netkas.org forum
April 30, 2017, 07:42:30 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone with cMP and Titan-Xp?  (Read 1019 times)
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« on: April 13, 2017, 11:24:38 PM »

Looks like a power draw issue.

Who else has this combo?
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2017, 10:06:45 AM »

When it happens? Right on boot or under load?

The TDP should be 250W just like the rest of the cards.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2017, 07:19:31 PM »

Oddly I can complete Valley at 5K but it is CUDA-Z that will kill 4,1.

When I hit "Heavy Lode Mode" within 3 seconds it shuts down. I do see 14 Tflops right before
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2017, 10:44:30 PM »

And it seems first Titan-X Pascal has same issue, at least on 12 Core

1080Ti may be the sweet spot
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2017, 10:49:01 PM »

I just tested my GTX Titan X (Maxwell) in 4K on max. details in GTA V and just 2x 6-pin power connector. In my previous configuration with Areca ARC-1882IX-12 RAID card it was shutting down right after 3 seconds.

Now without it all works perfectly fine. Maybe something else is causing this issue with Pascal Titan X and Xp?

I would suggest removing all unecesarry PCI-Express cards and drives and if this won't help replace the CPU's with two X5675's.

There might be also some thermal sensor which is cutting down the power to prevent hardware damage.
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2017, 07:25:30 AM »

2 or 3 people have confirmed on my blog
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
Spacedust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2017, 08:22:45 PM »

2 or 3 people have confirmed on my blog

I've asked them about the rest of the config. Just tested my GTX Titan X in heavy load mode and 2x6-pin power - no issues at all. This test does not make any load on the CPU's.
Logged
Squishy Tia
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2017, 04:21:36 AM »

2 or 3 people have confirmed on my blog

I've asked them about the rest of the config. Just tested my GTX Titan X in heavy load mode and 2x6-pin power - no issues at all. This test does not make any load on the CPU's.

CUDA-Z doesn't insta-lock the system and shut it down in Heavy Load mode?

Edit: I just ran CUDA-Z with my GTX 780 while on the 378 Pascal drivers. CUDA-Z is showing the driver version as 10.16.34 (355.10.05.35f05) instead of what the nvidia control panel says is loaded (378.05.05.05f01). So either nVidia's control panel is lying or CUDA-Z needs to be updated to check/see web drivers on OS X. Also, in my case, CUDA-Z does not increase its numbers under heavy load. They remain identical to non-heavy load mode. So it looks like at this point, at least in OS X, CUDA-Z's results are suspect at best.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 04:33:19 AM by Squishy Tia » Logged
lowrider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 300


« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2017, 05:33:13 AM »

^^^^The Cuda-Z issue is a cosmetic one and has been posted and talked about many times.  Cuda-Z has always reported the Apple Driver whether it's loaded or not.  The author's have never corrected the issue.  If the Nvidia CP and the Cuda CP say the Web Driver is running, it is!

Lou
Logged
Synchro03andsoon
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2017, 12:47:57 PM »

I've asked them about the rest of the config. Just tested my GTX Titan X in heavy load mode and 2x6-pin power - no issues at all. This test does not make any load on the CPU's.

Because you are running a GTX Titan X (= Maxwell), which never caused power issues.

GTX Titan X = Maxwell
Titan X = first generation Pascal
Titan Xp = second generation Pascal
Logged
Spacedust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2017, 06:43:34 PM »

GTX Titan X = Maxwell
Titan X = first generation Pascal
Titan Xp = second generation Pascal

I know, but it was previously shutting down in 4K after just loading GTA V story mode when used with 2x 6-pin and Areca card. Sadly I don't have Titan X or Titan Xp to test.
Logged
Spacedust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 244


« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2017, 10:26:49 PM »

The first guy confirmed he's got 2x X5690's. Any one with 2x X5675's?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!