netkas.org forum
November 22, 2017, 08:38:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire R9 280X and other flashed cards goes to black screen post boot on DVI  (Read 1021 times)
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« on: October 19, 2017, 10:05:38 PM »

I've discovered that many flashed cards are going to black screen post boot when using DVI port on High Sierra. Reconnecting the display connector fixes the issue. Anyone else experienced this?

It happens only on Apple Cinema HD Displays.

It works well when used with HDMI->DVI or mDP/DP->DVI adapters.
Logged
owbp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2017, 11:32:33 AM »

No problem on Dell (DVI) monitor or generic TV (HDMI), but i will try to test it with Cinema Display as soon as possible.
It's in my parents house, gave it to my dad, so there is that trip i have to make to test it Smiley

What i have noticed is that High Sierra is first OS till now that gives me Recovery HD boot on my main monitor and not TV (DVI instead HDMI like it was).

P.S. I have Gigabyte R9 280X rev2, reference outputs, so everything works as it should.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2017, 02:18:09 PM »

Works well on Philips 4K 23,6" display, but doesn't work on Apple Cinema HD Display 23".
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2017, 02:50:32 PM »

Just tested reference ASUS HD7970 today and the same happens. What's wrong?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2017, 02:13:04 PM »

I got another Sapphire R9 280X and all works fine. What's the reason for this??? Maybe some memory vendor?
« Last Edit: October 26, 2017, 05:41:09 PM by Spacedust » Logged
Fangio
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2017, 07:15:38 PM »

You're not alone.

Running 3 displays here with a Gigabyte 280x v2. It's properly flashed, bootscreen on all 4 ports with Sierra and below. Right to left: 24" Cinema Display (mdP), 18" Sony Monitor, Samsung 37" TV (HDMI)

In High Sierra, the 18" Sony in the middle connected to the DVI port (via DVI-VGA adaptor) stays black.


* Sierra - Arrange Monitors.png (7.32 KB, 311x120 - viewed 42 times.)
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2017, 10:11:44 PM »

Does it work post reconnecting after booting to desktop?
Logged
Fangio
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2017, 11:58:39 PM »

No it doesn't unfortunately, regardless in which order I reconnect it. System Info does recognize the 18" though.


Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2017, 07:53:48 PM »

No it doesn't unfortunately, regardless in which order I reconnect it. System Info does recognize the 18" though.

Get some digital display instead.
Logged
Fangio
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2017, 06:15:24 PM »

So finally got ahold of a mDP<->VGA adaptor instead, incl. Apple Logo (MSRP ~30€ Undecided OUCH). 18" Sony works fine again

There's definitely something wrong different how High Sierra handles the DVI port of Tahiti cards. Just sayin'..
Logged
Fl0r!an
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2017, 10:45:33 AM »

VGA connections (which VGA through DVI-I is) have not been supported by macOS for at least a decade now. It still can work on some GPU/driver combinations, but it's not reliable. It has been better for AMD GPUs than Nvidia or Intel, but I wouldn't be surprised if Apple finally decided to drop it.

Any active DP to VGA adapter should do the trick though.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2017, 05:56:52 PM »

I got black a screen on DVI post boot on Gigabyte HD7970 as well. I need to reconnect the cable to make it working.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2017, 11:36:39 AM »

VGA?

Really?
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2017, 03:52:45 PM »

R9 280 Dual-X Sapphire same story. DVI goes black post boot with Apple Cinema HD Display. When reconnected all works fine.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!