netkas.org forum
April 25, 2018, 03:38:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Spectre/Meltdown patches for Mac Pro and others  (Read 1688 times)
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« on: January 27, 2018, 11:32:27 PM »

Apple claims Macs are safe under macOS, but how about Windows?

inSpectre reports under Windows 7 on my Mac Pro 5,1:

Quote
Spectre & Meltdown Vulnerability
and Performance Status

Vulnerable to Meltdown: NO
Vulnerable to Spectre: YES!
Performance: SLOWER

If I disable this Meltdown patch I've got instantly about 13-15% more CPU power!

To patch Spectre under Windows we need another firmware (EFI) update which should be released at least for Mac Pro 5,1.
Logged
Squishy Tia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 108



« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 06:09:43 AM »

I don't see how that machine wouldn't be vulnerable to Meltdown as the CPU still does speculative processing even in Windows via Boot Camp. I would say that inSpectre doesn't know how to handle the Macs and their proprietary EFI configurations.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2018, 12:41:38 PM »

You're referring to Spectre. Meltdown can be patched via kernel update and that was done via simple Windows update.

Without Meltdown patch:



With Meltdown patch - performance drop is about 13%:

Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 03:36:15 PM »

Latest update from Intel shows we are now in Pre-Beta stage:

Westmere
EP, WS
Intel® Xeon® Processor E5603, E5606, E5607, E5620,
E5630, E5640, E5645, E5649
Intel® Xeon® Processor L5609, L5618, L5630, L5638,
L5640
Intel® Xeon® Processor W3670, W3680
Intel® Xeon® Processor X5647, X5650, X5660, X5667,
X5670, X5672, X5675, X5677, X5680, X5687, X5690,
X5698

https://newsroom.intel.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/11/2018/02/microcode-update-guidance.pdf
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2018, 04:07:12 PM »

Beta stage now ;-)

https://newsroom.intel.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/11/2018/03/microcode-update-guidance.pdf
Logged
mysticalos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 629


« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2018, 05:59:35 AM »

the problem is, even if you do update micro, you'd probably have to hack macOS, since the software fix simply just always runs. It doesn't check "hey do I need to run" as far as I know
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2018, 06:57:47 PM »

It would probably only work under Windows when installed manually or Apple would need to release a new BIOS (firmware) so it would be a permanent fix.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2018, 06:23:56 PM »

I just tested manual upgrading the microcode today on some Core i3 4th gen series system which didn't got BIOS update since 2015 and it worked Wink
Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2018, 10:01:09 PM »

The 10.13.4 Full installer contain a firmware update for the cMP 5,1. The version now is MP51.0085.B00. Not sure if this update is related to Meltdown and Spectre.


Logged
mysticalos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 629


« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2018, 12:41:08 AM »

Doubt it. it's simply more likely an updated APFS patch since they updated the efi driver for it in this update
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2018, 07:49:44 PM »

Amazing find! My normal update did not update the firmware. I need to download full installer to get the latest firmware now.

Then I will switch back to Windows again and report. Intel din't release patches for our old Xeons yet, but maybe Apple is providing some betas at least.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2018, 08:24:58 PM »

Damn, they still haven't fix that bug with updating firmware - native Mac Pro 5,1 simply does not shutdown after clicking Shutdown button in installer. I need to install 10.9.5 on a clean drive just to make firmware update.
Logged
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 355


« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2018, 08:34:20 PM »

^^^^What do you mean?  I've updated my FW 3 times since HS was first introduced.  The last update was yesterday to FW MP51.0085.B00.  Are you using a GPU with a Mac EFI? 

Lou
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2224



« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2018, 08:44:11 PM »

Yeah, I doubt Apple would expect everyone to keep a 10.9.5 install handy.
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2018, 10:58:37 PM »

I've used standard flashed R9 280 (aka HD7950) for update and Mavericks did the trick.

Spectre is still unpatched but firmware (BIOS) is now dated 02/02/2018 Wink

Also please note it's a native 5,1 (2010) made at the beginning of 2012. Maybe it only works well on 5,1 machines with Mid-2012 serial number.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 11:28:48 PM by Spacedust » Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!