netkas.org forum
June 22, 2018, 02:56:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 10.13.4 brings eGPU to Mac, with new tricks to learn  (Read 1595 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« on: March 30, 2018, 09:43:43 PM »

Testing has just begun, but I am able to use eGPU with nMP 6,1 and an Nvidia 1080.

TB1/2 Macs will need a new work around, I expect it will get found and posted soon.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2018, 01:20:37 AM »

Mini can be made to work.



* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 4.03.40 PM.png (100.52 KB, 542x510 - viewed 83 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 3.56.18 PM.png (119.47 KB, 598x362 - viewed 139 times.)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 01:24:28 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2018, 01:26:36 AM »

No surprise here.

The Nvidia cards require some tricks.

The Vega Hot plugged and JUST WORKED.


* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 3.34.04 PM.png (83.32 KB, 532x499 - viewed 87 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 3.22.33 PM.png (116.68 KB, 592x360 - viewed 103 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.33.34 PM.png (119.22 KB, 692x567 - viewed 108 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.42.09 PM.png (89.4 KB, 510x506 - viewed 87 times.)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 01:46:25 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2018, 02:25:12 AM »

nMP 6,1 works with some tricks


* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.54.04 PM.png (88.16 KB, 642x507 - viewed 85 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.40.43 PM.png (115.31 KB, 585x361 - viewed 109 times.)
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
devildcn
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2018, 10:59:58 PM »

Are these tricks made in EFI firmware of the card? Or could these tricks be done on software level w/o flashing the card?
« Last Edit: April 01, 2018, 03:11:37 PM by devildcn » Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2018, 12:03:27 AM »

These particular tricks are done in EFI.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2018, 09:23:46 AM »

Fired up the 15" and had a little fun.

And the Titan-Xp scored the highest I have seen in OSX on Valley. Extreme HD hit almost 80.

Also tossed in a 580 and Vega 56. Really cool how AMD cards Hot Plug. Our Nvidia EFI cards require a different connect sequence.

I was able to connect both a 1080 and Titan-Xp at same time !


* Screen Shot 2018-04-01 at 1.01.57 AM.png (165.45 KB, 800x614 - viewed 84 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-04-01 at 1.00.52 AM.png (106.79 KB, 787x506 - viewed 65 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-04-01 at 12.42.49 AM.png (140.44 KB, 611x393 - viewed 86 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-04-01 at 12.11.59 AM.png (100.57 KB, 627x509 - viewed 63 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-31 at 11.57.05 PM.png (155.43 KB, 807x678 - viewed 90 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-31 at 11.12.40 PM.png (91.68 KB, 668x504 - viewed 64 times.)

* Screen Shot 2018-03-31 at 11.16.04 PM.png (128.78 KB, 596x380 - viewed 79 times.)
« Last Edit: April 01, 2018, 09:53:19 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
ClassicMartini
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 23


« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2018, 02:52:49 PM »

Gloatware  Grin
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2018, 08:41:23 PM »

I am amazed that the hysterical antics about "Apple has abandoned TB1/2" have continued .

We have found eGPU answers before anyone else 3 or 4 (I've lost count) times before.

We have been developing a product. The frustrating part is that Apple has moved the goalposts. The "perfect" card we had for 10.12.6 quit working in 10.13.

The card we had for 10.13 still works in 10.13.4 but can use some tweaks for even better support. I'd like to believe that Apple will quit moving the goalposts now.

But, back to my main point. Apple added eGPU capabilities to 10.13.4. They CHANGED things. It bumps whatever hacks were being used by the "gurus" and now they're staring at black screens. It doesn't mean there is a global conspiracy. Everyone seems to have forgotten that a new hack had to be found for 10.13. This is just another step down the same road.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2018, 04:20:51 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 357


« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2018, 12:00:46 PM »

Why GeForce shows x8 bandwith lane, while Radeon shows x16? Is it still just 2.0?
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2274



« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2018, 07:32:45 PM »

Apple is just assigning values by card. If you put a Vega in cMP it says 8.0 GTs, which is PCIE 3. Card can do it, the Mac can’t.

Got some really interesting Blender numbers running Dual Titan-Xp on 6,1 nMP.

Will post more later. Also did a Titan/Vega combo yesterday, but OpenCl not keeping up with Cuda, even with more GPUs.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!