netkas.org forum
November 22, 2017, 08:35:57 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
Author Topic: High Sierra and The Nvidia Web Driver  (Read 5519 times)
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 334


« Reply #75 on: November 02, 2017, 01:04:30 AM »


Cuda update available also through system prefs, excruciatingly slow installation...

System Info bug gone: Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily1 v3

The Cuda Driver is also available here;

http://go.macrumors.com/?id=73726X1523008&xs=1&isjs=1&url=http%3A%2F%2Fus.download.nvidia.com%2FMac%2Fcuda_9_0%2Fcudadriver_9.0.222_macos.dmg&xguid=b056dad804e3233989a06dc4c959f8b5&xuuid=7caa9a7379a8654b751bcd3f5343d8d4&xsessid=d0acc7935282911ee3ca2bf238d45b89&xcreo=0&xed=0&sref=https%3A%2F%2Fforums.macrumors.com%2Fthreads%2Ffrequently-asked-questions-about-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150%2Fpage-162%23post-25346988&pref=https%3A%2F%2Fforums.macrumors.com%2Faccount%2Falerts&xtz=420

Lou
« Last Edit: November 02, 2017, 01:06:06 AM by lowrider » Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #76 on: November 06, 2017, 10:48:27 PM »

Does it mean Metal 2 is now fully supported?
Logged
mucunucu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #77 on: November 18, 2017, 09:56:53 AM »

y put pc 1050 ti on my mac pro 4,1  but y get 2,5 gt link speed if put the 7950 amd unflashed get 5gt.....how to put the envidia to 5 gt link speed?HuhHuh?
Logged
eVasilis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #78 on: November 18, 2017, 05:24:35 PM »

System Report does not accurately report the speed of nvidia cards. CudaZ does and so do some other benchmark utilities like opencl_oceanwave
« Last Edit: November 18, 2017, 09:31:19 PM by eVasilis » Logged
h9826790
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #79 on: November 18, 2017, 10:42:46 PM »

Does it mean Metal 2 is now fully supported?

I think so. Do you know any good way to test it?


* Screen Shot 2017-11-19 at 05.40.54.jpg (76.9 KB, 655x488 - viewed 18 times.)
Logged
mucunucu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #80 on: November 18, 2017, 10:51:24 PM »

y do pram y reinstal the 0s but the same on syspref have 2.5 gt speed on the atached photo result cuda-z and oceanwawe......is 2.5 or 5gt?HuhHuh?


https://imgur.com/a/2LEQr
Logged
Asgorath
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 280


« Reply #81 on: November 19, 2017, 05:32:43 PM »

y do pram y reinstal the 0s but the same on syspref have 2.5 gt speed on the atached photo result cuda-z and oceanwawe......is 2.5 or 5gt?HuhHuh?


https://imgur.com/a/2LEQr

MacPro4,1 is limited to PCIe Gen 1 with the NVIDIA web driver, it only enables Gen 2 on MacPro5,1 systems(*).  The only solution for MacPro4,1 is to get your card flashed with an EFI from MacVidCards.

(*) My understanding is that enabling this involves some hackery on the driver's side of things, and NVIDIA only seems willing to do that on the MacPro5,1.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 06:05:18 PM by Asgorath » Logged
mucunucu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #82 on: November 19, 2017, 09:02:43 PM »

but macvidcard y dont see gtx1050 to flash only for 1070 to 1080?Huh?
Logged
eVasilis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #83 on: November 19, 2017, 11:07:10 PM »

Would it help if he flashed his mac to 5.1?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 01:51:01 AM by eVasilis » Logged
owbp
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #84 on: November 20, 2017, 11:41:49 AM »

MacPro4,1 is limited to PCIe Gen 2 with the NVIDIA web driver, it only enables Gen 3 on MacPro5,1 systems(*).

MP4,1 and 5,1 are the same machines with different firmwares. Other computer companies to the same but are changing only revision number, not the whole identifier (HP Z800 rev1 and rev2 - different CPU support - familiar?).

Having said that, they use same chipset in both machines, X58 for single and 5520 for dual Xeon configuration https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_Pro#Specifications
and support only Gen 2 PCI-e interface. Don't know where did you get gen 3?

y do pram y reinstal the 0s but the same on syspref have 2.5 gt speed on the atached photo result cuda-z and oceanwawe......is 2.5 or 5gt?HuhHuh?


https://imgur.com/a/2LEQr
CUDA-Z is reporting correct bandwith, so i wouldn't worry too much.
http://www.macvidcards.com/blog/why-does-my-link-speed-say-25-in-the-system-profiler-shouldnt-it-be-50
Logged
Asgorath
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 280


« Reply #85 on: November 20, 2017, 06:03:29 PM »

Would it help if he flashed his mac to 5.1?

Yes.
Logged
Asgorath
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 280


« Reply #86 on: November 20, 2017, 06:04:59 PM »

MP4,1 and 5,1 are the same machines with different firmwares. Other computer companies to the same but are changing only revision number, not the whole identifier (HP Z800 rev1 and rev2 - different CPU support - familiar?).

Having said that, they use same chipset in both machines, X58 for single and 5520 for dual Xeon configuration https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_Pro#Specifications
and support only Gen 2 PCI-e interface. Don't know where did you get gen 3?

Sorry, I meant Gen1/Gen2.  I think the NVIDIA driver basically looks to see if it's a MacPro5,1 and then does something to the system to force Gen2 to be enabled.  For whatever reason, they do not do this on MacPro4,1 systems.  I edited my post to clarify this, sorry for the confusion.
Logged
mucunucu
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #87 on: November 20, 2017, 08:26:14 PM »

y flashed my mac pro to 5,1 sucefuly before y install the 0s again drivers etc but look at photo

https://ibb.co/kXVpQ6
Logged
h9826790
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #88 on: November 20, 2017, 08:47:02 PM »

y do pram y reinstal the 0s but the same on syspref have 2.5 gt speed on the atached photo result cuda-z and oceanwawe......is 2.5 or 5gt?HuhHuh?


https://imgur.com/a/2LEQr

If 5GT/s in CUDA-Z, then everything is fine.

Oceanwave is not that accurate. The negotiation speed seems dynamically adjusted. So, Oceanwave sometimes report 2.5GT/s, sometimes report 5GT/s.

And system report is quite cosmetic. It often can't properly display the info about the users upgraded items. Apple didn't expect us to do that.


* 5GT:s.jpg (122.84 KB, 942x768 - viewed 11 times.)

* Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 00.07.27.jpg (85.15 KB, 706x642 - viewed 11 times.)

* 2.5GT:s 1080Ti.jpg (166.42 KB, 942x768 - viewed 12 times.)
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 08:56:53 PM by h9826790 » Logged
SMIKX
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #89 on: November 21, 2017, 06:31:47 AM »

A bit off topic but . . today I disabled beam sync with Quartz debug.

I hadn't realised how much of a hit AA has on FPS !

With my HIS HD 7950 installed Ocean Wave shows 539.5 fps with AA "OFF" ..

 . . it shows 61.7 fps with AA "ON" !

Still the link speed looks pretty good.


* HIS HD 7950 Ocean Wave.jpg (174.41 KB, 827x659 - viewed 13 times.)
Logged

Mac Pro 4,1 upped to 5,1 Dual Quad Core 2.93ghz 17Gb 480Gb SSD TRIM enabled.
HIS HD 7950 3Gb 5.0 GT/s EFI on mDP to DVI + DVI to DVI.
10.9.5 - 10.12.6  - 10.6.8 - Win 7 not Bootcamp. 
AREA 2 port USB 3.1 & Inateck USB 3.0 4 port in OS X 10.9.5.
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!