netkas.org forum
August 15, 2018, 01:54:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: iMac MXM card upgrade. R270x/D300- I think it could be possible  (Read 4720 times)
FaDaWay
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2018, 09:56:26 AM »

Hi Rominator,
We can work on another card if you want.
I think that card 7970M or 8970M could be good candidates ?
Or perhaps GTX 980M ?

What card do you have in stock in LA.
I can order the same and work from France on it.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2018, 10:14:37 AM by FaDaWay » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2324



« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2018, 04:12:11 AM »

The AMD cards may be doable.

You need to compare how 7970 rom was made from 7950.

Only changed device id in rom header for EFI.

I just ordered some cool MXM to PCIE boards. Will allow me to flash and test in Mac Pro classic.

Ideally we should find lower power cards than the AMD cards that are burning themselves up.

So, a GTX660 would be nice replacement for 6750 or 6770. Something that releases less heat than card it replaces.

Also, I'm 90% sure I could write a working 660 rom since Apple put Kepler cards iMacs so EFI exists.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
FaDaWay
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2018, 09:28:29 AM »

I don't understand why I have to compare 7970 and 7950 it's because an EFI is available for 7950m ?


For the MXM to PCI did you bought the NVIDIA version or the AMD ?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MXM3-to-PCIe-NVidia-Riser-Card-for-MXM-3-0b-3-1b-NVIDIA-GPUs-for-desktop-PCs/132503008933?hash=item1ed9cb76a5:g:OPYAAOSwIBxagepj

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MXM3-to-PCIe-AMD-Riser-Card-for-MXM3-based-AMD-GPUs-w-o-GPU/112812107426?hash=item1a442026a2:g:pDwAAOSwceNageeJ

GTX660 seems to be a good choice as replacement because of his price
but do you think that 980M could be also a good candidate, it's the same kind of GPU as the 6970M so the heat sink will certainly be used without any modification.
Logged
FaDaWay
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2018, 10:16:07 PM »

I've found also this adapter for mining in China for less than 10$

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.89.70251735XwlXSp&id=567403942570&ns=1&abbucket=4#detail
Logged
FaDaWay
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2018, 01:56:17 PM »

Hi,
I tried a 7970M card from dell but nothing works
Black Screen at start with dong , and with team viewer I can see that the card is not detected at all
with the original Bios and of course the modified one with Netkas script for 7970

It's seems that this card can't work inside an iMac


* Capture d’écran 2018-05-23 à 14.47.38.png (86.06 KB, 755x533 - viewed 72 times.)

* Capture d’écran 2018-05-23 à 14.55.27.png (185.84 KB, 764x523 - viewed 60 times.)
* Dell.HD7970M.2048.120629.rom (128 KB - downloaded 22 times.)
* Dell.HD7970M.2048.120629.rom.efi.rom (128 KB - downloaded 23 times.)
« Last Edit: May 23, 2018, 01:58:04 PM by FaDaWay » Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 350


« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2018, 11:27:03 AM »

I guess the device ID is just missing in the drivers.

Modifying the ROM with the 7970 script will most likely result in lots of dead ports due to mismatched connector settings both in EFI and framebuffer personality.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2324



« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2018, 07:12:51 AM »

I think we are missing something here. It looks to me that it IS in the drivers.

In 10.13.4 I was able to launch Luxmark and it began running the benchmark, so OpenCl is working.

I think the issue is more to do with output.

I read somewhere (I HATE it when people use this phrase to justify half baked theories) that 7970M of one type was used in machine with Intel iGPU and so display routing takes this into account.

May have been a reference to tonymac. Point is, check with Hackintoshers with laptops with these cards.

I have tossed one in 2 machines here. In cMP in 10.13.4 it shows like normal card, but on the MXM/PCIE buck the 2 ports I can use (DP and HDMI) had no output.

I then tossed it in X-Serve (has an MXM slot). The X-serve only has a MDP video outlet, so it's like an iMac (I hope) in that the primary display output is main thing card is for. On the other hand, they id it as "MXM slot" while iMac 2011 hid this little fact in System Profiler.

And it's likely that the EFI would be better from an iMac 6770 or 6970. It would have display outputs more likely to match iMac. The issue is going to be the BIOS itself, AMD cards use a much messier set up for display routing.


* Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 10.42.23 PM.png (63.07 KB, 501x427 - viewed 67 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 10.23.57 PM.png (39.47 KB, 404x218 - viewed 56 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 10.23.20 PM.png (25.46 KB, 316x244 - viewed 53 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 10.23.00 PM.png (38.8 KB, 361x395 - viewed 58 times.)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 07:18:38 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!