netkas.org forum
April 23, 2018, 05:08:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac Pro 4.1 / 5.1 apfs compatibiliaty  (Read 5851 times)
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2018, 05:50:07 PM »

Maybe a little of topic, but I ask several time the Apple service about High Sierra and RAID systems.
The boot disk of my MacPro is s Sonnet 2 x 512GB SSD Raid0

Now I received the unbelievable response from the developer team:

Apple engineering provided the following feedback regarding this issue:
There are no plans to allow High Sierra installation on RAID volumes. What other questions do you have?

It's a pity, this should be a modern OS?

I'm sad but I flipped now back to 10.12.6 till? we will see...

KR Zodiac
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2018, 11:44:46 PM »

That's correct. You have to use some hardware solution like Areca RAID controller etc. then you will be OS independent.
Logged
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2018, 11:04:54 AM »

I started to think about a hardware Raid controller, but can I install it to a MacPro?
The hard disks a connected without cable :-(

And I use now a Sonnet Tempo Pro with two 2,5" SSD in Raid0, can I use this card with a hardware raid controller also?
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2018, 12:46:56 PM »

If you can disconnect these drives from that board then yes.

I've been using IcyDock MB998SP-B with 8x 2,5" SSD's inside one of optical bays. All you need to do is to put 2x miniSAS cables through a small hole inside optical bay. I was running RAID30 on it and all was working well.

In case you wish to use internal drive bays then you can use this: http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&product_ID=189&ParentCat=414
Logged
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2018, 05:02:01 PM »

I installed now an Areca raid card ARC-1214-4i, but I'm waiting for some power cables and 2 x 1TB Samsung 860 SSD

will see what happened.
The web interface is nice :-)


* Areca.jpg (186.03 KB, 1568x1040 - viewed 74 times.)
Logged
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2018, 09:43:14 PM »

My new raid controller is running well (see picture) I've only one issue,
I don't have a boot menu anymore?!

I get only a grey screen and mouse pointer, but no drive to select...

has one of you and idea?

I made 10 P-Ram resets in between, without success


* DiskSpeedTest.jpg (176.72 KB, 732x756 - viewed 69 times.)
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 09:45:04 PM by Zodi » Logged
h9826790
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2018, 08:52:26 PM »

I bet it's the Tempo card causing the issue. Try remove the SSD on the Tempo card and boot only with the new hardware RAID card.
Logged
Spacedust
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 351


« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2018, 12:30:48 AM »

My new raid controller is running well (see picture) I've only one issue,
I don't have a boot menu anymore?!

I get only a grey screen and mouse pointer, but no drive to select...

has one of you and idea?

I made 10 P-Ram resets in between, without success

Welcome to Areca world - such cards are slowing Mac Pro as hell on boot. I had 4 of these in the past! If you would have normal PC BIOS on it you will long BIOS messages like Waiting for F/W to become ready, Testing PCI bus functionality, then displaying all card and RAID information, then finally booting...

I've just ordered a new Seagate Nytro XP6302 3.5 TB for Windows BootCamp usage and it was booting slow as hell. Resume from standby took serval seconds. The worst thing is it's detected as PCI-Express 1.1 8x card inside Mac Pro so it work very slow and it was ultra hot Sad

So I decided to come back to my ultra rare Corerise Comay BladeDrive E28 800 GB drive and it boots ultra fast, resume is almost instant and it works on PCIe 2.0 8x so at full speed inside Mac Pro + it has an ultra large heatsink with backplate so it's almost cold when used.
Logged
Zodi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


« Reply #23 on: March 22, 2018, 06:59:15 PM »

I bet it's the Tempo card causing the issue. Try remove the SSD on the Tempo card and boot only with the new hardware RAID card.

You won the bet  Wink

I deinstalled the Sonnet card and the boot menu is back
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!