netkas.org forum
April 25, 2017, 09:18:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Information for registering users http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,2246.0.html
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10
  Print  
Author Topic: Apple bones us yet again - hasn't played TB3 by the rules  (Read 30745 times)
devildcn
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #30 on: November 16, 2016, 10:31:07 AM »

kid2010,
What drivers version have you installed?
Try 372.70 version (delete previous with DDU).
Logged
kid2010
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #31 on: November 16, 2016, 11:28:37 AM »

Okay with DSDT override I was able to get Razer Core work with MacBook Pro (w/Touch Bar) Smiley
Logged
netkas
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 799



« Reply #32 on: November 16, 2016, 06:56:58 PM »

test 3dmark firestrike exteme on 1080 (without oc), lets compare it to nmp, two times wider the bus for you.
Logged
theitsage
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #33 on: November 16, 2016, 07:28:52 PM »

I'll be in class til 10 PM tonight but can play with this again tomorrow night.

Using Bootcamp assistant hasn't worked for me, it partitions, downloads then when it reboots it says it is in win recovery.

How did you install Bootcamp?

Boot Camp Assistant is very picky with which Windows.iso you use. Download a vanilla ISO from Microsoft is the safest bet. Thank you for all the updates!
Logged
Bagpipehero
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #34 on: November 16, 2016, 07:33:55 PM »

Okay with DSDT override I was able to get Razer Core work with MacBook Pro (w/Touch Bar) Smiley


Hi can you elaborate on this please - are you able to use your setup without issues after fixing this problem? In order words, is it a plug and play solution from now onwards?

Logged
kid2010
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #35 on: November 16, 2016, 09:20:50 PM »

Okay with DSDT override I was able to get Razer Core work with MacBook Pro (w/Touch Bar) Smiley


Hi can you elaborate on this please - are you able to use your setup without issues after fixing this problem? In order words, is it a plug and play solution from now onwards?


Under Windows, Yep.

The step for this can be found at https://www.techinferno.com/index.php?/forums/topic/5874-guide-dsdt-override-to-fix-error-12/#comment-91134
« Last Edit: November 16, 2016, 09:24:06 PM by kid2010 » Logged
kid2010
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #36 on: November 16, 2016, 09:27:03 PM »

test 3dmark firestrike exteme on 1080 (without oc), lets compare it to nmp, two times wider the bus for you.
Will do after I get home.
Logged
Bagpipehero
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #37 on: November 16, 2016, 10:48:09 PM »

Okay with DSDT override I was able to get Razer Core work with MacBook Pro (w/Touch Bar) Smiley


Hi can you elaborate on this please - are you able to use your setup without issues after fixing this problem? In order words, is it a plug and play solution from now onwards?

Under Windows, Yep.

The step for this can be found at https://www.techinferno.com/index.php?/forums/topic/5874-guide-dsdt-override-to-fix-error-12/#comment-91134

Thank you! As long as it's a one-time setup and it works from then onwards, eGPU is pretty viable. Probably going to get a Razer Core then as it seems to work well (or would getting a TB3 one be recommended?)

I'd love to know the answers to these questions:
Do GPU's suffer significant performance losses through eGPU?
Will the quad-core MBP2016 15" cpu's bottleneck current-gen GPU's? (1080, titan x pascal?)

Logged
kid2010
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #38 on: November 16, 2016, 11:47:49 PM »

test 3dmark firestrike exteme on 1080 (without oc), lets compare it to nmp, two times wider the bus for you.

Here is the result for Fire Strike Extreme, doesn't look like the wider bus makes a difference.

And here is the result for Time Spy.

Finally screenshots from GPU-Z and CUDA-Z

Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #39 on: November 17, 2016, 01:50:23 AM »

Trying Win 10 install again

Will update.

BTW, The TI folks removed link to this board. Truth isn't valued highly there. Goalie will be posting about another "amazing discovery" in 3...2...1...
Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
rwssoccer1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #40 on: November 17, 2016, 01:53:52 AM »

Trying Win 10 install again

Will update.

BTW, The TI folks removed link to this board. Truth isn't valued highly there. Goalie will be posting about another "amazing discovery" in 3...2...1...

Oh is that why the post disappeared? I posted it again because I didnt see it lol.
Logged
nekton1
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 40


« Reply #41 on: November 17, 2016, 01:57:54 AM »

At a GUESS, Apple is being a jerk over this because it is planning to release its own eGPU box in the new year along with a beefed-up Mac Pro 7,1!
Logged
alew3
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #42 on: November 17, 2016, 02:21:36 AM »

test 3dmark firestrike exteme on 1080 (without oc), lets compare it to nmp, two times wider the bus for you.

Here is the result for Fire Strike Extreme, doesn't look like the wider bus makes a difference.

And here is the result for Time Spy.

Finally screenshots from GPU-Z and CUDA-Z




Posting a video of the Razer Core working with the Macbook 2016 would be too much to ask? ;-)
Logged
Rominator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101



« Reply #43 on: November 17, 2016, 03:47:14 AM »

Trying Win 10 install again

Will update.

BTW, The TI folks removed link to this board. Truth isn't valued highly there. Goalie will be posting about another "amazing discovery" in 3...2...1...

Oh is that why the post disappeared? I posted it again because I didnt see it lol.

Now your post is gone.

It:s a true Banana Republic over there.

Good news, I got eGPU running on 2016 MBP in WIn 10, no DSDT fiddling required.

Benchies comming.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2016, 04:22:26 AM by Rominator » Logged

Before asking a question, check your "Personal Settings" and be sure that you have "Brain Services" set to "On".
kid2010
Newbie

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #44 on: November 17, 2016, 04:24:52 AM »

Trying Win 10 install again

Will update.

BTW, The TI folks removed link to this board. Truth isn't valued highly there. Goalie will be posting about another "amazing discovery" in 3...2...1...

Oh is that why the post disappeared? I posted it again because I didnt see it lol.

Now your post is gone.

It:s a true Banana Republic over there.

Good news, I got eGPU running on 2016 MBP in WIn 10, no DSDT fiddling required.

Benchies comming.

Nice!

So I guess the DSDT stuff is only required for MBP with dGPU then ^^
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!