netkas.org forum
November 21, 2017, 04:51:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Radeon HD4670M MXM Efi mod  (Read 3665 times)
TheHarbinger1911
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« on: May 20, 2014, 11:21:23 PM »

guys! can someone help me to efi-mod a HD4670M MXM taken from a acer notebook to make it compatible with iMac 21'5 mid 2010? i already changed the SPI-FLASH from original 512 kbit to 1 mbit. i tryed the firmware from apple support but not working. the original HD4670M MXM-card from iMac 21'5 mid 2010 was 256 megabyte version and the acer variant is 1 gigabyte version.

https://mega.co.nz/#!FtxCHYiT!7z8WPcLp2m5T6hWeLyKA0rOKnjHC8ilbGVIqi3CMpQE  ACER card bios
https://mega.co.nz/#!IsQFgYzZ!k3-WddbwQMDYFGzPaH6kElwLkfA0eCxlpbcp8f4rW2w  APPLE card firmware
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2170



« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2014, 12:37:44 AM »

WWhy don't you attach them here.

Most AMD EFIs follow same path

You meed to make sure device id matches

Reading 4870 and then 5870 and then 6870 and finally 7950/70 threads, all the info you need is there

Still no guarantee it will work, but a lot more likely with research
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
FaDaWay
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2017, 04:29:20 PM »

Hi,
I bought on internet a MXM card from an Acer computer
DDR3 + 1GB of GRAPHIC memory

I've extracted the bios from a 4670 iMac 2009 Card and Extracted the bios from this Acer card

I already read posts regarding the 4870/5870/7950/70,
but I don't undertsand how to extract from the rom the EFI part of this 4670 MXM Card

Thanks guys to help me,
it will be something really nice to help the community to fix iMac with 4670 MXM card dead, as we know it's the worst Apple card for that.

UPDATE: I've made a new firmware made from the ACER+EFI from Mac, name is  4670EFIMAC.bin
And after that modified with fixrom.py to make this file : 4670EFIMACfixed.bin

But when a try to use this firmware the computer boot correctly you can ear the harddrive but black screen.


if you have any idea to fix that ROM , please tell me

Thanks






* 4670 Acer.bin (64 KB - downloaded 87 times.)
* 4670 Apple 128.bin (128 KB - downloaded 98 times.)
* AcerEFIMAC.bin (128 KB - downloaded 96 times.)
* AcerEFIMACfixed.bin (128 KB - downloaded 84 times.)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 07:22:07 PM by FaDaWay » Logged
FaDaWay
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2017, 04:36:10 PM »

I've made a new rom with EFI and the computer boot now (on external monitor only) with boot screen and works perfectly on MacOSX
But the iMac screen stay black. (Rom attached: 4670Aceroriginal128TOKP.bin)

Someone have a solution for that ?


* 4670.jpg (53.86 KB, 865x711 - viewed 199 times.)
* 4670Aceroriginal128TOKP.bin (127.97 KB - downloaded 78 times.)
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2017, 05:02:52 PM »

no solution, you have to keep digging.
I would suggest to use atomdis on bios part of the rom (from imac and acer) to see if there any difference in lvds connection parameters.
Logged
FaDaWay
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2017, 06:11:05 PM »

Thank you really much Netkas for this suggestion

They are many differenciens into the LVDS informations
I send a picture At Left ACER at the Right Apple

How Can i Modifiy the ROM with the good informations ?

Thanks for the help



* ACERAPPLEatomdis.jpg (196.44 KB, 1273x856 - viewed 213 times.)
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2017, 06:28:40 PM »

what I would try:

copy apple's lvds table (located at offset 0xad1a in bios part of the rom) into your acer's lvds table ( at 0xacf4)
the only issue is apple's table is one byte longer than acer's so wouldn't fit

so I would copy only 0x36 bytes from apple's bios to acer's then modify byte with size (at the beginning of the table) from 0x37 to 0x36
and also change ucPanelInfoSize (at offset 0x31 in the table) from 0x31 to 0x30.
 then use fixrom to fix checksum and try.

« Last Edit: January 16, 2017, 06:30:40 PM by netkas » Logged
FaDaWay
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2017, 01:22:05 PM »

I changed all the informations in the ROM like you told me.

But nothing changed, I can boot on OSX on external display and have the boot screen, but I have some graphic issue like before the changes.
New firmware attached to this post and picture of the graphic issue

Thanks for help

* 4670OK.bin (128.02 KB - downloaded 77 times.)

* Graphic issue mac.jpg (222.33 KB, 1244x737 - viewed 213 times.)
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 809



« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2017, 02:39:07 PM »

Then I have no idea what's wrong.
Logged
FaDaWay
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2017, 12:49:07 PM »

Thanks Netkas for help
Do you know a PC MXM card that's works on iMac 2009/2010 ?

Have a Nice Day

Logged
FaDaWay
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2017, 01:01:27 PM »

I have found some informations on a forum about a same kind of problem with Acer (no internal display)

http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/acer-mxm-bios-mods-and-discussion-was-x920g-vs-9600m-gt.575866/

In fact NetRolller3D found that the culprit is apparently Device detection GPIO

When the computer boot the external display power on instantly instead of 3seconds on original MXM card,  so I assume that the graphic card send the information on the external display instead of the internal,
thinking that it's the primary display.

I tried to find in the Bios theses informations but I can't, I don't understand how to find the good section and try to modify it.

When I use IDA to disassemble the bios I can't find any clear information as the one we can see in his post:

"Device type: TMDS (DVI or HDMI)
DDC port: DDC-B (MXM pins 230 & 232)
Connector: HDMI Type A socket
Connector location: External
Link type: Single-link DVI/HDMI connected to TMDS link A
HDMI audio source: No audio
Digital signal drive strength: Normal
Digital reserved field 1 (2 bits, should always be 11): 01 (incorrect, violates the MXM spec!)
Output select GPIO: None
DDC select GPIO: None
Device detection GPIO: #0, active low (logic low on GPIO pin 0 indicates a display plugged into the HDMI port)
System hot plug notification: Disabled"

Thanks for help.

Logged
neon3400
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2017, 11:47:30 PM »

hey

i have the same issu

i try to flash the acer card with the mac bios

bootscreen works but i have artifacts
the ram size and ram chips are diferent

maybe somone can put the ram size and ram chips on the apple bios to get the acer card work in a imac

* modbios acer macrom.BIN (128 KB - downloaded 61 times.)
* working bios dump.BIN (128 KB - downloaded 57 times.)
* windows bios 1gb rode kaart.BIN (64 KB - downloaded 55 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!