a SATA drive with USB3 adapter, but you can be creative. Curious how it works for others.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2018, 12:48:03 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
alloverclover
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2018, 10:57:26 AM »

Can confirm finder was constantly crashing running the 10.14 Beta on a 5,1, pretty unusable at the moment.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2276



« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2018, 11:02:16 AM »

Try clicking on stuff in dock.

Once you get something running other than Finder running you can choose "About This Mac" and see what it has to say about GPU.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
alloverclover
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2018, 11:05:55 AM »

Thanks, I found opening System preferences worked for me. Just wanted to have a nosey around really.
Logged
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72


« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2018, 05:19:04 PM »

Hmm, if I try to install Mojave i get the message: "not possible to install on this computer"
I've a MacPro4.1 flashed to 5.1

Is i a bug or feature Huh

  Modellname:   Mac Pro
  Modell-Identifizierung:   MacPro5,1
  Prozessortyp:   6-Core Intel Xeon
  Prozessorgeschwindigkeit:   3,06 GHz
  Anzahl der Prozessoren:   2
  Gesamtanzahl der Kerne:   12
  L2-Cache (pro Kern):   256 KB
  L3-Cache (pro Prozessor):   12 MB
  Speicher:   48 GB
  Geschwindigkeit für Prozessorverbindungstyp:   6,4 GT/s
  Boot-ROM-Version:   MP51.0087.B00
  SMC-Version (System):   1.39f5
  SMC-Version (Prozessormodul):   1.39f5
Logged
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 360


« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2018, 06:31:54 PM »

^^^^Mojave is not yet ready for a cMP 5,1.  That capability will bo coming later for machines that have been upgraded with a metal capable GPU.

Lou
« Last Edit: June 10, 2018, 07:54:49 PM by lowrider » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2276



« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2018, 06:41:55 PM »

Hmm, if I try to install Mojave i get the message: "not possible to install on this computer"
I've a MacPro4.1 flashed to 5.1

Is i a bug or feature Huh


PLease take a moment and read first post.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72


« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2018, 09:53:34 PM »

Sorry Rominator,
I read the fist post, but I couldn't imagine that my Mac is
one of the unsupported Mac's..
Is is like a blind spot to recognise how old my MacPro is..

Hope for the 10.14 beta2 or beta3 and for a new and modern MacPro mid 2019

Regards Zodi

P.S. I'm a little bit disappointed about the strategies of the new Apple leadership
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2276



« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2018, 11:12:36 AM »

Definitely moving toward cMP working well.

First DP had Finder crashing a few dozen times per minute.

Now it stays running.

Getting there.

BTW, super-duper easy way to run Mojave on 4,1/5,1 is to install on another machine (supported) and copy the platformsupport.plist from 10.10. or other earlier OSX. 10.10 would also include 3,1 and X-Serve.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2018, 11:22:38 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 817



« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2018, 12:08:02 PM »

just remove paltformsupport.plist completely
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 817



« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2018, 04:06:47 PM »

is windows still booting after installing beta2?

http://netkas.org/?p=1472
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!