netkas.org forum
December 13, 2018, 07:52:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MacPro 2009/2010 SMC surgery  (Read 2319 times)
overshoot
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« on: September 04, 2018, 05:40:59 AM »

Hello,

I am wondering if the SMC is the only thing different between a 2009 and a 2010 system tray.
I have a faulty 2010 system tray which is way too corroded to fix.

I have 2009 system tray perfectly working + a 2010 CPU tray.
At the moment it is screaming like hell as the fans are running hard.

If I could simply swap the SMC (and I know how to do that since I do it regularly on MacBooks) that would help relieving my headaches... ;-)
Logged
epromer
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 09:39:15 PM »

Yes, just replace the micro controller. You have to be on the same version 1.39fXX version on both boards.
Logged
overshoot
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2018, 02:48:01 PM »

Reporting back...

I've done the surgery and the MacPro is working just fine now.
SMC was detected as a 1.39f11. Fans are running normally.

Success!
Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 05:30:14 PM »

You replace the SMC chip on the logic board but not the CPU tray?
Logged
overshoot
Not Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2018, 01:30:05 PM »

Yes cause I have a working CPU tray for 2010 and a faulty backplane for 2010.

Now if you check the backplane prices for 2009 and 2010 on eBay, 2010 are way more expensive.

So I took the gamble to order a 2009 and swap the SMC. Worked just fine.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2343



« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2018, 11:35:21 PM »

nice job
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
turluttu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2018, 09:46:05 AM »

Reporting back...

I've done the surgery and the MacPro is working just fine now.
SMC was detected as a 1.39f11. Fans are running normally.

Success!
Hello!
Can you explain in more detail how to flash SMC?
Thank you with respect.
Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2018, 12:09:27 AM »

Reporting back...

I've done the surgery and the MacPro is working just fine now.
SMC was detected as a 1.39f11. Fans are running normally.

Success!
Hello!
Can you explain in more detail how to flash SMC?
Thank you with respect.

I think he just swap the chip physically, but not flash it.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!